We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #98 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite nice hotel”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights, the lobby is quite good and we welcomed by traditional instrumental music. Its quite good because we did a group check in so it consume long time, by requesting the songs made us didnt get bored. The room was ok, but the bath room little bit old. The other room smell of cigarettes but its not smoking floor, but the receptionist very fast to change the room. Not like the grand mercure in jakarta, that made me very angry. The breakfast quite good, but not that has various as my previous hotel(maybe too high expectation). I didnt see shopping center around (maybe because i was too lazy because the weather was so cold). I checked out really morning to catch up the flight and the hotel gave us box of food thaf quite good. Overall, all nice :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central as your accommodation choice during your most recent visit to Beijing and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We were delighted to learn that you had an pleasant stay with us and particularly value our Chinese music, Front office staff and the breakfast. Indeed there are several big shopping malls around the hotel. 10 minutes walk to either north or south direction. Next time if you have a time, you may visit them.
At Grand Mercure, we are always striving to improve and ensure that we are offering products and services in tune with our guests’ expectations, Please don't hesitate to provide us with comments and suggestions again in the future.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    408
    192
    58
    32
See reviews for
144
236
69
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

To be honest: from an objective point of view this hotel does not deserve to be rated as 5 stars or "excellent". At the moment it is ranked #204 here at TA - with very good reason...

There are many many problems, from check-in (no "welcome!", first word was "passport!") to check-out (no "goodbye, hope to see you again", last word was the order "sign here!"). The rooms are unbelievably run down and in most urgent need of renovation (had to change my room three times before getting an acceptable one). Breakfast is compared to other Grand Mercure Hotels in China very very average (very limited choice and no variety). All in all staff in the entire hotel is in need of training in two areas: first is friendliness and service, second is "basics in english". Or at least soemone just should tell them to smile a little bit. They all look unbelievably stressed although there is a lot of staff and noone seems to work really hard.

Why nevertheless do I give them 5 stars and why do I rank them as "excellent"? It's an option for the future and mainly due to Ralf, a young German. He is member of the management staff and doing a real great job. I was impressed by his very professional attitude and the way how he was dealing with complaints. He is to 100% customer focussed, hard working and very service oriented, exactly what this hotel needs. And he seems to be determined to change things (with german precision...).

If the hotel will be updated to 21st century standards one day (they told me there will be renovations end of the year) i will definitely come back (to see whether things have really changed for the better).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netsrac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you very much for giving us the feedback on your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central.

The experience you have encountered upon arrival and departure has drawn us a great attention. A proper English training for the front line staff is ongoing. Like you mentioned in the review, we have two management staff that come from Europe for each shift both in Front Office and Food and Beverage department. We appreciate you are really satisfied with the services giving by Ralf. We will pass this positive comment to him and the team. and your praise can definitely encourage us to maintain the standard of the service quality.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel on the Executive floor. The room was comfortable and our only negative point was the cigarette smoke coming through the A/C system which we had to turn off! The floor level, or half of it needs to be a non smoking floor, although I understand the hotel will be undergoing restoration soon.

The lounge was OK, Breakfast was adequate and there was no difference between the lounge and the main restaurant buffet. From a training viewpoint we felt it is important that the managers remain high profile as there is a definite difference if they are not in evidence.

Both Ralf and Eric, the managers, were extremely helpful and gave us good advice and cooperation

Room Tip: Go for the executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kencarvosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
May we begin to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed to stay with us. Your positive comments have been passed to all the concerned department staff Ralf and Eric and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the Service Standard. Like your comment, hotel is planning the renovation project at the mid of this year. Hope after upgrading the hotel room and facilities, it will help out the hotel standard.
Once again, we thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I had a great stay in the Grand Mecure Beijing Central hotel. The room was clean, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The location of the hotel was convenient for the rail system, linking you directly into the Forbidden City and the Square. It is also located nearby a large shopping district (about 10 minutes walk). A journey out to the bar and clubbing district took about 20 minutes by cab -- but I feel that's more a testament to the sheer size/scale of Beijing.
Staff were very accomodating, and were always able to assist us with requests and transport arrangements. Comfortable, but not the same feel as other GM chain hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Grand Mercure Beijing Central. We are delighted that you are satisfied with our room , staff and hotel facilities. . It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and it has been passed to our team.
We really hope you may come back to stay with us for your next visit in Beijing very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Acceptable place to stay for a night. Nothing special, pretty average, a bit shabby, but ok. The best thing is the young German guy called Ralf - find him, if you'll get there. He knows the city and can advice you about good places to go.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanbaranov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to know that you are satisfied with FO staff Ralf. Your kind words have been passed on to our team and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the Service Standard.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Absolutely nothing interesting, impressive or noteworthy. A moderately comfortable bed in a moderately decorated room with two moderate restaurants. The only thing even remotely extravagant is the price of everything and the service tax thrown on top of that.
Rooms are totally smoked out, even the non-smoking ones, the wifi is hit-and-miss; claims to charge you, but doesn't (one redeeming factor.) Bathroom looks like the renovation funds ran out after the main room was finished.

Location's okay, but taxi drivers struggle to find the place, even in Chinese.

Fine if you're looking for a bed and want to pay too much.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juic3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
It is with a regret we read about your comment of your stay at our hotel.
We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.
At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Refer hotel Wifi, we will complete the project to all hotel guest room and public area with comp access at the end of Feb. Hotel also will undertake the renovation plan in the mid of this year. For Taxi issue, next time, you may contact our Concierge staff to make the arrangement in advance. We appreciate your valuable comments and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Mercure in Beijing is an average hotel - average decor, OK rooms, acceptable breakfast. But it falls below average because of some key things:
• A non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor shouldn't have had what smelt like a bus-load of chain-smokers stayed there before you - it stunk. I asked to me moved, which was done seamlessly.
• The heating was very noisy and not very effective - good warm duvets though thankfully.
• The lobby was almost as cold as outside - people wearing coats and hats in the lobby whilst drinking coffee is a not a welcoming sight.
• My biggest gripe was the internet - just awful. More an information dirt-track than an information superhighway.

I raised all of these problems and the staff did what they could during my stay but most of these problems were bigger than what they could at the time.

Overall, not very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central. We regret that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

At Grand Mercure Beijing Central, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,405 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Huabin International Hotel
Huabin International Hotel
#219 of 6,483 in Beijing
90 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#109 of 6,483 in Beijing
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Property: Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#87 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing