We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Artistic, authentic, convenient hotel in the heart of Beijing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beijing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #76 of 1,287 Beijing B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Artistic, authentic, convenient hotel in the heart of Beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We found this beautiful hotel from our friends who stayed there before. Beautiful here means truly artistic, authentic Chinese deco with a touch of modern feeling. On top its clean rooms, friendly staffs, it is located conveniently in the heart of Beijing, walking to all major attractions, and 5 min away from subway, that makes transportation really easy for us. It hides in a small street (called Hutong in Chinese) which lined with local restaurant, what an adventure if you like local cuisines. I have to say I was really surprised how quiet the place is, because it seems surrounded by the major streets on the map.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliac2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
brydieShanghai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

I stayed at Cong's Hutong with my mother, sister and partner. We travelled on the overnight train from Shanghai and arrived in Beijing early in the morning. This was our first trip to the Chinese capital and we didn't know what to expect. A taxi dropped us off at the end of the hutong, whch ended up being one of the favourite parts of our trip (Beijing's hutongs are like little villages within the city; they are full of life). Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel has only four rooms, but each one is beautifully decorated in Chinese style. The owners used original plans to restore the courtyard house to its original glory, providing visitors with modern-day comforts at the same time. The two bedrooms we occupied were both beautifully decorated and had large bathrooms with a shower. We enjoyed coming "home" after a long day of sightseeing and enjoyed some afternoon coffee in the peaceful courtyard. Even though Cong's Hutong is situated in a bustling area, with plenty of excellent restaurants from different parts of China (which May and her husband recommended), we didn't feel like we were in a big city when we were here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brydieShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2007

This hotel is an authentic historic Chinese courtyard home called a "Hutong" in the DongCheng district of Beijing. It is like a step back in time to a different era. Every little detail is historically accurate. There is a calm relaxing comfortable atmosphere to this place. Yet it has all the modern conveniences hidden from view. There are 4 air conditioned suites, with luxurious beds and furniture. Each suite has a unique theme style of Chinese design. There are private ,modern, fully equiped bathrooms with showers that work well. Plenty of hot water. Internet and telephone too. We were told it was completely rebuilt using historically accurate construction techniques by artisan workers from the Forbidden City. There is a government sign certifying the hotel as an historic building.

The hotel is a traditional Hutong, which is a large Chinese estate home with a courtyard in the middle. There are very few of these homes remaining in Beijing -they were all demlished to make room for high rise hotels and office buildings. Inside the rooms and the courtyard the air is cool and clean. Most important ..it is quiet! There is absolutely no street noise - nothing but the birds chirping. The perfect spot to relax or honeymoon or enjoy privacy. Yet, when you step out of the gate into the street you're in the heart of the most popular tourist area in Beijing. Close to the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and the major shopping areas. The subway is also right there.

You have the option of having meals on site if you wish. They have a fully equiped modern kitchen and a small bar in the main building. There are many great restaurants nearby so we only ate at the hotel for breakfast and one dinner. The food is good and reasonably priced. They asked about food allergies even though we didn't have any.

Rooms are spotless. Sheets were clean and changed daily. Beds and furniture are all brand new. Apparently the place was gutted and totally rebuilt. It was brand new as of May 2007 so everything in it is new but looks like antique.

The owners are a young professional couple who speak English very well. So we had no problem communicating.

This is the perfect spot to experience what it was like to live as the wealthy did in China over 100 years ago. Yet still have the moden city at your doorstep. A really enjoyable experience.

Peter Besler
Toronto, Ontario
Canada

  • Liked — clean, private, exotic, great location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PeterBesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#92 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Houhai
CU National Youth Hostel
CU National Youth Hostel
#131 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#188 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#113 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#178 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Chongwenmen
Splendid Zhuang Hotel
Splendid Zhuang Hotel
#828 of 6,442 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel

Property: Cong's Hutong Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.139 Lishi Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 1,287 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing