We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not anymore.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn)
Ranked #2,814 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location but not anymore.”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Traveling from Korea we notice many Americans and other "laowai" from different countries use this hotel,main reason because it is a unexpensive place to stay a few nights. While in beijing me and my friends stayed here 14 nights. We liked the location but not anymore than the location. The staff did not speak korean ,obviously, but did speak decent English. We were greeted by Ethel,or her chinese name, 翟珊, was helpful first but during our check out she made our time very difficult, saying we made phone calls to Korea and our deposit is now their money because of the phone calls, they told us 497 RMB of phone calls to Korea. We paid extra 50 rmb after the manager,or so they call him a manager, talked to us nervously.we did not make the phone calls! They know it and we know it,this is why they were very nervous. The Ethel girl previously mentioned was brought up in a conversation I had with another hotel guest, they told me this girl overcharged them and lied to them. They also told me, judging by her looks and her obsession with cartoons(the hotel guest had conversation with her) she was as dishonest as her manager among other bad things. She was also very incompetent in helping with anything, like her manager, and also this same girl Ethel, asking this rather strange, asked me if i have a girlfriend. Why would she want to know that? The hotel desk clerk? Why? I am yet to find out and I did not reply her strange question.
The hotel does have free wifi almost in all places, but with frequent interruption of your service.

Overall, myself and 2 friends agree... Good location...but that is all. If you can deal with strange clerks like the Ethel girl and dishonesty. I won't come back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Geng B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    55
    40
    21
    17
See reviews for
21
40
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We loved this hotel. It is in a great location - close to major tourist sites, easy access to the Metro, and it was great fun to be in a hutong. There are many good restaurants nearby on the main street around the corner. It is clean and basic. The photo of the rooms they post are accurate. The staff was very helpful, usually friendly, but often just very business-like. They have a modest buffet for a Western style breakfast that includes eggs (you cook your own on a small hotplate), toast, juice, fruit, tomatoes, lettuce, cucumbers, coffee, and tea.

We recommend it highly. However, for people who like the comforts of a 5 star hotel, this is not the place. But, if you really want to get insight into China, it's people, and neighborhoods, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlames82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, got a room in basement(?) brick wall otuside our window- but made me actually happy because I didn't have to be worried about getting robbed in this neighbourhood. Rooms were ok, cleaned very day, bit dumpy and stinky in the air, bathroom could be renewed, couldn't flush toilet paper in the toilet and had to wait after every shower around 20min for the water to get down the drain, as well as had to wait for water and 30min wasn't enough. Breakfast was ok, some veggies and tosts, old coffe. Wi-FI was working fine. Staff had problems with english but it didn;t make too big problems for us. Restaurant was nice, had the peking roasted duck, but maybe read about it in the guide before you order so you don't get suprised. The best thing was the location- close to metro station and many restaurants- dont' expect english menus though.

Room Tip: Don't order trips with them, are overpriced, better go to another side of street where is youth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ola182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed in this hutong inn for 5 nights. It has great location. The room was basic but clean. the stuff was friendly eventhough they had troubles speaking english. the breakfast was basic, with tea and fruit included.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yakutsdk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The room is small and always stinky.
There's no window in the room .
The sheets are dirty and first day we didn't have towels until 6 pm.
They have wi fi in rooms but that's just the name. Wifi doesn't work properly.
Workers speak English but can discuss you in front of you in Chinese.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Loved our stay here. Booked the rooms through ctrips.com. The taxi driver had trouble finding the location initially but was able to locate it after a call to the front desk. A 200RMB deposit is required.
The room is small, showing age, but totally functional, especially for the price paid. The shower was hot, basic toiletries are provided, slippers and robes included.
The best part of Hutong Inn is its location. It's tucked inside Beijing's charming hutongs, filled with warm, friendly locals with great stories to tell, many have been here for generations, even though the demographics in Beijing, like other large cities are changing constantly (A local told us roughly 7 out of 10 people in Beijing are now from elsewhere).
Hutong inn is conviently located by the Gulou station, within walking distance train ticket purchasing station, as well as tourist attractions such as the drum tower, bell tower, houhai, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legnica, Poland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed in Hutong Inn only one night. Luckily for me! The room was very small with unpleasent smell inside. Bathroom was small as well and not so clean as it should be. The hotel staff was rather helpful and speaking English. The bigest advantage of the hotel is its location, not so far from the subway - approx. 5 min and some other touristic points like Drum Tower. There are also a lot of restaurants offering various cuisine in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#174 of 6,474 in Beijing
98 reviews
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#185 of 6,474 in Beijing
100 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Beijing Z S Hotel
Beijing Z S Hotel
#3,488 of 6,474 in Beijing
18 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#29 of 6,474 in Beijing
485 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#183 of 6,474 in Beijing
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn)

Property: Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn)
Address: No.17 Zhangwang Alley, Jiugulou Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,814 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn) 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Chinese Traditional Bed and Breakfast in Beijing Hutong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn) Hotel Beijing
Zaoyuanju Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing