We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a Disappointing Experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #93 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Overall a Disappointing Experience.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Arrived at Beijing International Airport at 1:30 am on our first trip to the city, and was pleasantly surprised to be picked-up. Surprised, because after two requests to the hotel there was no confirmation for the transfer so we had assumed it was not going to happen. Requested and booked a non-smoking room but when we got to the room it stunk of smoke. The reception quickly gave us another room that was much better apart from a "wet carpet smell" which unfortunately persisted throughout our 3 day stay.
We had breakfast the first morning, the quality of which was only average, we didn't have breakfast the next two days. The food quality of the buffet dinner was much the same, and therefore wouldn't recommend it, especially as it was relatively expensive compared to other Beijing restaurants.
The bed was comfortable, allowing us to sleep well. The room lighting was poor, with no light over the working desk.
The hotel probably is in need of upgrading/refurbishment as, at the moment, it should be classed as 3* at best not 4*.
The internet was very fast at times (up to 2 MB/s) but kept dropping out or slowing down to 2-5 KB/s, and required constant restart log-ins, very annoying.
Disappointed overall with our stay, and without big improvements we would not stay again.
Special note: Even if new to Beijing, risk getting a taxi, as the hotel organized pick-up was expensive (300 Yuan).
Don't misinterpret the maps of Beijing, sites are much further apart than they look. Be prepared to use the underground rail system a lot or taxis, if you can find one!

Room Tip: If you ask for non-smoking check room before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Dick L,
Thank you for giving us the feedback on your stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies for your unpleasant stay at this time.
At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We will share your feedback with our team, especially Housekeeping, F&B and IT. Each department will pay attention and take actions accordingly.
Once again, thank you very much for sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Beijing Central in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    407
    190
    58
    32
See reviews for
144
235
68
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just stayed here for 5 nights was worried about possible cigarette smell from reviews but no problem Room was comfortable Only had breakfast on the last day
Bathtub was large and water was always instantly hot (be aware in the tub the hot and cold stickers were on the wrong side at least in room 740)
Door was creaky but didn't worry about it until I came back at the end of the day to find my door open and unable to close. I called down and reported it and they fixed it . When I was in the reception I complained that Housekeeping should have reported it earlier and not left it open all day, but they didn't really understand me and just sent up another repair man
Took about 3 goes to get the correct wi fi password Wi fi was slow for laptop but fast for phone
Please be aware that if the light switches are off by the door there is no power on the floor plugs
There is a plug with uninterrupted power supply but its hidden behind the box with the hotel scroll on the desk (they need to move the box :) )
Easy for subway as between two different stops at Xuanwuman on Line 2 which is a loop or circle line and line 4 and Xidan on line 4 and line one
If using the Airport express Xuanwuman is only the change at Dongzhimen
Has a pool and hot tub which was warm but jets not very powerful
There was a better Jacuzzi in the mens changing room but it was drained
Also had a sauna and steam room
Wal Mart only about 1/2 mile from the hotel for the cheapest water pop and chocolate
Only saw snickers dove and m and m's while in Beijing Dairy Queen also in Wal Mart if you need a fix

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric14285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Eric14285,
First of all, thank you for staying in our hotel and sharing your experience with us. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.
At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We will let all related department know about the issue you mentioned in your review and take action accordingly. We appreciate your valuable comments and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We first stayed at this hotel in 2004 as part of a tour group package when it was still The Marco Polo Beijing. It has been since taken over by the Mercure group. After all these years, the hotel is still basically the same and maybe needs some some updating. Most of the staff can communicate in English, which makes it convenient for us, especially in China. Location seemed good but I don’t really know because we were always in the tour. You can walk to Tiananmen Square from the hotel, which is what we did on our first night there, but it is a very long walk. We didn’t mind as we enjoyed the cold Beijing November weather. The rooms and bathrooms are still the same, good size, nice decor and adequately clean. Breakfast is good, varied and with plenty choices. Overall, it is still a good hotel with good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Hilda U,
First of all, thank you for giving us your feedback regarding your stay. It is very delightful to read your positive feedback. At Grand Mercure, we are always striving to improve and ensure that we are offering products and services in tune with our guests’ expectations. Please don't hesitate to provide us with comments and suggestions again in the future.
Once again thank you for your feedback on your stay in Grand Mercure Beijing Central and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon to our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our first trip to Beijing and looking on the map this hotel was well located to the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and some major tourist attractions, but don't be fooled, city blocks in Beijing are enormous and what looked like walking distance on a map, was actually 3 train stops away. The MTR is about 300-400 meters walk from the hotel and is very efficient, however the hotel concierge is not great with their English language which surprised us and we did struggle a little with getting assistance with directions. The hotel was reasonably priced and we were on the 10th floor as Accor members which gave us access to the members lounge and free beverages after 6pm which was a nice bonus. Hotel rooms were a little pokey for 3 people with a rollaway and the bathroom was a little small as well, but all was neat and clean. Would probably suggest to be more near the shopping areas depending on what you're in china to do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachellee122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear rachellee122,
Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. Your kind review will be passed to related team and it is helpful for us to find out the disadvantages in our service. As your mentioned in your review, we will hold English training for our Front Desk staff to improve their service in the future. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with our Executive floor service. For your information our bathroom will take renovation in the end of this year. Hope the new facilities will be in line with your expect.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

nice location near forbiden city , shopping mall, houtons . Restaurant closes early for dinner so if go late maybe there are few options in buffet. Tours for great wall and other tourism points of interest available (400 RMB) Be carefull in the time of coming back to the hotel since the guide will try to send you by taxi (insist on going in the tour bus)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank 985doyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear 985doyle,
Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central as your accommodation in Beijingand sharing your experience with us.
We will share your review with our management team. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and it has been passed to our team. Like you mentioned in the review, I will let F&B Dept. pay more attention on the buffet refilling. And for the tour transportation issue, we will contact tour desk to investigate it.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope we may welcome you back to stay with us very soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,380 reviews
Xidan
Huabin International Hotel
Huabin International Hotel
#221 of 6,474 in Beijing
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,576 reviews
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#113 of 6,474 in Beijing
353 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Property: Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#82 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing