We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful accommodation in Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Ranked #79 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation in Beijing”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The Cote Cour was lovely. We arrived at 4am to be welcomed through the red door into the courtyard and into our nicely decorated rooms and big comfy bed. The 5 course breakfast the next day was an unexpected delight served in the gorgeous breakfast room. The courtyard was a perfect place to sit and relax and watch the cat trying to catch the giant gold fish in the fishpond. The staff were extremely pleasant and bent over backwards to be helpful. I loved the Cote Cour and would stay there again next time I'm in Beijing.

Room Tip: There are only 16 rooms which are positioned around the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanpeterBairnsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    64
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
44
113
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I would like to thank all of the staff of Hotel Cote Cour for a wonderful stay at your gorgeous, boutique hutong hotel. Your hotel, the comfortable rooms and relaxing court yard was one of the highlights of my stay in Beijing and really gave me a totally different feel of the city.

I’d also like to thank you for your diligence in retrieving my lost luggage. The lost baggage really started my trip on a negative note, but waking in your hotel changed that immediately.

I look forward to recommending your hutong hotel to all of my friends and colleagues in HCMC, Vietnam.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saigongator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I came her first last August , and came back during my last trip to Beijing last week in April 2012. what to say= just perfect, so nice hotel, located in a traditionnal hutong , so quiet, everything is here, nice decoration, unique service, super nice breakfast (what about the breakfast room , so surprising and confortable) nice roof terrasse, The "in house" massage are perfect , after busy day in Beijing, and The staff is more than welcoming. I don't know what we can ask more ! home away from home. If you are looking for an hotel with pool, spa, gym facilities, international standard, don't come here! if your are looking for personnal service, cosy room, smiling staff, character hotel, then come !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

3 friends and I spent 5 nights at Hotel Cote Cour as part of our Beijing visit. We loved it and considered the location and experience a highlight of our time in China. The Yanyue Hutong location is a true Old Beijing neighborhood. The property itself is relatively new, but retains the courtyard character. The rooms are very authentic and comfortable, all opening to the courtyard. The service is great. Breakfast (included) is a wonderful way to start the day.

This is not a "typical" hotel. It is a boutique place for those who are willing to walk the hutong and want to experience the real flavor of China.

Even though we were in the middle of the city, the place was VERY quiet at night, and the comfort of the beds was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have now stayed at this lovely courtyard hotel 6 or 7 times and have had it recommended to a quite a few friends visiting China who loved it. It is full of character, the staff are wonderfully welcoming and accommodating and and it is placed smack in the middle of real-life China. What more can one ask?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qi Y, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Elena,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback here. We are really glad that you have enjoyed your time through staying with us. We appreciate the time you spent to share your experience with everyone. And we look forward to welcome you again!

Kindest regards,

Ye Qi
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights with family in two rooms. Took a suite and a double room for myself, my wife, two kids and my parents.

The hotel has some charm with regard to its narrow streets and decoration however as a comfortable retreat it lacked.

1. It is cold at night in April and the blow heaters provided only serve to dry the air, the skin and the nasal passage!

2. In the suite there was a bath that was ideal for the kids however there was not enough water pressure to fill it with warm water.

3. The towels were all new and soft and shed red cotton on everything. It was better to air dry.

4. The suite rooms look bigger on the Internet and for the four of us in one room was a squeeze with our kids sleeping on mattresses on the floor as they did not have enough beds.

5. The chef in the kitchen was very nice and did well but he was alone morning, noon and night and I think they could have afforded more staff to keep the service better. Their was no wait staff on hand.

6. Kitchen equipments was very poor and so food and coffee quality was certainly sacrificed as a result.

7. Wifi only at one part of hotel.

8. Very hard to get a taxi to this hotel. And to get one from the hotel. You need to walk a distance to find one. The hotel can provide you a car for airport transfers or tour trips but charge more than double the going rate.

9. Staff were very pleasant. It's the owners that I think should sacrifice some margin to improve this hotel.

10. This location would not work for people with mobility issues.

Great city, amazing land, lots to do and we will visit again but will stay at a better hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qi Y, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cote Cour Beijing, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear John,

Thank you for your detailed comments. We feel sorry that we could not meet your expectation during your stay with us. We constantly work on improving our services and renewing our physical facilities to guarantee an enjoyable and rewarding stay for our customers. And our mission is to achieve 100% customer satisfaction in every aspect of our services.

Please accept our apology regarding the heater and hot water problems. We have planned to provide humidifiers for our customers who want to keep their room more humid. The hot water pressure is really a problem for almost every historical courtyard house as the hot water in every guest room is provided by a single central water heater and Beijing’s cold temperature usually reduces the quality of hot water recirculation. The interconnecting water pipes were generally installed under the thick floor covering and it is technically difficult to install more water heater and piping for a courtyard house.

We have now replaced the red towels and inspected our food and coffee quality. We have also tested the wireless internet connection to ensure it works fine in every guest room. However, we did not expect to provide wait staff in the lounge because we want to provide our customers a more private and relaxing sitting and talking area without being watched by our staffs.

We charge CNY 150 for airport drop off service which is slightly higher comparing to hiring a taxi that usually costs CNY 110. And we charge CNY 300 for airport pick up service. It seems expensive though please understand that our drivers usually have to wait and stand for longer than two hours outside the arrival gate in the airport.

Many visitors including our customers found it is too hard to get a taxi in Beijing because Beijing is just too busy and crowded. Beijing has the second longest subway in the world and excellent public transportation but still not enough to meet local demand. This has also become a part of Beijing’s culture.

Sorry for the long reply and thank you once again for your comments. We are really glad that you have enjoyed your visit to Beijing. And we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you once again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Ye Qi
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This is the second I have stayed in this hotel with my family, the first time was about 3 years ago. Still a very nice place to stay, the staff still remember us...... Like going back to stay with old friends. Nice, friendly and clean, staff are alway helpful. Staff are very much willing to assist and recommend great places to eat. Very cozy. Great location. Will definitely go back to stay again and again and again. Just one small flaw, the shower is not that great, as it is common supply for hot water certain timing the water will not be hot at all, imagine when it is a cold day. The supply of the tolietries is just very basic.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea44sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#71 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#94 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#32 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#68 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cote Cour Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Property: Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Address: No.70 Yanyue Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cote Cour Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing is a neoclassical Chinese courtyard-style boutique hotel that is fully equipped with modern amenities. We are located in Yanyue Hutong within an historical protected hutong area of the city which used to serve as a rehearsal area for royal musicians during China’s dynastic period. We aim to provide you with a stress free and sustainable living environment, with dedicated staff and affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cote Cour Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing