We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Staff and Smelly Nasty Room!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beijing Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Beijing Hotel
Ranked #200 of 6,437 Hotels in Beijing
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude Staff and Smelly Nasty Room!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is very pretty in the lobby and resturants, but the actual rooms are filthy! The bathroom smelled like a septic tank! I had to keep the door to it closed and a towel placed under it to try to keep the odor from infiltrating the room. The carpet was sticky from years of not being cleaned. The staff is rude and impatient. Just awful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    568
    182
    49
    28
See reviews for
45
52
29
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Definitely recommendation. Spent 3 nights this summer and the location shines. Booked online at a fair price compared to its standard. Staff is nice and we booked train tickets via the hotel to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yingxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
509 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Ok, the location is quite great, and that is why I chose the hotel. The price seemed reasonable (150 USD), but it was not a great experience. The staff is quite bad. Upon check-in, at 13:00 they told me I'd have to wait two hours unless I wanted a smoking room. I said NO. They gave me a room that without a warning had 2 beds instead of the queen bed I had requested. The heating did not work. They told me it was the same everywhere in Beijing and that central heating was off for energy conservation, but it is not true. They just conserved their own energy. Going out at night, no taxis. The doorman was indoors playing on his phone and when I said "taxi" he waived his hand at me and ignored me. The check out process was long, but at least the staff called a taxi for me. Other than that, it is a nice old hotel in the gradiose communist style, but a little neglected. Carpet throughout the floors including the rooms and in bad condition.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnFoster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed about this Hotel. This is the dirtiest hotel Ive ever been. The bathroom is unbelievable dirty. The cigaret smell, even in the no smoking floor, is terrible. The bedroom is also very dirty... Everything is dirty. And the service also is terrible. Its very difficult to communicate with the hotel employees, because most part of then do not speak english. The one that speaks, speak a very bad English. I would never recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Luiz Gustavo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel location is great, The room was not good, very old, lack of maintenance, the bathroom was very ugly and the a/c wasn't working properly.
Internet is only wired, be prepared for that.
If I need to stay there again i will be sure to be placed in the building A, which is the newest, perhaps the rooms are better there.
The location is unbeatable, just one block to forbidden city and you have the subway in front the hotel.

Room Tip: If I need to stay there again i will be sure to be placed in the building A, which is the newest, pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Centrally located and close to major attractions, such as the Temple of Heaven, Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, this hotel also is the site where the iconic photo of the lone man standing in front of tanks in the street during the 1989 protests was taken. Despite these attributes, the hotel really needs an upgrade. The furnishings and carpet are sad and worn, and my room did not look nearly as bright and attractive as the professional pictures in the website. The linens and shower were clean. It also needs some technology upgrades (Wi-Fi). There were so many things plugged in to the outlets that I blew a fuse every time I used a small appliance (hair dryer). The downstairs restaurant offers a good breakfast buffet (especially for the western traveler), but prices are high. ATM machines are conveniently located in the lobby.

Room Tip: I had no view on the backside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarfAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed for about 2 weeks with 2 small kids. We book a standard room and was pleased to find out 2 (almost) queen size beds (one for us and one for the kids).
Also the room faced the very main street of Beijing the double glass did the work and haven't heard the street noise at all.
The service of the staff was kind, and the breakfast was OK

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hotel Beijing
Grand Hotel Beijing
#89 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#34 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#28 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#63 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Hotel

Property: Beijing Hotel
Address: No.33 East Chang'an Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 6,437 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Hotel situated near the Forbidden City, on main shopping street of Wang Fu Jing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Beijing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing