We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
Ranked #119 of 6,596 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I visited Beijing for a week to teach two courses. I stayed in the hotel and also used one of the meeting rooms for the classes.

The first bedroom I was given (on a non-smoking floor) stank of cigarettes. Fortunately the hotel wasn't full so I moved to another room the next morning.

Several reviewers complain about the Internet connectivity. My experience was slightly frustrating but I wonder how much is caused by the Chinese government firewall?

The staff in the restaurant were extremely helpful - always wanting to make sure we had everything we needed.

The quality of the food, bedroom and meeting room were all good. I used the gym on one rainy morning - it was very well equipped and quiet so no waiting.

The location is quite convenient - a mile's walk to the Olympic Forest Park - if you'd like some greenery. The subway is relatively close too.

I'd hapilly return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie Q, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Parkside Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Willidh,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing us with your valuable comments. We really do appreciate guests letting us know on areas where we can improve.

Firstly, thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the Internet problem. For your information, we are currently upgrading the bandwidth of our Internet to prevent guests from encountering slow internet connectivity in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Marco Polo Parkside Beijing soon!

Best regards,
Jessie Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

As a business hotel this has some pluses and minuses. The location, close to motorway means access to airport, High-Tech, Silicon valley is faster than staying down town, so less time in traffic than other similarly graded hotels. The wi-fi is a pigs ear ( well in China that's probably tasty ) what i mean is a dog's breakfast....oh you know....not good. Room has a cable that was intermittent, Wi-Fi comes and goes in the room. It seems every other room has a router as do lobby bar, cafe, restaurants, each need a password which is similar but not constant everywhere. Crowne Plaza has one system all free and works well. Hilton Doubletree has one but charges an arm and leg for usage £ 100 a week or so. Back to Marco Polo, Lobby lounge is friendly, atmospheric and serves a range of snacks and beer, We did drink it dry one night which is scary when 4 Englishman can do that. Japanese restaurant in basement is fine and reasonable price, however shuts on the dot at 22:00 meaning last orders really 21:00. Plenty of good restaurants outside including a sechzuan spicy food place that says its 24 hours but realistically it closes when you leave ( 03;00 ) and they don't run out of beer. Spa, gym and pool are good to excellent. Staff very courteous, even a sense of humour and speak fair English. However best bit is good value for money. Around £ 100 a night B&B for a spacious room, varied and expansive breakfast included. Yes I will stay here again. I prefer Double tree but it's remote from Hi-Tech valley so the 2 hours in car are a pain. All in all the Marco Polo delivers with exception of the archaic Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: try to get one with a wi-fi router in it. then you may get a reliable signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GVLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie Q, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Parkside Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear GVLTravel,

Thank you for providing us with your valuable comments, we really do appreciate guests letting us know on areas where we can improve.

Before anything else, please allow me to express our most sincere apology for the unreliable Internet connection. We are currently upgrading our Internet bandwidth, and hopefully the next time u stay with us, the Internet problem will be completely resolved. As for our Lobby Lounge, I have addressed the issue with the related departments and we will make sure that our bar is always well-stocked with beer.

We are really glad that in general you are satisfied with the services and facilities of our hotel. I will be sure to pass your kind words to our associates, this will no doubt be a great encouragement to them.

Thank you, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Marco Polo Parkside Beijing in the near future!

Best regards,
Jessie Quah
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Their internet is a disaster..... No wifi in rooms, wifi in lobby is slow. Either Lobby wifi or Room cable connection is very bad, can't properly connect VPN / download email, nor open foreign websites. If youre a business traveller, stay far away from this hotel.

Additionally, their frontdesk is slow and understaffed.... one single staff at midnight checkin with a big group in front of me.... waited more than 10 minutes to be served.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traviac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie Q, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Parkside Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Traviac,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us on TripAdvisor, and also, thank you for pointing out areas we need to improve to better serve our guests in the near future.

We are really sorry for the inconveniences we caused you during your stay here with us. With regards to the Wi-Fi issue, we offer complimentary Wi-Fi service to Deluxe Rooms and above, and complimentary broadband Internet service for Superior Rooms. We are currently in the midst of upgrading our Internet bandwidth, as well as our overall Internet equipments and facilities. Hopefully this will cease the problem of not being able to access foreign websites on a timely basis.

As for the Front Desk issue, please be assured that this is not our usual standards, and please accept our most sincere apologies for not being able to attend to you sooner. I have conveyed your message to the relevant departments, and will be taking immediate corrective actions to prevent this from happening to you and other guests in the future.

Once again, we would like to thank you for helping us improve our operation and service, and very much hope that you will remain a valued customer. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Marco Polo Parkside Beijing in the near future.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any further issues or questions about the hotel, my email add is jquah@marcopolohotels.com.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Jessie Quah
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

In general this is a reasonable hotel, in keeping with the level at which it is pitched.

However it appears that in Winter the hotel refuses to turn on the air-conditioning. This meant that my room was an uncomfortable 29 degrees Centigrade (84 degrees Fahrenheit).

I called down to the front-desk and was told that they could open the window (to let in the smog), which they proceeded to do. Additionally they had run out of fans, so I was out of luck there. I was told that there was no air-conditioning available in the whole hotel as it was still Winter (early April).

Having the window opened brought my room down to a balmy 27C (81F). Even that was uncomfortable to sleep in.

On the next day I left the window open all day and came back to 23C, and by midnight it was back up to 29C.

I checked out the next morning. I won't be going back and I'll not be recommending that we use this hotel again.

In the hotel's defence everything else was OK- the food, the cleanliness, the service etc. But all of that counts for naught if you cannot be comfortable in your room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie Q, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Parkside Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Mr. Niall G,

Firstly thank you for taking your time to write us this review, we do appreciate it when a guest take the effort to point out areas where we can improve.

We sincerely apologize for the causing such an inconvenience to you during your visit to Beijing. Unfortunately, during your period of stay, we encountered an air-conditioning problem and despite our efforts, we were unable to resolve the problem before your checked out from the hotel. The unpredictable weather and temperature didn't help much either.

Please do accept our apologies and we regret not being able to do more for you during your stay here with us. . Rest assure that the air-conditioning problem has been resolved and we sincerely hope that you will give us a 2nd chance in serving you in the near future.

Nevertheless, we are glad that you were satisfied with the other aspects of the hotel. And once again, thank you for your time and if you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at jquah@marcopolohotels.com.

Thank you and best wishes from all of us here at Marco Polo Parkside Beijing.

Best regards,
Jessie Quah
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend before going to Tianjin. Location is slightly out and the walk to the mtr is 10 to 15 mins. But there are many F&B out nearby. Staff is helpful and friendly. Rooms are nice and comfortable as well.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Phua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie Q, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Parkside Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Mr. Phua,

Thank you so much for your kind review and we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. I will be sure to pass your kind words to our staffs and I am sure this will be a great encouragement to them to continue perfecting their performance.

We hope to welcome you again some time soon!

Best regards,
Jessie Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Spent 5 nights here. The outstanding points for me were the little touches: a greeter who ensured there was a lift waiting, for example. You know those triangular grids in a shower cubicle for the shampoo to stand on? Well, they had made a clear plastic sheet to fit in this so that the shampoo and conditioner bottles didn't fall over. Someone had decided to do that, I've never seen it anywhere else. On the other hand the writing on the bottles is still too small to read without your reading glasses; one of my pet hates, 1st world problems. Excellently designed room, plenty of power points. Keenly priced. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_genial_zod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie Q, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Parkside Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear The_genial_zod,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write us such a nice review. We are delighted to hear that you very much enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will be sure to pass your kind words to the rest of our staff and I am sure they will be very happy that we've met your expectations.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and having you as our guests, and we look forward to meeting you very soon!

Best regards,
Jessie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Multi trips for hotel staffs to send this and that, still its warm to see them smiling every time the door opens. Spacious room and toilet works perfect for my mom and I. The only thing is that the room is a little warm perhaps it is due to the end of the whole heating system in Beijing. Other than that, It is a joyous and wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Great with kids and elderly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Shing Pooi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie Q, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Parkside Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Shing Pooi G,

Thank you very much for sharing your pleasant experience with us! We are glad that you enjoyed the warmth and friendliness of our staffs during your stay here with us.

The central heating system of the hotel is currently still running, hence, this is the reason why you might feel the room is a little warm.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
Jessie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Asian Games Village
V- Continent Beijing Parkview Wuzhou
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#34 of 6,596 in Beijing
2,986 reviews
Olympic Village
China National Convention Center Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Village
InterContinental Beijing Beichen
Wudaokou
Park Plaza Beijing Science Park
Xidan
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
#91 of 6,596 in Beijing
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Parkside Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Parkside Beijing

Address: No.78 Anli Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Region: China > Beijing > Olympic Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#104 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#123 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £74 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Parkside Beijing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Olympic-Asian Games District, Marco Polo Parkside Beijing is 1.5 Kilometre away from the China National Convention Center and Beijing International Convention Center. It is also within stone's throw away from the famed 2008 Olympic venues - Bird's Nest, Water Cube, Olympic Forest Park, and the newly opened Olympic Park Observation Tower. Choose from a series of elegantly appointed rooms and suites to experience Marco Polo Hotel's signature brand of comfort and attentive service. Each room comes with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, bath tub with separate shower, iPhone/iPod Dock, and mini bar. Marco Polo Parkside Beijing offers a diverse range of eateries for your culinary enjoyment. Cafe Marco serves an all-day sumptuous East meets West buffet while the Lobby Lounge provides a cozy setting for afternoon teas and signature cocktails. For a taste of traditional imperial Chinese cuisine, Beijing Palace is the place to go to. Matsuko is widely known for its contemporary Japanese cuisine. Gear up for the day ahead or re-invigorate yourself after a long day by taking advantage of our superbly equipped fitness centre or take a dip into our indoor heated swimming pool with sky windows, followed by a series of calming whirlpool bath, saunas and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marco Polo Parkside Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing