We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More hostel than hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn)
Ranked #2,803 of 6,448 Hotels in Beijing
Warrington,England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“More hostel than hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Hotel was more like a hostel , small rooms (there were a lot of rooms with no windows) , with no wardrobes or closet area. Bathroom was good size and everything worked well and rooms were cleaned everyday. Computer and TV in room, wi-fi worked well. Beds usual hardness for China. Staff were helpful but gave the impression that they wouldn't go the extra mile if you needed them to, just a point in the right direction and no more. Nicely positioned in the Hutongs ,less than 10 mins walk from the subway and just behind the bell and drum towers. Only a short walk from Houhai bar street.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dwl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    55
    39
    21
    17
See reviews for
21
39
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

1) Room on the 1st floor, wet and bad smell;
2) outside the window, a wall, no sun light and wind;
3) ultra-small room and bathroom. The shower is very close to the toilet, bath is inconvenient;
4) the first day, required to pay off all room rate, but not immediately invoicing;
5) a little child nosebleed Bedsheets, they insisted that can not be washed off, forcing us to pay compensation for the full price of the so-called pricing;
6) bad attitude;
The worst hotel we have ever stayed.

1)房间在1楼,潮湿有异味;
2)窗户外半米是另一房屋的墙,通风和采光差;
3)房间超小,卫生间超小,且淋浴与马桶非常近,洗澡很不方便;
4)第一天,就要求付掉所有2天的房费,但却不马上开发票;
5)一点小孩鼻血在床单被套上,说不能洗掉,强迫按所谓定价全价赔偿300元;
6)态度恶劣;
基本算得上是至今住过的,最差酒店。

Room Tip: Find 3 star hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hadvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Though the "ad" on here says "Hutong Inn Zaoyuanju Hotel has a restaurant on site. 24-hour room service is available." There isnt one. Breakfast is supplied but there is no room service nor evening meal facilities, A cheap and good meal can be had a few minutes walk away at the Youth Hostel.
Also as is common, it is a walk up, so think about heaving your luggage up three flights of stairs.
Very centrally located. but no taxi will come down the Hutong,no matter what you are promised or book. so you have to take luggage to end of the lane and hopefully flag down a taxi on way to airport, leave plenty of time for that.
Always take printout of your booking, and only hand over photocopies of your passport.
They sighted the original but were happy with the photocopy

Room Tip: Always book window room, third floor best but you have to carry your own luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The hotel is located in a small, not very wellknown street. The staff is relatively helpful.
You can arrive at any time and get your room which is great. There are different kind of rooms, for those with bathroom, there are different size so do not hesitate to check.
Comfort is fine.
Breakfast is very basic, so you might prefer enjoy the nearby possibilities.
Location is great as it is in the middle of a hutong, very lively, and very close to temples and plenty of restaurants. Metro is a 10 min walk.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights in October. The hotel is a little difficult to find because it was down a small alley in the old hutong area. My boyfriend and I took the subway from the airport to the nearest station (Guloudajie on line 2) and walked the few blocks to the Hutong Inn (about 10 minutes from the station to the hotel). The neighborhood wasn't bad; just older and more suited for locals than tourists, although there was a hostel and another hotel just across the street. It was fairly convenient due to the proximity to the subway, although there is a lot of traffic (cars, bicycles, mopeds, and people). There were several restaurants and convenience stores and an ATM within a few blocks. I recommend the Korean restaurant on Jiugulou Street just north of the hotel.

The hotel itself is VERY basic. I didn't have any issues with my passport; they took them when I checked in, made a photocopy, and handed it right back. They did ask for a cash deposit so be prepared for that. We reserved a prepaid room online with a double bed and got what we requested. The room was one of the smallest I have ever been in; we barely had room to put our luggage on the floor and still be able to walk around one side of the bed; the other side was pushed up against the wall. Our room had one window that opened to the inside corridor which was not good; it was noisy and we could hear people going by and smell people smoking in the hallway so we kept it closed. The bathroom was also very small and interesting. It had no separate shower, just a handheld shower head up on the wall in the corner so you had to be careful not to get the whole bathroom wet when you showered, and afterwards the floor was wet for hours. Bring slippers or sandals!! There was almost no water pressure so washing my hair was especially difficult; the water didn't really spray out, it sort of dribbled.

Overall I guess it was worth the $31/night that we paid for it, but if you can afford more, I would suggest going elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonoma03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Be very careful if you stay in this hotel! I stayed at the Hutong Inn October 2011. When I checked in I was asked for my passport for photocopying. No problem, however, the assistant manager then said he would bring them to my room later. He came to the room but did not hand over my passport but said he would keep in the hotel reception safe. I thought fair enough as the rooms have no safe. However you are meant to keep your passport for I.D. at all times when out and about. I asked for my passport 4 days later and was told by the assistant manager he handed it back to me when I arrived! And that was that! I was delayed in Beijing for a week having to get emergency passports & visa's. Cost me an extra £2,000 inc new flights, accom etc. Beijing is an interesting place but I would avoid this hotel like the plague! Lesson: never let your passport out of your sight! Wish I had read reviews on here before I booked. This hotel has a reputation for dishonesty. The Owner needs to sack the staff off rapid!

Room Tip: Just dont choose this hotel!!!! Try the Travellers Inn dongcheng district. Reasonable cost and frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbie99m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

reserved a triple room but they gave us double bunk bed instead because according to them it;s booked. the room smells bad and it is in a bad area. we changed hotel the next day. This hotel is below 1 star and is meant for those that are back packers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixGeisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ping An Fu Hotel
Ping An Fu Hotel
#2,747 of 6,448 in Beijing
80 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#167 of 6,448 in Beijing
95 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#168 of 6,448 in Beijing
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
CU National Youth Hostel
CU National Youth Hostel
#132 of 6,448 in Beijing
224 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#21 of 6,448 in Beijing
471 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn)

Property: Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn)
Address: No.17 Zhangwang Alley, Jiugulou Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,803 of 6,448 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn) 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Chinese Traditional Bed and Breakfast in Beijing Hutong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn) Hotel Beijing
Zaoyuanju Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing