We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #111 of 6,563 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Friendly staff. Efficient. Speaks good english.
Free taxi from the airport after 08.00
Excellent taxi drivers attached to the hotel if you want to drive out e.g. to see the Great Wall.
Rooms spotlessly clean. Hairdryer and toiletries supplied in bathroom. Good sized rooms.
Comfortable beds.
Amazing breakfast. Sets you up for the day.
Hotel is located right in the heart of the hutongs and in a very safe area.
Easy access to main tourist sites in Beijing.
Very friendly staff who will do all they can to make your stay a good one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed in a standard room. The bed was so comfortable. The room was cozy with lots of great decorations and details. While the room had a traditional feel, the bathroom was nice and modern with Western style toilet, nice sink, and modern shower. The room had limited storage but the bed is raised so suitcases can be stored underneath.

The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. We arrived at late morning and the room wasn't ready yet, so they stored our bags for us and gave us maps, instructions, and advice for finding some local attractions. Their front staff was always very polite and helpful. They arranged a car to come pick us up for our return to the airport. Also, Linda was incredibly helpful with making an international collect call when I had an emergency to deal with.

The hotel was very clean and well maintained. It was colder, so we didn't hang out in the courtyard area at all, but it looked very nice. The red lanterns in the hallways were very pretty and gave a great ambiance at nice.

The Hutong where the hotel is located is a short 10 minute walk to the Dongsi metro stop on the "5" line. It's also easy walking (10-20 min) to tons of locations and restaurants. We were able to walk to Wanfujing street easily. The Hutong is about 20 minutes from "Ghost Street" as well. The Hutong itself is very charming and safe. The people were very friendly and there were a few corner stores to pick up water and other items. The Hutong is narrow so sometimes you have to watch out for bikes, mopeds, or even cars.

We absolutely loved our stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants an authentic Beijing experience. It's a great location and close via walking or metro to just about all the Beijing attractions. A taxi from the airport was about 88 RMB and the driver didn't have too much trouble finding it. We provided him the address and a map to help out. I definitely recommend keeping that info handy for taxi drivers. Worse comes to worst, you can always get dropped at the nearest metro and walk the rest of the way.

Room Tip: The Standard room was a good value at $90/night. The next time we stay, we might check out the Execu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwtunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room and it was nice and warm with a modern bathroom and traditional furnishings. We stayed an extra night and had to move to a standard room without seeing it as the hotel was full. This standard room was not worth the price and not nice at all- I think the negative review below must have had this room as I recognised the rotting door. For information this is room 807- do not take that one.
The breakfast was ok.
Although there is a TV there is nothing much in English to watch and it's placed behind the seating so you can't actually watch it really.

The girls on reception were great and spoke good English. This is an absolute must in China. The taxi drivers do not speak English, nor can they read maps, and the translation into western alphabet is not written like it sounds, so you need to get the girls on reception to write down all the places that you want to go in Chinese characters.
Make sure you have the address written in Chinese when you arrive so that you can show the taxi driver, or even better make sure you have the number of the hotel, ring them and get them to explain to the taxi driver. This is very useful when you first arrive with luggage, as all taxi drivers refused to drive into the narrow hutong. This meant that there was an approximately 5 minute walk to the hotel. We did not find it threatening to walk through the hutong at night to the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room. Make sure you don't take 807.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amalfipurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel is tucked away in a little hutong which is however a walkable distance from major sights and close to the subway. The one storey building is charmingly decorated in traditional Chinese fashion. However the hotel's strong point is without doubt it's very friendly and helpful staff- and here I'd like to specially mention Mary and Giulia. On arrival I was made to feel immediately at home.
Maybe it lacks some features of the dazzling but anonymous 5* hotels but compensates in other ways. By the way it has an excellent 24 hour free wifi connection!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We recently spent nine nights at the Courtyard SiHe and used it as a base to explore Beijing. We enjoyed every minute. The hotel is a delightful, old rambling and slightly shabby collection of rooms around several courtyards. Its location half way down a narrow hutong plunges you into a genuine experience of old China. It is close to the Dongsi subway station and walking distance to Wangfujing St, Tiannnamen Square and the Forbidden City. Our room was cramped but clean and comfortable including the huge and soft four poster bed). The staff are great. Super helpful and speak very good English. I would especially like to commend Mary and Linda. The entrance is really just a door in a wall and easily missed by taxi drivers unless you look up at the unlit hotel sign above the roof.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We agree with the reviews below. We had come from a very glitzy and luxurious hotel in Shanghai. We loved the contrast. Staying in a hutong meant we were among real local people, rather than international business executives. The staff were excellent and spoke good English. We had intended to take advice from the Lonely Planet in booking a car to see the Great Wall at Mutianyu, but the agency they had recommended wanted to charge £200, including an "out of hours" fee. The girls at reception booked a car for us for £75, advised on the weather and which day we should do the excursion; and it was fine, no attempts at diversion to commission-paying shopping sites. The hotel was charming. The room was comfortable, if a little small. The breakfast was good. There was free wifi. Mrs PAH49.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

If you want to feel the real living in a hutong ,the old town quarters in Beijing , you have to choose this hotel. I stayed in the luxury apartment and feel like an actor in the film " the last emperor". The staff is friendly and help you in any cases. Their english is fluent comparing to english knowledge in Beijing normally. The inner court is quiet however when coming out get the typical atmosphere of a hutong. The subway station dongsi is near so you can arrive every interesting point in the city. Even as a foreigner without any knowledge of chinese you will find this Hotel vey easy when following the dengcao hutong sign on dong si nan da jie (Dongsi south street). Many good typical good chinese food restaurants can be reached by foot.
They also offer a free airport pick up who was really in time and fast.
In all a good choice if you really want to stay in real chinese traditional accomodation.
However also modern techniques are included in the room like a WiFi access and a modern TV set.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Volker682013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#40 of 6,563 in Beijing
579 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#106 of 6,563 in Beijing
471 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#184 of 6,563 in Beijing
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.5 Dengcao Hutong Dongsi South Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#31 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#50 Family Hotel in Beijing
#75 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £42 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Beijing Courtyard Hotel has been built up base on 400 Years historic construction Si He Yuan, The said place was the former residence of famous Chinese artist Mr. Mei Lan Fang. 10 minutes walking distance from WangFuJing, the travel and commercial center of Beijing. The spacious guest rooms are sharing the beautiful inner and outer courtyard and patio with each other, and decorated by the antique furniture those are carved with dragon and phoenix, the symbol of Chinese ancient nobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing