We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Ranked #135 of 6,427 Hotels in Beijing
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
414 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is in the center of town, near the main mall and subway station. The area around the hotel was very well lit up with light. The check in process was easy and the staff spoke great English. They had maps in English that had Chinese as well, to help with asking questions. The beds were rock hard and small. The pillows were flat and towels were little. The room worked because it was a place to sleep while touring all day. The breakfast was included in the cost of the room and was quite nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    386
    185
    37
    26
See reviews for
125
230
117
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed here a few years ago, and the location is fantastic.

Taxi drivers will find it difficult to find the hotel itself, best to have it in chinese and english and some reference points.

In the side streets on the way to forbidden city, there were some street stalls which were clean, and the dumplings that we tried were delicious... Im pretty careful with street food, but these were tasty and clean.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuzhou, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here in July during a summer vacation visit to Beijing.

The hotel is very near the Forbidden city so it is VERY CROWDED in this part of town. Oversized busses, gaggleing tour groups and arguing families up to my armpits!

The hotel was an easy walk from Wangfujing subway station but Tiananmen East would have been just as close. The sign isn't obvious but I found it soon enough. A taxi would have know it was there I guess.

Checkin was the usual inefficient routine... got your passport... answer a question from someone else... answer the phone... talk to another person... pick up my passport... put it down... go back to the earlier customer waiting to check out... chaotic! For the price, I have to say I was a bit disappointed with my room... it was a 'basement' room, which meant windows up at the ceiling level, but I guess I should be grateful for even that. There is a restaurant but why eat there when there are plenty of better options nearby and their staff seemed more welcoming anyway.

Nothing really bad, but I guess I was just hoping for more. The room was clean enough... renovated in living memory. I guess the buildings themselves were relatively new for this ancient part of town. Bottled water was supplied as was tea and instant coffee sachets. Towels and bed lined a bit shabby and the room a bit damp in a hot an steamy Beijing Summer. Bed is the usual hard board type quite typical for China.

Overall, it was a room with a roof and four walls but little more. Perhaps the chain owners need to visit these properties more frequently.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed for 1 week (6 nights) in this hotel.

We did some research and opted this hotel mainly because of it's strategic location which is just in between Wangfujing street (for all the shopping, food, snacks) and Tian'anmen Square which has various museums and the forbidden city.

There are also 2 subway stations 1 in Wangfujing and Tian'anmen respectively + a bus stop in front of the hotel so it is quite convenient.

Rooms were clean and well air conditioned. The room space however was not that huge but good enough for us.

They have 2 type of rooms, normal and economical with the latter being located on the ground floor and has an obstructed window (only half) thus do always opt for the normal/deluxe room which is located on higher floors (the hotel has only 3 floors).

Room Tip: Opt for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

I agree with all the other reviews written here. Hotel is dated but staff is good and breakfast buffet better than most. You can't beat the location! Ask for a room on the third floor of building 1 and make sure the AC works if you are there in summer or early fall.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank NSmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed for the first four nights of our three week holiday. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is a standard days inn really. The rooms are very small and there is hardly any storage space but they were clean and well air conditioned. The location is superb. Five mins to Tienanmen square and the forbidden city. Staff were helpful and polite. Breakfast had a good range of western and Chinese options and was kept well stocked.
Overall nothing amazing but does exactly what it says on the tin. Would recommend as a mid range option and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The location of the hotel is absolutely great. It is close to the forbidden city and has good access to the subway to get around the city. The room is generally clean and it looks like the bedding is cleaned on a daily basis. Nevertheless this does not necessarily mean it was clean since one night there was a shoe print visible on one of the pillows.
When it comes to service, there is still a bit of room for improvement even for a budget hotel. For example on two occasions I went to see the reception since I was not able to access the internet, and all I was told was "go back to your room and try agin". After two nights I just let it be. Another example was at the end of my stay, when I mentioned that I would take the subway to the airport, the receptionist gave me a map and explained where the subway station was.. This might have been more convenient upon arrival. Overal it was a reasonable hotel for a budget price.

Where the hotel might fall a bit short, the tourist center in the Wanfujing street was very helpful explaining how to get around the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie-GENS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#111 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#162 of 6,427 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#65 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#127 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Property: Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Address: No.1 Nanwanzi Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 010006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing Hotel Beijing
Days Inn Beijing
Beijing Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing