We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite part of Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #101 of 6,528 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I did not particularly care for Beijing but the Sihe Courtyard Hotel made all the difference between an ok stay and a fascinating one. Located down a funky hutong (alley) the hotel was an ironic breath of fresh air in. Beautiful interiors and wonderful service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I wanted to stay in a hotel that was not a typical tourist hotel in Beijing (as we had done three years ago), and we were very happy indeed with our choice of this hutong hotel. The staff at the front desk were very friendly, helpful and efficient from the moment of our arrival, and have a good grasp of English. The room we had, at the back of the hotel, looked out onto a small courtyard with greenery, sunshade and chairs, and was very quiet. The bedroom and shower room were both fine and spotlessly clean - though admittedly not as large as you might get in a typical tourist hotel, but that is what you would expect in a hutong hotel. The buffet breakfast (geared to both Chinese and western tastes) was full, varied and appetising. The hotel is conveniently located about a ten minute walk to Dongsi subway station, which is on two subway lines. Our only reservation is that the location of the hotel might be a bit daunting for a guest who has just arrived in China: the hotel is only a few minutes walk down a lane away from a main road with several buses running along it, but as the lane is a hutong, it is rather narrow, without pavements, and to anyone new to China might seem an unlikely approach to a high-end hotel. On our departure for the airport we asked for the shuttle service to the main road mentioned in the hotel information booklet, but the hotel staff spontaneously offered the hotel car to take us all the way to the main bus station at Dongzhimen where the Beijing Airport Express subway line also starts. Overall, then, a very pleasant stay indeed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

If you want to stay in a western style hotel, then this is not the place for you. If you want to stay in a small hotel in a non-highrise Chinese neighborhood, then you will enjoy the Sihe.
When we first arrived, driving up the alley (called a "hutong" in Chinese)- and it really is an alley- we wondered what we had gotten into. People in the alley cooking dinner over pots, children playing, a pile of rubble from construction, and bikes, scooters, cars in the way everywhere. Unusual smells (some pleasant, some not), noise, lots of people. We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by a courteous staff member and shown to our very small room, down an outside hallway, with no view of anything but a concrete wall outside the door.
The room was very clean, with rosewood furniture, and a queen size bed with access from one side only. I had to crawl over my wife to get into bed. The bathroom is very small, but had a shower and was modern.
That was the initial take.
Now, after staying there for 5 days, we came to really like the place.
The neighborhood, which initially frightened us, was very safe-even late at night. People would smile at us, and as we passed them several days they recognized us. We learned not to take a cab. The cabs had no idea where the place was, so they got lost every time even though we had the hotel name and address in Chinese and a map to show them. The best way is to use the subway, about a 12 minute walk from the hotel. The subway is clean, cheap, and avoids the awful traffic.
Of course, in the rain the walk from the subway is interesting. The alleys become a 2 inch deep river that you walk through to reach the hotel. It was raining hard one night, and when we got to our room water was streaming down the bathroom walls. The staff was helpful and moved us to a different room (even smaller!) for that night.
Breakfasts are very good and you can order what you want. Each day they have different items on the Chinese buffet. Makes for fun trying different foods.
The staff was really helpful to us.
In summary, if you want an adventure, love to stay in local places, and want to be with the Chinese people, then you will really like this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JKNDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

If you want to enjoy authentic Chinese experience, just come and stay Beijing Sihe courtyard hotel! Our family live in the VIP room, it is just amazing! Comfortable beds, fantastic decoration, free water, tea, coffee, separate drawing room, and they even add an extra bed for us for free! The location is central and close to Wangfujin, tiananmen square while is is so quite and nice. Breakfast is wonderful, we all like it. The courtyard is a great place to relax. The staff were all very friendly. Everytime we went out, their own driver will send us to the main street for free. I was so impressed and if I'm in Beijing again I will return here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Sihe Courtyard hotel is located in a Hutong and once you exit the hotel you are greeted by the locals around you. You see them preparing their BBQ, walking their dogs, playing with children etc. The staff of the Sihe courtyard is extremely friendly. The girls of reception are not fluent in English but will do everything to make themselves understood. The pick-up from the airport is very efficient. A normal taxi would probably drop you within walking distance, their own driver drops you in front of the door. He's courteous and helps with luggage. Rooms have all facilities you need. I enjoyed the Chinese athmosphere in the room and at the courtyard.
I would certainly return to this hotel !

Room Tip: the smallest rooms are fine for single travellers but for two I would rather take a bigger room !
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LYDWINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel 10 days ago, it is such a nice, fantastic and lovely hotel! Located in a traditional Beijing Hutong, it is quite close to Wang Fu Jing business street and Tian An Men square. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Every time we went out, the driver sent us to Dong Si subway station for free, which helped us a lot. If you want to have special and nice experience in Beijing, Sihe courtyard hotel is your best choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zhang j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Originally my wife and I had requested Courtyard 7 hotel through our tour operator China Highlights. Even though we made our request 8 months in advance, 6 weeks before we were scheduled to leave for Beijing, China Highlights advised us that all 17 rooms at Courtyard 7 were taken over by government officials; so they instead booked us at the Beijing Sihe Courtyard which had excellent reviews. Having not seen, Courtyard 7, it is difficult for me to compare the two hotels other than by reputation.

The Sihe Courtyard Hotel is similar in size to Courtyard 7. The rooms are beautifully appointed with traditional furniture and Chinese style double beds. Somewhat awkward getting in and out of, but very authentic, nonetheless.

My only complaint is the difficulty getting taxis to take you back to the Hutong from Tienanmen Square and the Oriental Plaza Shopping center after 9:00pm. Beijing cab drivers are notorious for trying to rip you off. Plus, they're exceptionally rude. While I appreciate that taxis are not allowed in the Hutong, taxis charge 5-7 times the meter rate during the evening, just to drive you to the entrance of the Hutong, which is less than a mile away.

Some might consider the Hutong charming. That's hardly the word I'd use to describe it. While very traditional, the Dongsi Hutong is a filthy pig stye with garbage strewn all over the street. There are no trees. The Sihe Courtyard is an oasis by comparison. However, you have to walk several blocks down dark alleyways in order to get to find the hotel.

The front desk staff, are friendly and they try hard to please. However, most of the staff I came in contact with, had limited English. Even in large cities, like Beijing and Shanghai, very few people in China speak English.

The hotel also is not located near any restaurants with English menus. There are several local restaurants within the Hutong, but none have English speaking wait staff. Since it is difficult to find a taxi after dark, I suggest that the hotel post the names of restaurants, which are within walking distance, and have cards of these restaurants available in the front lobby, to hand out to their guests.

Aside from location, staying at the Sihe Courtyard Hotel is an authentic way to experience the historic lifestyle of Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#44 of 6,528 in Beijing
573 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#84 of 6,528 in Beijing
259 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,528 in Beijing
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#72 of 6,528 in Beijing
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#50 Family Hotel in Beijing
#76 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £44 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Beijing Courtyard Hotel has been built up base on 400 Years historic construction Si He Yuan, The said place was the former residence of famous Chinese artist Mr. Mei Lan Fang. 10 minutes walking distance from WangFuJing, the travel and commercial center of Beijing. The spacious guest rooms are sharing the beautiful inner and outer courtyard and patio with each other, and decorated by the antique furniture those are carved with dragon and phoenix, the symbol of Chinese ancient nobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing