We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #98 of 6,517 Hotels in Beijing
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    409
    193
    58
    32
See reviews for
145
237
69
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having stayed at a Grand Mercure in Shanghai, which we loved, we were a bit disappointed in this one. I really wanted to like this hotel but it has a few flaws, basic ones at that. We paid extra for a refurbished room but the first one we were taken to smelled of smoke, the curtain was broken and the safe didn't work. We asked to be moved to a different room and we were with no hassle. The new room was much fresher and worth the £80 GBP price tag. However, the door in the bathroom could have been doing with a thorough clean. I appreciate it's a well-used city hotel but such simple things make a difference. Am not sure I'd stay here again. The location was quite handy for the subway and a few shopping malls around the Xidan area. Breakfast was average with not a great choice on offer. Staff however were friendly which we appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyLaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
First of all, thank you for staying in our hotel and sharing your experience with us. Your feedback is very important for us to find out where we still need to improve. We will pass these information to Housekeeping Department about the room cleanness.
Once again than you for sharing your experience and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from our China trip.
We stayed at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central, and I must say how enjoyable it was.
Everybody we meet bent over backwards to make our 45th. wedding anniversary stay FANTASTIC.
All the staff very friendly and helpful, particularly Ralph the Customer Service Manager, also Pinky the Front Desk Manager, they could not do enough to make our stay perfect
Thank you Ralph and Pinky.
We will defiantly say again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for your very positive comments. We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed staying with us especially the best services from Front office staff. Your kind words have been passed on to our team and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the Service Standard.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My room was in good shape, was functional, and tasefully designed and decorated. My bed was very comfortable, and I didn't hear any freeway noise or noise from other rooms for that matter. There was a large selection of cable channels on the TV with good reception.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goeef l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central as your accommodation choice during your most recent visit to Beijing, China and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We are very delighted to learn that you are quite satisfied with the in room facilities and have a enjoyable stay with us. At Grand Mercure, we are always striving to improve and ensure that we are offering products and services in tune with our guests’ expectations.
It is certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Well, lobby lovely and nice place to sit and catch up on work, listen to some music. Staff lovely. Tea/coffee expensive. Room shabby but bed lovely. Pool - always empty of people appart from a member of staff looking at you in pool so not so nice really. Well positioned for all major sites. Food good. Would be happy for a stop over again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoFSaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Grand Mercure Beijing Central. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed staying at our hotel for the food, the room bed and the services. FYI, hotel will carry out the room renovation plan by the end of this year. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Once again thank you again for sharing your experience and concerns.We hope we may welcome you back to stay with us very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Probably one of the closest western branded hotels to Tiananmen square. The hotel manages to feel both "Chinese" and "French" at the same time.
I found the service to be faultless from arrival to departure, and will definitely stay here again. I visit Beijing regularly and whilst some of the other hotels I have stayed in are more "upscale" they are also considerably more expensive and in less convenient locations.
I stayed on the executive floor and took advantage of the complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails - I think it is definitely worth the little bit extra to stay on that floor if you can.
I special mention for all the staff who are extremely helpful and very friendly - they really couldn't do more for you.
If you want an Accor branded hotel close to Tiananmen Sq and the forbidden city, then in my opinion, this is the one..

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get on the executive floor (10th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLoxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We would like to express our appreciation to you for sharing your experiences during your stay with us. We feel very encouraging that you enjoyed very much for your visit. We will pass your compliments to Food and Beverage manger about the breakfast and Happy hour in the Executive Lounge and Front office Manager about the good service from the staff in the Executive floor. We will also share your compliments among all the staff and lift up our service standard.
Once again, we thank you for your continued support and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you the third time very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights, the lobby is quite good and we welcomed by traditional instrumental music. Its quite good because we did a group check in so it consume long time, by requesting the songs made us didnt get bored. The room was ok, but the bath room little bit old. The other room smell of cigarettes but its not smoking floor, but the receptionist very fast to change the room. Not like the grand mercure in jakarta, that made me very angry. The breakfast quite good, but not that has various as my previous hotel(maybe too high expectation). I didnt see shopping center around (maybe because i was too lazy because the weather was so cold). I checked out really morning to catch up the flight and the hotel gave us box of food thaf quite good. Overall, all nice :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central as your accommodation choice during your most recent visit to Beijing and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We were delighted to learn that you had an pleasant stay with us and particularly value our Chinese music, Front office staff and the breakfast. Indeed there are several big shopping malls around the hotel. 10 minutes walk to either north or south direction. Next time if you have a time, you may visit them.
At Grand Mercure, we are always striving to improve and ensure that we are offering products and services in tune with our guests’ expectations, Please don't hesitate to provide us with comments and suggestions again in the future.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#60 of 6,517 in Beijing
2,433 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,517 in Beijing
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,517 in Beijing
2,885 reviews
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#114 of 6,517 in Beijing
357 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Property: Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#87 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing