We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oversells - Location Okay - Clean - Restaurants in Area Lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Ranked #96 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Oversells - Location Okay - Clean - Restaurants in Area Lacking”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel could best be described as an average, and clean western owned hotel. It is in a decent area - close walk to Tienamin for the early morning flag raising (not to be missed) but overall is far from the entertainment and restaurant district (Sanlitun)

The hotel has a policy of severely overbooking and then fighting with you over giving you access to higher end rooms - instead wanting your associates to sleep together... Not on.

The hotel is clean, has a good fitness facility which is well stocked with old but functional equipment. The pool is delightful but contrary to the pictures is underground/in the basement.

Breakfast in the restaurant is fantastic.

Beds are okay.

Bathrooms could use some TLC and renos. The quantity of smoking which has occurred in the hotel is obvious. Getting a taxi in this district is a nightmare.

Room Tip: Rooms are all nice sized. Note: Dont choose the business suites they're smaller than advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Adam D,
Thank you for sharing your stay experience with so many details. We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay refer to hotel location, room, fitness center, breakfast and services. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain the quality of our service. Your comments inspire us to strive harder in servicing our guests.
Once again thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to staying at our hotel very soon.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    407
    190
    58
    32
See reviews for
144
235
68
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Not too many fluent English speakers. Convenient for Forbidden City & Tianemenn, but area is a bit sterile. Not many nice restaurants or cafes. Seems like a business district or something. There were other areas that I passed through that seemed more interesting.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MikeKellyIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear MikeKellyIE,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us and choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central as your accommodation choice. As you mentioned in your review, hotel situates adjacent to Xidan shopping area. In there you could find a lot of restaurant and cafes. It only takes 10 min to get there by walking. And our concierge staffs are very glad to tell these information when you ask them.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with Grand Mercure Beijing Central.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A recent and reasonably long stay which overall was most enjoyable. Booked the top floor "Green" area which also had a passable executive lounge with a happy couple of hours for drinks but very average snacks. Very helpful exec floor staff to deal with questions and issues. Front desk and lobby is efficient and fluent in English. Room was very comfortable and quiet however the hotel is showing some signs of age. Bathrooms only just up to scratch. The GM spoke of a upgrade and refurbishment in plan. Needed to be in that area and would return if in similar circumstances. Despite the non-smoking pitch, some guest(s) continued to smoke on and off which was most apparent in the corridor. Maybe someone just lit up in the lift lobby. Despite genuine efforts to track down and deal with smoking it remains a bugbear in all Chinese hotels. Little availability of better restaurants for foreigners. Some very average local restaurants across the main street and interesting very local street side dining a bit further west in side street. Only for the brave and Chinese-speakers. Hotel is close to the huge Xidan major shopping mall area. A number of local chain eateries are on the food court floors. Xidan subway on Line 1 is a little walk away and provides connections to get to the key areas of the city. Nearby is Wanfujing another huge shopping and eating area as is Qianmen Street restored eating and shopping strip to the south of Tiananmen.

Room Tip: Try to stretch for the exec floor to avoid smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKP-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear BKP-Sydney,
Thank you for choosing Grand Mercure Beijing Central and sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with our staff’s service. At Grand Mercure, we are always striving to improve and ensure that we are offering products and services in tune with our guests’ expectations. Refer to the smoking issue, we always try to control it in our hotel. We appreciate your valuable comments and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope we may welcome you back to stay with us very soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Arrived at Beijing International Airport at 1:30 am on our first trip to the city, and was pleasantly surprised to be picked-up. Surprised, because after two requests to the hotel there was no confirmation for the transfer so we had assumed it was not going to happen. Requested and booked a non-smoking room but when we got to the room it stunk of smoke. The reception quickly gave us another room that was much better apart from a "wet carpet smell" which unfortunately persisted throughout our 3 day stay.
We had breakfast the first morning, the quality of which was only average, we didn't have breakfast the next two days. The food quality of the buffet dinner was much the same, and therefore wouldn't recommend it, especially as it was relatively expensive compared to other Beijing restaurants.
The bed was comfortable, allowing us to sleep well. The room lighting was poor, with no light over the working desk.
The hotel probably is in need of upgrading/refurbishment as, at the moment, it should be classed as 3* at best not 4*.
The internet was very fast at times (up to 2 MB/s) but kept dropping out or slowing down to 2-5 KB/s, and required constant restart log-ins, very annoying.
Disappointed overall with our stay, and without big improvements we would not stay again.
Special note: Even if new to Beijing, risk getting a taxi, as the hotel organized pick-up was expensive (300 Yuan).
Don't misinterpret the maps of Beijing, sites are much further apart than they look. Be prepared to use the underground rail system a lot or taxis, if you can find one!

Room Tip: If you ask for non-smoking check room before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBC6684, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Central, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Dick L,
Thank you for giving us the feedback on your stay at the Grand Mercure Beijing Central. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies for your unpleasant stay at this time.
At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We will share your feedback with our team, especially Housekeeping, F&B and IT. Each department will pay attention and take actions accordingly.
Once again, thank you very much for sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Beijing Central in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
Xidan
Huabin International Hotel
Huabin International Hotel
#222 of 6,473 in Beijing
90 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#113 of 6,473 in Beijing
353 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,576 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Beijing Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Central

Property: Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Address: No.6 Xuanwumen Nei Main Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100031, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#85 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Central 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Xidan Beijing is located in the commercial and retail heart of Beijing, walking distance from Tiananmen Square and only 45 min from the airport. The hotel offers 290 rooms featuring city views, as well as a cafe restaurant, lobby lounge, fitness centre and swimming pool. With exceptional service and facilities, the hotel is perfect for that special weekend holiday as well as an ideal conference venue for business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Beijing Central Hotel Beijing
Grand Mercure Xidan
Mercure Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing