We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #92 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel and would definitely recommend it to others. We liked waking up to the real Beijing, rather than in a large chain hotel. It was nice meeting everyday people and eating at small restaurants in our neighborhood.

Traveling by subway was also pretty conveniently located about five minutes away. The breakfast was filling and the people were nice. All in all, a great experience.

The only drawback was the internet. At certain spots in the hotel, the internet is non-existent...but you're supposed to be exploring China, so who cares?!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    136
    39
    16
    5
See reviews for
96
155
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

If you want to experience staying in the old Hu Tongs of Beijing while still enjoying most of the creature comforts from home then this is the place for you.
It is so much more than the homogenised boxes of western style hotels and am sure it has left an enduring impression on our 7&4 year olds.

The hotel is 5 minutes walk down an, at 1st, imposing alley but once you get your bearings you will love both it's inner city tranquil location and it's traditional fixtures and fittings.
The rooms were littered with Chinese style furniture and nick-nicks and the place had so much character that you couldn't help fall for the place.
The desk staff were fantastic, spoke good English, and could not be more friendly or helpful.
At the end if the stay we really felt we were in China!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happy place
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Let's just say there was a significantly sized hole on the bottom of my room door that is rotting away. The hotel is old and does not look like it's well-maintained compared to other courtyards. Maybe the rustic and unkempt courtyard is what others here thought was great, charming and the real China.
The room was big though but again looks like it needs some refurbishing. The Chinese design is tacky (too much Chinese decor for my taste) bordering sleezy thanks to the lamp with red light. The thin walls and probably hole in my door also did not filter the talking outside the room late at night. The bathroom, however, looks like it was renovated compared to the bedroom.
Only plus here is the staff service. Very very helpful and they also have a free shuttle to serve nearby areas, if the van is available, as the hotel is deep in the hutong.
For the price you pay, you can get better accommodations elsewhere. It's the abysmal breakfast buffet and free shuttle that I think you really are paying for here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darylrose_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

When I first arrived I was a little hesitant as this hotel is in the "Old Beijing" area, but within minutes of arriving I felt very comfortable and reassured by the extremely helpful, highly competent and hard working staff. Everyone was so helpful. The staff even transferred me into their largest suite in the garden courtyard after staying three days in one of their other rooms because it was available. The front desk staff was meticulous in their making sure I was taken care of for whatever I needed. They're the best.

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms surrounding the garden courtyard are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMan870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here in late July 2013 and found it to be comfortable, clean and the girls on the front desk very helpful (and their English was good). This is a more traditional hotel in a unique narrow lane location (hutong) and if you want to feel like part of the local community which you won't get staying in a western style big hotel, then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiggyFarDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in August and had a great experience! Very nice clean hotel with great staff! Their English was well spoken and they were very helpful. They helped us book tickets to see a kungfu show and even arranged free transportation. The rooms have everything you need and you receive a free bottle of water every morning. Breakfast satisfied all taste buds from traditional Chinese to American options. The location is great too, right near the subway which is very easy to navigate. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Beijing!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We (family of 5) stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in July 2013.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the reception staff spoke moderate English (certainly enough to help us with any queries). We'd booked a trip to the Great Wall as part of our tour, and when the driver called to arrange a collection time, they asked him to delay by 15 minutes so that we would have time for breakfast before we left.
The rooms were clean and the toilets/showers of a good standard. Breakfast, whilst modest, was ample and made a good start to the day.
The hotel (down a side road) is ideally situated for the Tiananmen/Forbidden City (20 min walk) and close to the metro (5 min walk).
I would certainly stay there again.
The only negative is that laundry was rather expensive. I don't know whether this is the hotel's mark-up or whether this service is just expensive in Beijing. We actually found our clothes hanging out to dry in a local side street (about 1 minute walk). Maybe worth taking the clothes direct to the "laundrette" yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#47 of 6,474 in Beijing
556 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#79 of 6,474 in Beijing
255 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#77 of 6,474 in Beijing
243 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#107 of 6,474 in Beijing
450 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Property: Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#50 Family Hotel in Beijing
#76 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Beijing Courtyard Hotel has been built up base on 400 Years historic construction Si He Yuan, The said place was the former residence of famous Chinese artist Mr. Mei Lan Fang. 10 minutes walking distance from WangFuJing, the travel and commercial center of Beijing. The spacious guest rooms are sharing the beautiful inner and outer courtyard and patio with each other, and decorated by the antique furniture those are carved with dragon and phoenix, the symbol of Chinese ancient nobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing