We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel - highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Wanda Beijing
Ranked #45 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel for 6 nights at the start of our 3 1/2 week trip to China. The Sofitel is a gorgeous hotel - very modern with all amenities on-site. The hotel is slightly out of the centre of Beijing but is in the CBD/Financial area. This was a little disappointing but everywhere in Beijing is so far away from everything else (the city is HUGE!) that you end up using taxis/metro anyway so it wasn't a problem for us.

The rooms were spacious (actually nicer than the Mandarin Oriental hotel we stayed in when we visited Tokyo, we have reviewed that too) with large beds, spacious bathrooms and everything you could need (safe, mini-bar, hair dryer etc). The gym and pool were lovely and rarely busy and the restaurant where we ate breakfast had a great spread with lots of Chinese and Continental breakfasts. There are also a few restaurants on-site as well as lovely bars, a hair dresser etc.

The room was a good rate at approx. £ 90 per room including breakfast - for this sort of price, the quality was fantastic.

The hotel also helped us with tours that we booked through them to the wall and with taxis as our language skills were limited. The staff were very attentive and helpful.

We would certainly stay at the Sofitel again and I would recommend this to travellers as a great hotel to stay in - it's luxury at an affordable price compared to the UK.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leicester_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

819 - 825 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2009

I stayed here for one night on 20 September 2009, room rate CNY585 + CNY 87.75 taxes, total CNY672.75 (about US$98).

I reached the Hotel early in the morning at about 6am. The Hotel staff give us a early check-in immediately.

After checking-in, I had a great breakfast at VIC restaurant, all-you-can-eat buffet from 6am-10.30am.

(Line 1) Dawanglu (大望路) Station is within walking distance.

There is a cinema beside Sofitel Wanda Beijing, and a Wal-Mart one building away.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip-sharing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Stayed here based on a friend's TripAdvisor review and it was perfect for what we needed. We were in town for just one night on our way back home, and wanted a hotel that was uber-comfortable and quiet. While I prefer less expensive local hotels for exploring Beijing itself, the Sofitel served as the oasis I was looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Compared to other well-known brands, Sofitel sometimes underperforms but not the Sofitel Beijing. Reserve a junior suite directly via the hotel for the price of a standard room at other major chainsin Beijing. My junior suite in this relatively new hotel was a spacious two room combination with large and well-equipped bathroom area. Both rooms were well-equipped with the exception of no ipod docking station or radio. The air conditioning also ran louder than necessary. No white wine in the mini bar. Small issues, however, relative to the value delivered.

The food served in the restaurants (there are five or six options all well-designed and conveniently clustered in an arcade on the sixth floor) is not quite as good as you would expect from a leading Accor hotel. The daily buffet in the cafe is varied but nowhere near the quality of, say, the Shangri La in Shanghai. The seating and overall ambience in thehaute cuisine restaurant is extremely comfortable and the service excellent but the food somewhat disappointing, relative to the prices. Wines are especially expensive in this restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spencerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

this is not the grandest hotel in China but they are trying hard. From business center to the KTV. You will get lost meandering around the corridors in the KTV. The breakfast and lunch spreads in the restuarant is good and lots of variety. Of course I have no complaints against the room

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AXA-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

If you can, try to book hotel transfer from the airport. You will be met by a representative at the gate and will be accompanied til you get to the car.
2 setbacks:
1. There's no bidet in the toilet
2. There are roadworks in on the road fronting the hotel making parking difficult

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pale_pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We got a great rate at this hotel with easyclicktravel, and I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Beijing.

The hotel was very luxurious, and the staff we encountered within the hotel were all courteous, and accommodating. The young man at the front door assisted us with taxis throughout out stay, including helping to negotiate a price for a driver for our day trip to The Great Wall.

The rooms were very nice. We only had the most standard room booked, but this was large, with free internet included, in the way of free wi-fi, or an internet cable to plug into your laptop.

The beds were of an incredibly high standard, extremely comfortable, and although due to the comfort of the pillows in the room, the pillow menu wasn't required, it was a nice touch in case you have any specific requirements.

The curtains kept the room totally black, even when daylight broke, and any other request we made was met with a prompt response, like a phone charger being brought to our room, as one of our party had forgotten to pack his.

It is in a good location, within the financial district. Plenty of places to eat in the local vicinity. Not really any nightlife, but this is no issue whatsoever, as taxis are very easy to come by, and cost virtually nothing. The underground station is also a short walk away, which is very easy and cheap to use. It is the best way of getting around Beijing, due to the traffic, and the distances involved.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuperObe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#13 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,472 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#10 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Grand Millennium Beijing
Grand Millennium Beijing
#34 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,239 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,516 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Wanda Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Wanda Beijing

Address: Tower C Wanda Plaza-No.93 Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#32 Business Hotel in Beijing
#34 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#40 Family Hotel in Beijing
#42 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#108 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £106 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Wanda Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A glamorous Beijing CBD hotel Sofitel Wanda Beijing accommodates guests in fabulous style in the heart of the central business district. The luxury hotel is located only 30 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport via expressway.Choose from 417 designer rooms and suites blending contemporary French elegance and Chinese inspiration. Modern design and indulgences treat guests to memorable stays.Dine on haute cuisine in French Chinese Japanese and international restaurants. Luxuriate in the stunning lobby lounge. Discover serenity in the spa and energy in the swimming pool and fitness centre.Sofitel Wanda Beijing is a favourite 5-star Beijing hotel for events - from weddings to meetings conferences and other special occasions. An extravagant ballroom and 10 meeting rooms host memorable moments with a Sofitel touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Wanda Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Beijing Hotel Beijing
Accor Wanda Beijing
Sofitel Beijing
Beijing Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing