We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Joy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King's Joy Hotel
Ranked #165 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great staff and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was the meeting point for a group tour of China and we stayed there for two nights. We were really pleased with our stay as we were in a good central location, very close to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City as well as near the trains.
The staff were great and gave us directions to the nearest supermarket, which was about a twenty minute walk away.
We had a room on the top floor, which the staff warned us could be noisy because it was near the bar, however the noise levels were fine. The bar itself is great and has a fantastic view overlooking Beijing. There was also a nice reading area.
Overall it was a great stay and we'd recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Higher floors are apparently noisier as they are near the bar but we had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    129
    96
    19
    14
See reviews for
20
64
59
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

In China there are two rules that you need to live by.
1. Stay at the places that cater to westerners.
2. What you get is generally what you pay for.

If you are looking for a five star place, this isn't it. However, it's pretty good and for a hostel, very affordable in an excellent location. I always stay here when I come to BJ and have never run across any problems. The staff although distant are still polite and helpful. The rooms are usually quite clean and the same goes for the bathrooms.
They do have wifi but you have to go up to the top floor and when I was there last time it wasn't turned on until the bartender opened the cafe. A downfall for those of us who need something to do during our jet-lag period.
The location is perfect and a great jump-off point for day trips.
If you're looking for a hostel, this is a great bet for a few days when you're in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We recently stayed at the King's Joy and considering the money we paid, I would recommend it so long as people aren't expective The Hilton. The checkin procedure was quick and we were able to make good use of the free luggage storage upon checkout. The hotel is a ten minute walk from Tiananmen Square with restaurants and shops in the very near vicinity. The beds were comfortable although, they were not always made by housekeeping (some days they were, some not), but this was fine. The bathrooms would benefit from being cleaner (and probably updated) but it wasn't a huge problem. The bar on the top floor provided good views of the city and the prices, whilst more expensive than elsewhere, were reasonable for a hotel in a city centre. The Western food on offer was also decent.

There is free wifi in the bar and in the foyer and a security guard on watch during the evening. At night the hotel was quiet and our room was well air conditioned.

The staff on reception were not particularly friendly, but they weren't rude either. My only complaint would be that when we checked out of the hotel and asked them to order a taxi they shooed us out. I was left to believe they'd call us a taxi and we should wait out front, but this was not the case. Having waiting outside for ten minutes we realised that we were supposed to flag down our own taxi, which is nigh on impossible in Beijing. Fortunately, the young lady in the Business Centre who books the tours was on hand and she arranged a private transfer even though it was very last minute. We were very grateful to her as the ride to the airport was stress-free.

In the business centre it's possible to book tours and trips. We booked the Great Wall through them and we couldn't fault either the actual booking or the trip itself.

Over all, I think this hotel is perfect for backpackers, those on a budget or those who only need a bed to crash in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jedi_soo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The staff speaks English! They were very helpful during my check in, I had no problems at all. I am staying in a standard twin room, its small but more than enough for me. The room smells a little smokey but the room, bedding and bathroom is clean. There is also a kettle to boil water. The bed is super comfortable for me, after sleeping on many very hard mattresses here on China.

All in all, I am very happy...my only minor gripe is that noises in the hallway are very loud and distracting when you need to sleep.

Its very close to a lot of small markets, shops and restaurants, really nice to be close to all the touristy stuff and the metro subway.

Helpful?
Thank ailemama
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The hotel is in a great location, 10 minute walk from Tiananmen Square and Qianmen Metro Station on Line 2. There were shops and restaurants nearby - the restaurant next door was really good.

The rooms were basic but having spent 2 weeks in China, they were a lot cleaner and better appointed than other places we have stayed. We stayed in 2 rooms and one room was better than the other, particularly in terms of the condition of the bathroom.

The staff were extremely unhappy. Despite our smiles and attempts of hello in very poor Mandarin, there were rarely smiles back. In the upstairs bar, staff were often asleep on the sofas in the morning and a bit reluctant to serve us. The reception staff were equally as unhappy in their job, except one lady who I think was called Jenny who was extremely helpful.

There is a buffet breakfast downstairs, and again the staff were miserable and not very helpful. We ate once at the buffet and were there as it was opening so there was lots of choice. Later in the morning, it looks quite depleted and unappetising. The bar upstairs cooks to order though so no real problem.

There is wifi in the upstairs bar which worked well for us.

We got a better rate by booking online through hostelworld.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bean1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

In Australia I wouldn't like this hotel, but for China this wasn't too bad. Small room, kind of dirty shower but an awesome location. As Beijing is so big I would probably try another area if I returned but if you need to stay near Forbidden City and need cheap accommodation I would pick this.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I've stayed at King's Joy in May 2013, with two girlfriends. We've paid 540 rmb for two nights (about 10 euro per night per person) for a room with two berth. The room is not big, but reasonably clean and comfortble. It has free towels on demand and free wi fi on the rooftop bar. You can use one of the two computers close the reception for some coins too. The staff in the reception speaks basic english. There's a restaurant where you can have breakfast for 25 rmb (around 3 €). It has chinese food but some bread, toasts, boiled eggs, fruit and juices too... I think it isn't worth the price: you can eat on the streets for much lower price. The "must" on this hotel is, in my opinion, the location: you're 10 minutes away (walking) from Quianmen subway Station, 12 from Tian'anmen Square and 20 from the Forbidden Citty, and in the very close surrondings of the hotel you have lots of nice chinese restaurants, shops, supermarkets and, the best, you have the living hutong. You can't miss a walk around it in early night, it's such an experience!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aishe_Sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#133 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#131 of 6,442 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#116 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#46 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Houhai
CU National Youth Hostel
CU National Youth Hostel
#128 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Chongwenmen
Splendid Zhuang Hotel
Splendid Zhuang Hotel
#828 of 6,442 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Joy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Joy Hotel

Property: King's Joy Hotel
Address: No.81 Meishi Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100051, China
Region: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Joy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your King's Joy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kings Joy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing