We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Hotel in China”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #93 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Travelled to China for the first time and chose all our hotels off the internet and on first impressions this hotel seemed nice if a little dated. We were given a non smoking room on the 8th floor that we rejected on entering as it stunk of smoke! We were moved immediately to an alternative room which was a little better but still smelled of smoke. However the rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The hotel is situated half way between two subway Stations Xidan & Xuanwumen the second on line 2 is easier if using the airport express & subway (less than a third of the price of a taxi!) Staff were friendly and helpful looking up local attractions and providing directions, reasonable accommodation for the price but you will be charged approx 120REM for a compulsory service charge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to know that you are satisfied with hotel location and friendly staff. Regarding non-smoking room issue, has been brought up to Housekeeping manager great attention and proper action has been carried out to make sure the room is under non-smoking condition.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent 4 night stay at this hotel. Staff very good and friendly. Hotel very nice and clean. Location is excellent within walking distance of two metro stations that is two stops to tianamme square and all major sites. Room was awesome we were given an upgrade when we got there (a bath and a desk slightly bigger room). There is a shopping mall about 5 mins walk which has branded shops and a food court near the metro station ro the North. Other than that there is not much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel as it is surrounded by corporate banks, we ate out elsewhere. Also as it is the commercial side there are a lot of business people staying at the hotel. The food and drink in the hotel is very good but overpriced if you compare to eating out generally in beijing. The gym and pool were ok but nothing special, running machines were a bit tired and old and the sauna was not working when I went down. But am not going to complain we had a great stay and was by far the best hotel we stayed in in China.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Pleasure is ours for definite to have you stay with us in Beijing. At the same time, we are very happy to learn that you had enjoyed the tour across China greatest cities. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our team. Your kind words have been passed on to our teams and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. Refer to the sauna condition, it is fixed already and really appreciate your understanding.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us for your future stay.
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Sydney, Australia
2314
Reviewed 23 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed 3 days here Sept.13.
Clean large bedroom.2 double beds.
Breakfast buffet both western & eastern.
Bar....don't miss happy hour.
Central location.
Evening meal ok. A la carte.Didn't try buffet but looked plenty and good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guestc,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Beijing Central during your recent visit to Beijing and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel room and Food & Beverage offerings, which are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to our hotel with your next visit to Beijing.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Generally like Accor group, but felt this hotel was somewhat below par compared to the many others I have stayed at. Service was ok and what was notable is that on the executive floor, one lady was superb and the rest of at best. Had internet problems, changed rooms 2 x and they sent the bell boy to try fix my internet problem (only found out later) - at least they were honest. Rooms are nice, location us superb, hotel has potential, but i felt that it was expensive for what you get and may use other accor facilities in Beijing in the future

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longshot666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear guest,

Warm greeting from Grand Mercure Beijing Central, we would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Comment survey following your recent visit with us.

We were delighted to learn that our club floor service impressed you much, which are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. The internet issue you figured out has been brought attention to hotel management, as for info, we are planning to upgrade our internet set up and install high speed wifi covered all hotel area, which is surely a great value-added to every customer then.

Thank you again for your sharing experience and look forward to welcome you back soon to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
31
Reviewed 16 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Hotel is located near the Xidan subway station (5 minutes walk). It is possible to take a bus from the airport to the city (Xidan) and then walk to the hotel. Close to shopping areas. The hotel has good location!
The hotel has rooms with good areas. The minibar in the room was not working or had drinks ... Good breakfast!
The tourist spots in Beijing are far ... the best is to use metro and taxis (outside rush hour)!
The hotel sells trips to the Great Wall of four hours, charging an extra hour if you spend the 4 hours! The ride is very good but it takes at least 5 hours! You can not fulfill 4 hours ...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Rui S,

Warmest greetings from Grand Mercure Beijing Central and we would like to express our most sincere thanks for your kind feedback during your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to learn that you had an pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel location, in the city central, and breakfast , which are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

At Grand Mercure, we are always striving to improve and ensure that we are offering products and services in tune with our guests’ expectations, therefore your comments is very important to us. Thank you to bring out the minibar issue, which is notified to our executive housekeeper immediately, who will better arrange the fulfill and updating even at the time of inventory, to provide a good experience to our guest in room.

Thank you again for your kind feedback and look forward to your next visit to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#64 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,531 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#66 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#135 of 6,568 in Beijing
374 reviews
Chongwenmen
Capital Hotel Beijing
Capital Hotel Beijing
#88 of 6,568 in Beijing
826 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#83 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £62 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing