We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Taste of Old Beijing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beijing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #73 of 1,293 Beijing B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Taste of Old Beijing”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel is only a few rooms around the family courtyard. I appreciated the chance to experience a genuine old hutong neighbourghood, and the traditional type of house. But be warned, the walls are paper thin, the drains inadequate (this means toilet paper must be binned, not flushed), and the thick Beijing dust penetrates everywhere. Our room was quite spacious, though it could be cold, with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast is ok, and the people are friendly for the most part. The location is central and very convenient to the metro as well - only 5 minute walk. But you can stay in much more luxurious hotels for this sort of price in Beijing. It is nowhere near as posh as it looks on the website! So go if you want to have a slice of 'old Beijing', but don't expect to be as comfortable as in a luxury hotel. I thought it was interesting, but probably wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sheherezade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed in this lovely courtyard hotel after staying in another courtyard hotel located 5 minutes away. The minute that we stepped into this hotel, i felt that it was different from the other courtyard hotel which we stayed at. The other courtyard hotel was quite lovely but seems more like a hotel, while Cong's Hutong was a very intimate and small hotel. Somehow, the entire atmosphere made me felt that i own the entire courtyard.

May, the owner of the hotel was there to greet us and as we had arrived early, our room is still being cleaned. However, she was very kind to let us leave our baggage in the room and to provide us with our room keys.

Upon our return from our sightseeing, i immediately sensed the big difference between Cong's hutong and the other courtyard hotel when i stepped into our room. At Cong's Hutong, there wasn't any smell coming from the sewage unlike the other courtyard hotel that we stayed in. This was a relief to us as we did not have to keep the ventillation turned on through out the night, and made our nights quieter.

For me, the cleaniness of the toilet of a hotel is very important, and i would rate Cong's hutong toilet as 9/10. It was clean, heated and had all the modern ammenities you need.

Location wise, it was convenient enough for us. A short 5-10 minute stroll to the nearest MRT station, which is the dongshi station. And for Wangfujing, it was probably only 15 minutes walk away, and we felt it was simpler to just walk there rather than take the subway.

Overall, we loved our stay in this courtyard hotel, and i would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jschang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This place is a hidden jewel. I am glad I made the right choice. I booked two rooms. Both room were nicely decorated and clean. The staff were very accommodating and nice. Prior to booking, I email them questions, the owner responded quickly. The location is excellent. Close to metro and shops AND the location is so secluded, you will be surprised. Love their breakfast specially the coffee were out of this world.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lideeNy_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We spent 5 nights at Cong's after reading reviews in Tripadvisor. Although it is quite a bit more expensive then the norm, its charm and location do compensate for the difference. It is well anointed and maintained by May who is the charming and graceful owner of the hotel. It is a peaceful and quiet refuge from the hustle and bustle just outside its doors.

Great breakfast, reliable internet, plentiful hot water, and strong A/C makes it a comfortable abode. Proximity to major sites, subway, buses and shops completes the picture.

Would w come back? In heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysExploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

A wonderful place to stay. Nice staff, great breakfast and a good location, handy for the forbidden city etc

Also, not far from the metro and shops.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Stayed 2 nights here recently and it was more authentic than a chain hotel which can sometimes be faceless. May was brilliant from before we booked till we left helping us with translations for our onward travel plans and advice.

This place has been refurbished in true style but with modern touches, everything was very clean and comfortable and the bedrooms offered bottled water and other lovely little gifts that I will let you discover?

Hutong is a busy street where the locals go about their business but once inside this B&B you find a peaceful haven of the little Courtyard. It is very close to the main street which has plenty of banks for ATMs and shops - make sure you go out in the vening when all the High Street if lit on all the the trees lining the street.

We arranged with May for a driver to pick us up atthe airport (it cost next to nothing) as this place is very hard for taxi-drivers to find, so make sure you have a map and translation which May will provide.

Its a close walk to Forbidden City and other attractions and we used a comapny called Beijing Tours to take us to the Great Wall - they were brilliant with a great English speaking guide and a small party of 8, we couldn't belive how cheap the tours were as well and it included a lovely lunch.

We found Beijing very safe and friendly although not many speak English so you need translations if travelling. We carried onwards on the Bullet Train from South Beijing station and getting round was very easy and the Bullet was an experince in travel - very fast very clean and efficient, the UK should take notice!

Breakfast was lovely and thanks May for our packed breakfast when we had to be up early for The Wall. I'd highly recommend this Congs Hutong.

Room Tip: If you like faceless hotel chains its not for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRav100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We spent 6 nights here while visiting my son during his semester in Beijing. Our choice to stay here was the best decision of our trip. I can't imagine a better location for seeing all the major sights or getting a sense of what it's like to live in Beijing. I also can't imagine a more charming place to stay.

This courtyard bed and breakfast is beautifully decorated, comfortable, absolutely quiet, and has the benefit of having May and Hongbing Cong as the hosts. They were friendly, helpful with directions and suggestions about local favorite restaurants, and served up a wonderful breakfast every morning(scrambled eggs, croissants, fruit, yogurt, tea). They had just completed building a fireplace in their living room when we arrived so we spent our first hour there gathered around the hearth, sipping the wine they offered and getting suggestions about what to do and the best times to do it.

The subway system in Beijing is immaculate and efficient and only a five min walk away. We left the quiet comfort of this courtyard each morning and stepped into the bustling hutong on our way to the subway. I very soon felt like part of the fabric of the neighborhood, shopping for bananas at the local shop, going to the post office, eating at the local favorite restaurant just a 10 min walk away. This setting gives you an intimacy with the city that you can't get staying at a big hotel. We had spent our first night in Beijing at a perfectly serviceable high rise hotel next to my son's dorm. If we had spent the week there it would have been a very different and less rewarding experience.

We liked this place so much that we had my son and his girlfriend join us in another room for our last night, and then treated them to another night after we left. They were able to walk over to the cinema at the southern end of Wangfujing and watch the new Harry Potter movie. They loved being within walking distance of the heart of the city. And they loved their room, which was just as beautiful as ours. (Our room was the Painting room which I recommend for its southern exposure and wonderful colors).

This is a hidden gem that somehow I was lucky enough to find. If I ever come back to Beijing, I want to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LRathbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#94 of 6,448 in Beijing
412 reviews
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#124 of 6,448 in Beijing
172 reviews
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#172 of 6,448 in Beijing
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#167 of 6,448 in Beijing
95 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#21 of 6,448 in Beijing
471 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel

Property: Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.139 Lishi Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 1,293 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing