We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #98 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights and unsurprisingly spent very little time in the hotel. The location so near to Tiananmen Square and The Forbidden City is ideal, the hotel relatively inexpensive, the executive club breakfast and happy hour very, very pleasant to start and finish the day. The pool was also a great facility to use.
The hotel is not the newest and the rooms are in need of renovation, the breakfast downstairs is not the best, the tour desk is not the most switched on, but we still enjoyed our stay: the staff were very friendly and helpful and full credit to the GM for being welcoming and approachable

Room Tip: Away from the main road as the traffic is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanglea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Nanglea,
Warmest greetings from Grand Mercure Beijing Central and we would like to express our most sincere thanks for your kind feedback during your recent stay with us.
Much delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and particularly values our service, executive floor and swimming pool.
At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Like you mentioned in the review, let me share a information with you that our guest room will take a renovation at the end of this year and the facilities will be upgraded by then.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope we may welcome you back to stay with us very soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    408
    192
    58
    32
See reviews for
144
236
69
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Almost all the staff in front desk speaks english, they were all very kind and helpfull. The room was very good, big, and great beds! (in China beds are too hard). Its only 300 metres from Xidan metro station. We have been on the 9th floor and then they changed us to the 10th floor (the executive floor), the room in the 9th was bigger.- Breakfast was good but way too chinese, not pastries. More opcions are needed there. In the front desk you can exchange money or arrange a tour, thats great. I definitily recommend it, and I would go back.-

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerviotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Gerviotti,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay in Grand Mercure Beijing Central. We are indeed delighted to learn that you have a pleasant stay and particularly value our staff service, room condition and fitness centre.
Refer to the breakfast issue I will bring up it to F&B team and they will adjust the breakfast menu to meet most guests’ taste.
Once again, thank you very much for sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Beijing Central in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuerteventura
Level 6 Contributor
866 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was clean and quite large. It was also very quiet and we had a good night’s sleep. The bathroom was fine and the toiletries were very nice. The General Manager even came and asked us when we were eating in the hotel if there was anything he could help us with. Breakfast was quite good on our first morning but we went down at 06:45 on our last morning before a Great Wall visit and the service was a bit shambolic as they did not seem to be prepared. The quickly ran out of bread and it was not replaced and there did not seem to be enough staff. It may be nice if it was free to print boarding passes.

It was for Beijing very good value at £50 or $80 a night including breakfast for 2. We also really appreciated being able to check in at 10:00 as it allowed us to get out and explore Beijing.

It is in a good location close to two metro stops, Xidan on Lines 1 and 4 and Xuanwumen on the Circle Line, Line 2. We walked to Tiananmen Square in about 15 minutes along a fairly quiet street, Xirongxian Hutong, then round the impressive National Centre for the Performing Arts , which is surrounded by water in a nice park . Turn right out of the hotel, then first right.

There is a large Walmart store 8 to 10 minutes from Xuanwumen metro in the opposite direction from the hotel. For the Mercure, come out of Xuanwumen metro on the North East exit for the hotel

Room Tip: I would go for a higher floor - we had no traffic noise of floor 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central during your visit to Beijing. It is delightful to read your positive comments and we will share it with our team.
As you mentioned in your review, I will pass the breakfast issue to F&B team for their improvement on breakfast service.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with Grand Mercure Beijing Central.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I just spent 9 nights at the Grand Hotel Mercure Beijing Central. The hotel was ALMOST perfect. The staff was friendly and kind, especially Ralf, who is speaking very good english (and ofcourse german, his native language). Most of the other front desk staff members are speaking english enough for a conversation - which is not so common in Beijing, where almost nobody speaks english.
As a platinum member, I was upgraded to a junior suite. The room was big, and quite clean.
The breakfast is really good, with a more than decent range of choices.
The location is excelent: for us it was a walk distance (about 2 km) from Tian'men Square and Forbidden City. You have excelent subway connections too, and malls arround you.
After my stay, I got a satisfaction survey. I completed it and I was really surprised to notice that somebody is reading it - and more than that, was read by the General Manager, who also wrote me an email regarding the problems I noticed. I was really surprised by this atitude!
They also have a nice pool and a really big jacuzzi, which are really good after a full visit day. I also tried the massage, it's also good.
The Executive Lounge offers a wide choice of drinks and some food, although only 3 hours a day in the evening + the breakfast. The rest of the day you can enjoy a coffee there or a tea. It is a really nice place, quiet, designed with good taste.
But, enough with PROs. If anything was so good, why didn't I rated it with 5 stars?
Because of the furniture. Although this was the best room, or one of the best rooms, I had some problems. First of all, with the wardrobe. It was really hard to close or open it (it uses a slide system which was really old...). Than, I got problems with my room's door - it was impossible to lock it. This was solved in about 20 minutes - congratulations for efficiency.
The bathroom door: it can't be closed (a problem with the latch). And for a family with children it's not really something to be glad of...
And the rooms should be painted - my room had the painting scratched... with an old look.
BUT: those are the only problems and aren't any big issues.
The bed was big and confortable, the room was good, the staff was outstanding, I was happy.
I would stay again and warmly recommend it also to others - it is a good choice for Beijing!

Room Tip: Junior Suite - a bigger room, with access to executive lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adymu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central as your accommodation choice during your most recent visit to Beijing, China and for sharing your experience with us. At Grand Mercure, we are always striving to improve and ensure that we are offering products and services in tune with our guests’ expectations. We appreciate you are really satisfied with the services giving by Ralf. We will pass this positive comment to him and the team. And your praise can definitely encourage us to maintain the standard of the service quality. Like you mentioned in the review, let me share a information with you that our guest room will take a renovation at the end of this year and the facilities will be upgraded by then.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope we may welcome you back to stay with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having stayed at a Grand Mercure in Shanghai, which we loved, we were a bit disappointed in this one. I really wanted to like this hotel but it has a few flaws, basic ones at that. We paid extra for a refurbished room but the first one we were taken to smelled of smoke, the curtain was broken and the safe didn't work. We asked to be moved to a different room and we were with no hassle. The new room was much fresher and worth the £80 GBP price tag. However, the door in the bathroom could have been doing with a thorough clean. I appreciate it's a well-used city hotel but such simple things make a difference. Am not sure I'd stay here again. The location was quite handy for the subway and a few shopping malls around the Xidan area. Breakfast was average with not a great choice on offer. Staff however were friendly which we appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyLaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
First of all, thank you for staying in our hotel and sharing your experience with us. Your feedback is very important for us to find out where we still need to improve. We will pass these information to Housekeeping Department about the room cleanness.
Once again than you for sharing your experience and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from our China trip.
We stayed at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central, and I must say how enjoyable it was.
Everybody we meet bent over backwards to make our 45th. wedding anniversary stay FANTASTIC.
All the staff very friendly and helpful, particularly Ralph the Customer Service Manager, also Pinky the Front Desk Manager, they could not do enough to make our stay perfect
Thank you Ralph and Pinky.
We will defiantly say again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for your very positive comments. We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed staying with us especially the best services from Front office staff. Your kind words have been passed on to our team and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the Service Standard.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,405 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Huabin International Hotel
Huabin International Hotel
#219 of 6,483 in Beijing
90 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#109 of 6,483 in Beijing
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Property: Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#87 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing