We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$497
US$382
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$255
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$350
US$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$141
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$214
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$270
US$160
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$564
US$361
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
228
141
46
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
141
46
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforbidden citytraditional chinese furnitureauthentic chinese experiencebeijing hutongboiled eggsminute walktraditional hotelquiet hutongdecent breakfastwestern hotelstaxi driveryogurttienanmen squaresubway stationnoodlesdongsialley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had a nice week at this hotel. The room was comfy and just outside the room was a little courtyard where you can sit in the evening. The hotel is tiny and stashed away in a hutong on dengcao street. It is a five minute walk to the main street Dong Si south street, and a further 5 minutes to the DongSi subway station for line 5 to Tianneman Square etc. Line 5 is the main North South axis.
The hutong is very quiet at night, and the hotel does not serve food, so on your way back call in at the little convenience store on the street. If you want a cheap meal and a decent beer go into the next street Li Shi,and try the café gatto, and the noodle bar opposite.
The rooms are clean, if small, and the breakfasts are ok.The hotel staff are helpful and will arrange a free taxi service locally. They will also arrange a taxi to anywhere, including the 40 minute poor value Beijing Opera at a minimum 200 yuan per person. Choose the minimum. If you do this, remember to get the same taxi to take you back after the show, otherwise you may be stuck in the middle of nowhere.
The subway is easy to use. Just go to the ticket office window and pay 2 yuan one way per person. Everything is signposted in English.
On a cautionary note, at the hotel, use the safe for your valuables. One person "lost" some items which magically "reappeared" 3 days later in the room, following a complaint.
The hotel certainly beats the big soulless places, and you do get a glimpse of how many ordinary people live.
Mary on reception is a star too.

Room Tip: Go for the cheapest
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a wonderful five days at this charming hotel in one of Beijing's classic, centrally-located "hutong" alleyways. The hotel fell short in many small ways; this is not an international boutique hotel. But any efficiency shortcomings were more than made up for by the beautiful surroundings, pleasant staff, and atmosphere of authenticity. Frankly, we loved the place.

On a practical level: the hotel internet was fast and reliable, they made a good hot breakfast (eggs cooked to order or Chinese breakfast, as you wish), and the mattresses were thin but comfortable. We experienced no problems And the hotel really does look just as in the photos.

Arrange the hotel pick-up service; taxis can't find the hutong and will have trouble even getting into the hutong (a 5 meter wide alley full of parked cars, carts, and cycles) if they do.

The subway is nearby and Tiananmen Square is an easy 25-minute walk. Beijing's main shopping street (Wangfujing) is fifteen minutes. And the neighborhood is pleasant and walkable (by Beijing standards). We really had no regrets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbabones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel and would definitely recommend it to others. We liked waking up to the real Beijing, rather than in a large chain hotel. It was nice meeting everyday people and eating at small restaurants in our neighborhood.

Traveling by subway was also pretty conveniently located about five minutes away. The breakfast was filling and the people were nice. All in all, a great experience.

The only drawback was the internet. At certain spots in the hotel, the internet is non-existent...but you're supposed to be exploring China, so who cares?!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If you want to experience staying in the old Hu Tongs of Beijing while still enjoying most of the creature comforts from home then this is the place for you.
It is so much more than the homogenised boxes of western style hotels and am sure it has left an enduring impression on our 7&4 year olds.

The hotel is 5 minutes walk down an, at 1st, imposing alley but once you get your bearings you will love both it's inner city tranquil location and it's traditional fixtures and fittings.
The rooms were littered with Chinese style furniture and nick-nicks and the place had so much character that you couldn't help fall for the place.
The desk staff were fantastic, spoke good English, and could not be more friendly or helpful.
At the end if the stay we really felt we were in China!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Let's just say there was a significantly sized hole on the bottom of my room door that is rotting away. The hotel is old and does not look like it's well-maintained compared to other courtyards. Maybe the rustic and unkempt courtyard is what others here thought was great, charming and the real China.
The room was big though but again looks like it needs some refurbishing. The Chinese design is tacky (too much Chinese decor for my taste) bordering sleezy thanks to the lamp with red light. The thin walls and probably hole in my door also did not filter the talking outside the room late at night. The bathroom, however, looks like it was renovated compared to the bedroom.
Only plus here is the staff service. Very very helpful and they also have a free shuttle to serve nearby areas, if the van is available, as the hotel is deep in the hutong.
For the price you pay, you can get better accommodations elsewhere. It's the abysmal breakfast buffet and free shuttle that I think you really are paying for here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darylrose_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews