We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only fair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Qianyuan International Business Hotel
Ranked #1,837 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 21 June 2009

If you can book this hotel for £25 or so a night, then it's probably a reasonable place to stay for a few nights in Beijing. Unfortunately its impressive exterior and its name - a socalled 'international business hotel' - are not matched by the interior which reminded me of the 1980s in Beijing. The corridors (we were on the 7th floor) smelt musty, as did the room. The room was OK (the hardest bed I've slept on since I was a student in China in the 1970s!) though the carpet and chairs were grubby, as was the shower curtain (which one needed to put across the glass wall if one wanted a bit of privacy). The heavy glass door to the bathroom was difficult to open, particularly from the inside.

Some people have commented on the good location - there are plenty of restaurants around (as there are in many places in Beijing) but it's around a 15 minute walk (maybe 10 if you hurry) from Dongzhimen metro station. underground or inexpensive taxis).
We actually chose this hotel for two nights - on a short return visit to Beijing from Tokyo (before flying back to the UK) because we thought it would be closer to Dongzhimen - where the airport express train goes from. It was actually almost as cheap to take a taxi from the hotel direct to the airport (it's not far from the airport expressway) - which we did. There are plenty of hotels in better locations for sightseeing etc. (whether you choose to use the underground, which is modern and efficient, or the inexpensive taxis.) Also, the hotel may not be as economical as it seems. While any hotels offer free internet access (with your own computer), we were charged around £10 a day - the alternative was to move to a more expensive room with free internet.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surprised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Qianyuan International Business Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2009

I got a very good deal through booking the hotel via bookings.com (£28). Upon arriving at the hotel and entering my room - I realised that the price I paid was just right - it is no way worth more than the price I paid - despite the prices showing RMB 998 (Approx £99) at the hotel. The room itself was a standard room with king-size bed, it was pleasant and I had a nice view of below. The bathroom is....an interesting glass cubicle - but none the less - it serves the purpose. The room it self was a modest size - and the air-con worked a treat where it very quickly heated up the room.
The bed was very hard – it took a while to get used to it, but even then – I looked forward to coming home and sleeping in a proper bed.
The TV has 2 English channels and 1 French channel the other 60+ are Chinese.
During check-in the hotel could not find my booking and hence I did not get my breakfast included - despite having booked it, not a big problem - as there are ample restaurants lined up and down the road - which open at a very early hour.
The hotel is in a good spot - there are 2 subway stations in close vicinity and a 7-11 and McD's are not too far away.
Also - be aware you will need to put down a deposit for the room when you arrive - either cash or card, which will be returned when you leave.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Virdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Qianyuan was a very nice hotel based on Chinese standards. The room decor was very pleasant, but the walls are very thin. You can hear everything in the hall and adjacent rooms, so bring earplugs. The beds are very hard, harder than the other hotels I stayed. The shower door leaked and flooded the bathroom floor but I remedied this by pointing shower head at the wall.. This hotel provides room safes unlike the other hotels I stayed. The rooms were clean, staff was helpful, and location was perfect.

It was just a 5-10 minute walk from Beixingqao and Dongzhimen subway stations. You can catch the 916 bus at Dongzhimen bus stop to Mutianyu Great Wall. The hotel is located on a very busy street that has tons of restaurants. I recommend the Yunan noodle shop across the street, order the fried noodles for 10 RMB. There is also an excellent massage place across the street that cost 99 RMB for 1.5 hr foot and shoulder massage. It is also located just 10 min walking distance from the llama temple, Confucian temple and Imperial Academy.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anastosb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in April, having found a good deal on a website (booking.com). It is in an interesting area, near restaurant street. It is also accessible from - but not close to - 2 different subway stops on two different lines.

We had breakfast included. It was buffet and absolutely fine, though some of the dishes are not what you would normally expect - see photo.

The room had some strange and impractical design features. The most obvious is a glass bathroom enclosure - admittedly with frosted glass in a broad band (see pictures). Obviously this was not a hit with clients, as there is a totally unnecessary (from the water control viewpoint) shower curtain, allowing privacy.

We speculated that someone must have designed this hotel so that it would look god - but had no idea of realities.

The carpets on the floor of the lifts/elevators have the day of the week written on them in English. This is, obviously, a pretty useful feature, if you have forgotten what day it is, having crossed the international date line. They accurately told us the day during our stay. Maybe those of you with more experience of multi-star hotels regard this as normal. It was new to me. So I took a picture.

This hotel is definitely not a western chain.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Donard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2007

I stayed three nights at the hotel and upgraded to a deluxe room which is very spacious with a full kitchen. The room rate is very reasonable as making online booking wil give you half price the walk in rate. The location is nice, with a big food supermarket on the ground floor and situated right in the food street (Gui street). Less than 30 minutes by car from the airport and less than 10 minutes walk to either line 2 or 5 subway line. The breakfast is acceptable with sufficient Chinese and Western choice. The service is nice and the broadband access is ok. Not many facilities at the hotel (a very wide selection of TV channels though) but good enough for sleeping at night (though the bed is a bit hard) and spending the day outside. In sum, it is a really good bargain for a 4 star hotel in Beijing.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JKWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We stayed for 4 nights in an 'executive room' in September 2007. We paid about £27/night as we found a deal on the internet. I would highly recommend staying here. It is quite modern and the rooms are spacious, comfortable and well furnished. The staff are friendly and helpful (though quite limited English). We didn't eat in the restaurant except for breakfast - this was a buffet with a range of Western and Chinese dishes on offer - OK but nothing special. The hotel is very well located - about 10 mins walk from the metro and on a street full of restaurants - the ones we tried were great.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CFH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ShiauHa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Oriental Garden Hotel
Oriental Garden Hotel
#203 of 6,531 in Beijing
184 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Traveler Inn Huaqiao Beijing
Traveler Inn Huaqiao Beijing
#1,781 of 6,531 in Beijing
204 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
The Emperor Beijing Qianmen
#70 of 6,531 in Beijing
313 reviews
Beijing Ruyuan Courtyard
#204 of 6,531 in Beijing
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qianyuan International Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qianyuan International Business Hotel

Address: No.19 Dongzhimennei Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#275 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £73 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Qianyuan International Business Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Qianyuan International Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qianyuan International Business Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing