We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Chinese Hotel right in the centre of Beijing”
Review of Zhong An Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zhong An Hotel
Ranked #569 of 6,528 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel back in April but only just remembered to write a review on it now. The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Beijing next to the big railway station. The subway station is just over the road. The hotel is a little tricky to find the first time (we had to ask for directions, which was difficult for our first time in China!) but it is just simply behind the police station which is next to the railway station. It is on a little back alley and although the street smells really badly (as unfortunately, a lot of Beijing's main city part does) and people spit all the time on the floor around you, the hotel itself is clean, smart and attractive.
It is quite small and has a definite traditional feeling about it, from the decor to the garden in the middle of it. The room had a nice flat screen TV but only one English speaking channel. The shower was nice as it was a sort of open space with a plug hole in the floor but a vast space to shower in, only parted by the shower curtain.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, they speak enough English to get by as long as you speak slowly and clearly for them (which is fair enough given we don't speak a word of Mandarin!!)
There is a tiny little shop where you can buy simple goods like water, sweets (I insisted on buying Galaxy bars for £1.50 a go just for a taste of home) and crisps etc...
The restaurant was ok... breakfast was a buffet and had enough food that was palatable to us Westerners but evening meal was a little bit more difficult (might I add that I am a staunch Vegetarian and struggled for the duration of the whole trip to eat..) The menu is very hard to decipher for English speakers and what I did order resembled nothing like the explanation.
One great feature of the hotel was that they loaned us a desktop computer for the week we were there for something really cheap like £10 for the whole time. I avoid going on computers and internet when I am away as we are exposed to it enough at home but being so far away from home it was a luxury to be able to send emails to family back home.
Overall, it is a convenient, affordable, basic but decorative traditional Chinese hotel with a lovely ambience to it; lots of red hanging lanterns and dragon/mythical adornments everywhere.....

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fear0fFlying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Zhong An Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2010

We have stayed in this hotel for couple of days. First day we had a bit of trouble finding it (first time in china), but after a few tries we finaly located it. It is not on the main street, therefore it is a strange feeling waliking off the main street into this "hutong". We have never experienced problems though.

Hotel is nice, reception desk is OK, they have a desk to book tours, activities, etc.

Hotel room was decent, clean. Our window looked just at main Beijing railroad station, but it was not noisy - even if windows were not best quality. Bed was good, thoug one pillow was hery heavy and hard. Bathroom was clean, some small issues needed fix.

We did not use breakfast service( if they have one).

Good location if you continue travel or come in by train (we went to shanghai) as railoroad station is close.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJojic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Stayed in this property while travelling China and visiting Beijing. This hotels is very close to one of the important train stations in the city and also close to the subway. Breakfast (chinese style) is include and internet is provided in the lobby. Rooms are ok, and bathroom is clean. A good relation price-quality.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

This hotel suited our needs well with the price, location and room set-up. My husband & I were traveling with his parents over the Chinese New Year and they offer a 2 room apartment set-up (w/o fridge or microwave though). The bedding & towels were clean, but the rest of the place definitely needed a good clean. Didn't appear that the hotel has a vaccum as there were bits of dirt and debris all over the carpet areas with thick lines of dust along base boards & under beds, etc. The bathtub had soap scum residue and the kitchen counter had leftover black sticky stuff on it. Outside of that, we had a good experience, the staff was fairly helpful & gracious. It isn't easy to find the first time, we called the hotel & had them speak to our taxi driver & had no problem.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillWithWanderLust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

500m to the east and south of Beijing's main railway station in a locally-typical housing area. It has a very good standard of apartment, particularly in view of the reasonable tariff. The station is nearby, but I was not aware of any traffic noise. Many transport links also nearby - but initially you need to either speak Chinese, or have the address written in Chinese for a taxi driver.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMc_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

We got off the trans mongolian train and went to the tourist board who suggested this hotel.

It's fine if you want a cheap convenient place to stay, it is near the tube and train station and there are lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The room was clean and modern, free water, wifi and toiletries, someone mentioned in a previous review that there were condoms in the bathroom, in my time travelling in China all of the hotels put condoms in the room even five star ones, so doesn't mean that this place is 'one of those' sorts of hotels!

Breakfast wasn't up to much, Chinese style and you need to get in early if you want any of it as the staff from the police station next door tend to take over.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooms77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Decent rooms - friendly staff. Free internet is nice.
Very close to Main Train Station and Subway.
Many shops, supermarkets and McDonald closeby.
Walk to the subway in 5 minutes and explore the city.
For those who can not find it:
When you stand with your back to the trainstation - go right !
There you will pass a busstation. Go into the first street to your right.
There is a huge hotel on the corner. At the end of the street you will see a policestation.
Go right and after 50 metres you will find the hotel on your left hand.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiveJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Jingu Qilong Hotel
Jingu Qilong Hotel
#3,588 of 6,528 in Beijing
67 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#150 of 6,528 in Beijing
104 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ping An Fu Hotel
Ping An Fu Hotel
#3,202 of 6,528 in Beijing
87 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#192 of 6,528 in Beijing
315 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#113 of 6,528 in Beijing
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhong An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhong An Hotel

Address: No.6 Kuijiachang Alley, Beijingzhan East Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#305 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £27 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zhong An Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zhong An Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zhong An Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing