We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pretty, But Very Inconvenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Ranked #75 of 6,491 Hotels in Beijing
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Pretty, But Very Inconvenient”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a mini vacation. The room was very large and comfortable and the property was very pretty. However, it was EXTREMELY difficult to get a taxi. You must take a 5-minute walk down the hutong (alley) to the main road and then it is catch-as-catch-can to get a taxi. One day we waited in the rain for nearly 45 minutes futilely trying to get a taxi. We finally gave up and walked to our destination. Also, the hotel indicates that it has small snacks available everyday. However, one evening after returning from a full day of site-seeing we attempted to order some dumplings and a bowl of noodles and were told this was not possible. We were not given a reason other than "no food tonight." As a result, we ended up eating some granola bars we had packed in our suitcases because we were too exhausted to try and get a taxi to go to dinner. Overall, the place is nice, but it is very inconvenient.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    65
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
45
116
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Really lovely hotel, it has a sense of peace just what is needed after a day sight seeing in the city. The staff were always very welcoming and friendly and keen to please. I was, however glad I had read the review which described the street as I feel I would have been a little off put had I not been expecting a rather shabby area. That said I never felt at all worried or unsafe walking back to the hotel at any point even late a night. I would certainly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret5510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We loved staying here. It was way better than expected. The hotel is in a great, traditional, local hutong (alleyway) that initially seems somewhat odd but quickly grows on you. The front gates are beautiful and draw you in to the hotel. The rooms are stunning and a great mix of modern and traditional, as is the breakfast room. The courtyard is stunning, although it was way to hot to sit out there for even a moment. The service was very good and the staff accommodated us always with a smile. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoexploretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

This fabulous hutong hotel was the absolute highlight of our trip to Beijing. We stayed here over Chinese New Year and Vanessa and the staff went out of their way to make sure that all of our needs were catered for. Whilst Beijing was freezing we returned from our adventures each day to a lovely freshly brewed coffee and the fabulous smiles of the staff. Our rooms were also lovely, very neat and clean and we slept like babies! ( except for the chinese new year firecrackers in the neighbourhood) If you are looking for a Hutong holiday I highly, highly recommend Hotel Cote Cour. We have lovely memories of Beijing thanks to Vanessa and co.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Hotel Cote Cour SL was a delightful experience for us on our first trip to Beijing in May 2009.. A boutique hotel, it is found in a hutong or old neighborhood of Beijing. Arriving late at night from the US I wondered if I had made a poor choice as we drove through the dark alley with people outside cooking and building materials crowding the way so it would barely accommodate the width of the car. We finallycam to tall red doors, dimly lit with a red lantern on each side. When the car stopped and we stepped out, a young man came out of the door to meet us and called us by name. From the minute we arrived, we were catered to by the caring staff.

On the flight over my camera lens malfunctioned and I wanted to get it repaired or buy a new one. One of the young men at the front desk gave us directions to an ‘IT’ store where I could buy a new one and as we were ready to leave he said he should come with us as he felt there would be a language barrier. And he was right

Each of the hotel’s 14 rooms and the common areas incorporate original art, contemporary as well as ancient, in the décor adding to the charm of the ancient building. The cozy lounge was the gathering place for reading and where the meals were served. Breakfast was a feast that included fresh fruits and juices, yogurt, granola, thin fresh herb omelets and tiny Chinese dumplings. One night my husband and I dined in and we had an intimate dinner served to us on the patio by their talented chef. A charming courtyard and rooftop deck for relaxing after a day of sightseeing completes the hotel.

I cannot imagine a better way to become gently acclimated on our first visit to China. We will return to Hotel Cote Cour SL again!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chichicastenango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2010

This charming boutique hotel is nestled in the old Hutong (Alley) of the capital city, it combines the old chinese tradition and the new world's modern amenities. We loved the elegant ambience of the hotel, it's tranquility (as it's deep in a hutong, it's very quiet inspite of being in the heart of bustling capital city), comfortable bed, and friendliness of the staff. Rooms are larger than the ones we used to in other boutique hotels, decorations are tastful ( chinese style but without the tanky red and gold colors). The court yard has a small pond with a Guiyin status, it suppposed to bring good fengshui. Because of the homy setting and staff's friendliness, we feel like at home. Very different from our experience in big modern hotels. We are also pleasantly surprised that it offers free wireless access so we can get in touch with our family while on the road. The rooftop of the hotel offers a great view of the surrounding neighborhood, it was a bit chilly in late September, but we certainly enjoyed sipping tea on the rooftop.

As it's hidden in a Hutong, this hotel is not the easiest to find, but walking down the alley where normal Beijiingers live and work itself is an interesting experience (if you are adventurous enough, try get a hair cut at a nearby shop for just 10 Yuan).

Overall, this is a wonderful boutique hotel which offers a true Beijing experience, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petitepluie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2010

This incredibly charming hotel gives you a very local feel but still keeps modern comforts at hand. It is definitely not a cookie cutter hotel chain but we still felt pampered.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexanderdodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#77 of 6,491 in Beijing
257 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,291 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#97 of 6,491 in Beijing
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#37 of 6,491 in Beijing
490 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#71 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cote Cour Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cote Cour Beijing

Property: Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Address: No.70 Yanyue Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 6,491 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cote Cour Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing is a neoclassical Chinese courtyard-style boutique hotel that is fully equipped with modern amenities. We are located in Yanyue Hutong within an historical protected hutong area of the city which used to serve as a rehearsal area for royal musicians during China’s dynastic period. We aim to provide you with a stress free and sustainable living environment, with dedicated staff and affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cote Cour Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing