We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable room, great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Wanda Beijing
Ranked #43 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very comfortable room, great amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

The room was very modern, clean and had everything in it you would need--tea pot, robe, slippers and nice toiletries. You could do everything, like closing the drapes and curtains, with the push of a button, which was very convenient. In the bathroom the shower and the toilet were in separate rooms, which was very nice. There was a tv above one end of the bathtub. There was a large selection at breakfast. I found the staff in the hotel very welcoming. The area around the hotel is very busy and commercial, but the room was very quiet. It was fun having a Wal-Mart so close to the hotel to be able to see all the local products.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiaOra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    467
    116
    37
    40
See reviews for
119
256
91
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
399 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

I took my 17 year old son with me for a trip to Beijing and had the pleasure to stay at the Sofitel Hotel in Beijing.
From arrival to departure, it was a great experience. The staff was helpful and almost overly friendly and helpful. Their recommendation for dining was always top notch.
Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

Our trip to Beijing was just after new year's. The hotel was deserted and really good value for money. The room was 75USD, and thanks to our A-Club Gold status we were upgraded to a 70 sqm suite! Needless to say this was spotless, and very... very comfortable.

The staff was also very helpfull with good advices on how to proceed to the airport (it had snowed about 30cm during the night, and it was full chaos everywhere).

The location itself is ok, close to the subway, but there are hotels much better located if you're here to visit the forbidden city (Kapok hotel amongst other). However, taxis are also cheap, so thie wan't too much worry for us.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbond_ppk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

Great location. Right next to a shopping centre and supermarket.

Service not that great when check in and when checkout, i was charged HK$ instead of my navie SGD$. need to redo the invoice again. Service at the resturant(ViC) is also not that good. Ask for English Breakfast tea, and bring me Chinese Tea. More attentive to caucasian rather than Asian
Room is very clean and spacious and the bed is comfortable. one little drawback is the air con control is not working thaService is not so good, Reception didnt smile at all ont well in my room .
In general ,all aspect of the hotel is 5 start except the services

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

I'm more of a B&B fan, finding large, international hotels to be generally impersonal and not at all reflective of the actual country in which they are located. All this can be said of the Sofitel Wanda. But I'd be lying if I said I didn't enjoy it. The room was large and magnificently appointed, the washroom clean with separate shower and tub (the latter with it's own TV), the bed and pillows wonderfully comfortable. The buffets for breakfast and dinner were the most extensive and delicious I have ever seen. The staff were friendly and helpful, even though the place was swarming with security and secret service as the President of France and his wife were staying there as well. There are good restaurants in the surrounding streets. The metro is 5 minutes walk and the Silk Market is 20 minutes walk. You can also bargain on price, getting bed and breakfast for under $160. One couple told me they were paying $120 per night. On the other hand, after a few nights, I was glad to get to a small courtyard hotel in the hutongs (Michael's House) that I found more relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VonWoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

My passion are Sunday Brunches in Beijing, there are many choices and I have been to the most popular ones, but somehow I always return to the Sofitel Sunday Brunch. The selection is not outrageously big, where you go crazy and end up with a stomach ache and dull taste buds, it is just perfect, right number of choices to make for a rewarding gourmand experience. The seafood and meats selection is ample, but I have to say that I am partial to the cheese and the desserts. The cheese table offers over 10 kinds of cheeses, mouthwatering selection that is in itself enough to for a blissfully dining experience. The desserts look beautiful, so delicate and pretty that you are scared to put them in your mouth, but the crushing of their beauty is so worth it, they yield such sweet pleasure that can only be tempered by the lovely Perrier-jouet champagne. If you are less inclined to overindulge and forget yourself like yours truly, than you can hit the salad bar with all the deliciously fresh seasonal vegetables. The service is competent and the atmosphere french chic. Best way to spend a lazy Sunday.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkbubbles93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Visited the Sofitel on Sunday for their Sunday brunch. There are many hotel here in beijing that offer such a smorgasboard. My arrival started off as per say normal the greeting the smiles, we were led to our table and told that we had to wait till the buffet was ready and that some one would come over and serve us beverages, Fair enough. So we sat and sat and sat..no one came near. Staff husltling and bustling all over..trying to get organized..finally after 15 minutes of sitting a bread basket arrived on the table, but still no one for the so called beverage service. Well as usual after a long wait I decided to ask my self for something. While sitting there drinking my glass of champagne I watched the service staff fixing there hair, funny enough it was so funny to watch a service staff pick up a knife and look at her hair to make sure it was all in its place was a highlight of my afternoon. Once we went to the buffet the selection was looking fair enough, so after gathering my seafood, and my other foods i went back to enjoy the feast, so i thought. Once I started to eat the seafood i found it to be dry, and old, the lobster wasnt clean from the roe, and also dry, the lobster claws were shriveld and also dry. The cheese display had green mold growing right on the cheese in plain sight and no one say it. the staff seemed not to care and often to none the conversations were more with each other than the customers. The open kitchen allows you to see every action of the cooks, and they went on there merry way to do what evere they seemed fit. The ala carte section was nice looking untill you ordered something then it appears in less than 30 seconds, already pre cooked on a plate 2 times its size with no sauce , or garnish. The staff are constantly from what i observed on their cell phones, as when i tried to get a dessert I had to wait till the lady cook was done with her message. The management doesn't seem to take notice or care for the staffs actions, as so was the case and even more so as i could from my seat see the staff members shuking the oysters eating them in plain sight of the guest.There is no smiles of warm service form the staff towards the customers, a tall man in a suit walks around taking plates off the table with out uttering a word. The foriegner chef follows around another man in a suit, not watching or looking after the food that represents his outlet. I would have to say it was one of the worst experinces in a sunday brunch i have yet to encounter here in the city of Beijing. Also when you leave the hotel, dont think you will get a fond farewell or a smile the door men seem to be bothered if you ask them to get a taxi as was ours , and while waiting 4 other staff just stood in front of the hotel talking and not having a care in the world for the customers standing .

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#17 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Guomao
Grand Millennium Beijing
Grand Millennium Beijing
#25 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#14 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Wanda Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Wanda Beijing

Property: Sofitel Wanda Beijing
Address: Tower C Wanda Plaza-No.93 Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#33 Business Hotel in Beijing
#34 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#40 Family Hotel in Beijing
#41 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#135 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Wanda Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A glamorous Beijing CBD hotel Sofitel Wanda Beijing accommodates guests in fabulous style in the heart of the central business district. The luxury hotel is located only 30 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport via expressway.Choose from 417 designer rooms and suites blending contemporary French elegance and Chinese inspiration. Modern design and indulgences treat guests to memorable stays.Dine on haute cuisine in French Chinese Japanese and international restaurants. Luxuriate in the stunning lobby lounge. Discover serenity in the spa and energy in the swimming pool and fitness centre.Sofitel Wanda Beijing is a favourite 5-star Beijing hotel for events - from weddings to meetings conferences and other special occasions. An extravagant ballroom and 10 meeting rooms host memorable moments with a Sofitel touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Wanda Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Wanda Beijing Hotel Beijing
Accor Wanda Beijing
Sofitel Beijing
Beijing Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing