We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #98 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and i stayed for 4 nights during late July. our stay coincided with the celebration of France within the hotel, which was echoed in the dining room which was nicely decorated with the Tricolors of the french flag. Our initial breakfast was somewhat chaotic, as the BBC orchestra was all there at the same time together as they were leaving after a concert, so demands on space and service were a little mixed. However i can say we dined at the hotel for all breakfasts and evening meals and were not disappointed. It was interesting that there was free wine with the meals, but it was from Chile! There were some international staff at the hotel assisting in the training etc of the staff, and we found them very much in the Accor style in trying to please, and in particular i would like to congratulate Thomas in the dining room, Onemane as concierge, and i think it was Romano at the front counter, well done to all, as they made our stay a pleasure. The location is good, close to the forbidden city and the square, but as for walking there and back it is a bit further than we liked (we are in our 60s and 70s) as we were unable to get a cab back from the forbidden city. Over the road from the hotel is a huttong which is worth walking through to see the locals enjoying both play and work, and they will give a pleasant nod when you acknowledge them. The subway is about 3-4 minutes walk and will give excellent cheap access all over the city. Very pleased with our stay, and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at grand Mercure Beijing Central. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your feedback with our team especially Thomas in Chinese Restaurant and Onemane from FO concierge. Your kind words will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work.
Once again thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope we can serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    410
    194
    58
    32
See reviews for
147
237
69
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

hotel check in was a nightmare,very confused staff,faulty towers comes to mind, rooms sizes were large and the location was very good,had used other hotels in china from the same chain which seemed better

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
It is with much regret we read about your comment of your stay at our hotel.
We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.
At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that our Front Office Manager has enhanced to the effectiveness of the check in process. We appreciate your valuable comments and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were disappointed with this hotel. Checked in with a group (10) which took a while as most of the front desk staff didn't speak or understand much English. Although we booked through a travel agent we were not given room key until we paid 1000 yuan "deposit" Then it was suggested one member of the group be responsible for deposit for all! We were given a room on 6th floor, but bathroom was dirty, (shower head and taps were disgusting). Requested another room and given a "deluxe" room on 9th floor. Absolutely no difference apart from higher floor! Bathroom slightly better, taps stained, brown rust marks around bath handles, but only staying 3 nights so accepted room. Bar service very slow at times and we were asked to pay for our drinks even though we had paid and showed our receipt (they didn't seem to believe us and asked again for payment. Lobby was more sumptuous than the rooms, especially the toilets. Positives - room had 2 beds although we only used one, which was comfortable and buffet breakfast has a good selection. Centrally located for metro and some tourist sites. This hotel definitely needs upgrading to attract guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_Linda_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Please do accept our sincere apologies for any dissatisfaction. Your comments have been notified to our Front Office Manager, Executive Housekeeper and Food and Beverage manager immediately rest assured that they are taking appropriate actions to solve your mentioned issues with well guideline by hotel management.
A good news to share with you is that hotel is planning to renovate room especially bath room early next year. Hope you may enjoy to stay a brand new room when your next visit the second half of the year 2014.
The said experiences certainly do not in any way represent the quality of standards we strive for, and indeed customarily maintain at Grand Mercure Beijing Central. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Travelled to China for the first time and chose all our hotels off the internet and on first impressions this hotel seemed nice if a little dated. We were given a non smoking room on the 8th floor that we rejected on entering as it stunk of smoke! We were moved immediately to an alternative room which was a little better but still smelled of smoke. However the rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The hotel is situated half way between two subway Stations Xidan & Xuanwumen the second on line 2 is easier if using the airport express & subway (less than a third of the price of a taxi!) Staff were friendly and helpful looking up local attractions and providing directions, reasonable accommodation for the price but you will be charged approx 120REM for a compulsory service charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to know that you are satisfied with hotel location and friendly staff. Regarding non-smoking room issue, has been brought up to Housekeeping manager great attention and proper action has been carried out to make sure the room is under non-smoking condition.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent 4 night stay at this hotel. Staff very good and friendly. Hotel very nice and clean. Location is excellent within walking distance of two metro stations that is two stops to tianamme square and all major sites. Room was awesome we were given an upgrade when we got there (a bath and a desk slightly bigger room). There is a shopping mall about 5 mins walk which has branded shops and a food court near the metro station ro the North. Other than that there is not much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel as it is surrounded by corporate banks, we ate out elsewhere. Also as it is the commercial side there are a lot of business people staying at the hotel. The food and drink in the hotel is very good but overpriced if you compare to eating out generally in beijing. The gym and pool were ok but nothing special, running machines were a bit tired and old and the sauna was not working when I went down. But am not going to complain we had a great stay and was by far the best hotel we stayed in in China.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Pleasure is ours for definite to have you stay with us in Beijing. At the same time, we are very happy to learn that you had enjoyed the tour across China greatest cities. We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our team. Your kind words have been passed on to our teams and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work. Refer to the sauna condition, it is fixed already and really appreciate your understanding.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us for your future stay.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed 3 days here Sept.13.
Clean large bedroom.2 double beds.
Breakfast buffet both western & eastern.
Bar....don't miss happy hour.
Central location.
Evening meal ok. A la carte.Didn't try buffet but looked plenty and good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMXB, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guestc,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Grand Mercure Beijing Central during your recent visit to Beijing and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We were delighted to learn that you had an excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel room and Food & Beverage offerings, which are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to our hotel with your next visit to Beijing.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,439 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,887 reviews
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#110 of 6,520 in Beijing
359 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Property: Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#87 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing