We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
hotelhotstepper
Hong Kong, China

Helpful and effective staff - go for private rooms with bathrooms

Review of Qianmen Hostel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Oct 2012
Spent 4 nights here during the middle of Oct 2012. First night was in a private room with no bathroom (i.e. had to use shared bathroom), other nights was in a private room with dedicated bathroom.

Hostel rooms are basic, but completely liveable, especially the one with a private bathroom. Having to go outside through a courtyard to get to the toilet/ bathroom on a cold autumn's morning/night is probably a tiny step too far when the room itself is already pretty basic. But the private bathroom ones were not only much more convenient, but the room was much better, with solid walls (as opposed to the wooden ones).

The location of the hostel is good in terms of it being near a very central underground station, and its also an easy walk to Tienamen square and also to the Temple Of Heaven. Crucially it is also not far from the fantastic Li Qun duck restaurant. The immediate area is a little shabby but also, it has remnants of an old hutong so has a good level of charm too. Didn't ever feel unsafe or threatened in any way.

The best part of the hostel is the staff. Extremely helpful in terms of trying to make sure you're comfortable at the hostel, and invaluable for local advice on how to get to places. On the morning we left (at 5am) for the airport, whilst in the taxi that had been pre-arranged by the hostel, the member of staff called up the taxi driver to ask to speak to me - he wanted to double double check which terminal I was flying from so as to make sure the taxi driver took me to the right place! This kind of attention to detail, and concern even after I had left the hostel, typified the level of helpfulness that I experienced here.

All in all I would recommend to friends, but so long as you are happy that this is a basic hostel in a historic building and area, and hence, you need to be willing to put up with a little bit of shabbyness, but nothing too bad.
Date of stay: October 2012
Room Tip: Go for the private room with private bathroom.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior view
£93
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
£133
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
£114
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
7.2 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
外景。
£101
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.1 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Pool
Restaurant
£128
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.6 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
P
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £101
  • Priceline
1.8 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £77
  • Priceline
1.8 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
SUPERIORTIWN
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £167
  • Priceline
2.1 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
酒店大堂 Hotel Lobby
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £85
  • Priceline
1.8 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Pool
Restaurant
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £71
  • Agoda.com
2.5 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Beijing
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
24
52
24
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
52
24
7
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The location of this hostel is quite convenient, nearly at the center of Beijing and a short walk from a metro (subway) station. Many of the top sights are within walking distance. My friend and I stayed in one of the private rooms without an ensuite bath, so we shared the common bath facilities. The room was dingy, and the bed was very uncomfortable. The box spring did not have much padding, so the metal wires poked me in the ribs. The entire hostel was a bit grungy and rundown. Paint is peeling and the rooms and common areas could be cleaner. The staff were not unpleasant but also not especially friendly or welcoming. I didn't see much interaction among guests. For that matter, I didn't see many guests. It could be that our early hours were different from those of most guests. But I missed that interaction, which is one of the attractions of a hostel. While the room was not great, the price was very affordable, cheaper than other hutong hostels. So if budget is your top priority, this might be the best choice.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markoboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Great location close to Tiananmen Square and the metro and surrounded by interesting hutong. Very helpful staff with varying levels of English - they helped us with booking flight tickets and provided advice on places to see and eat. They have a nice courtyard to sit and get talking to other travellers. They have 3 PC's with free internet. The Wi-Fi works ok at the bar and reception but was non existent in our room. The double room was very average but if you are used to hostels then it will suit you fine. The bathroom as others have said had a glass panel which was only partly frosted so you need to be comfortable with whoever you are sharing with. The bathroom was quite grimey looking but towels were provided. Overall I would recommend as the staff were good, the place had a nice atmosphere and the communal area was nice to meet other travelers, and its in a great location and reasonably priced.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloThereJimBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hostel is good; the rooms are ok, and the courtyard is charming. The place is nice. Friendly staff and friendly people there too. Such well located, just 3 mins to Tian Men Square. They have computers with internet, good breakfast, and drinks. Next to a very lively hutong.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuiqueSenent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hostel is located in the middle of the centre, just a couple of hundred meters away from the forbidden city. The hostel itself is great, especially the courtyard. You can eassily meet other travellers and every night is very nice to sit around, drinking some beers and just chat with everybody.
The owner is a very nice and helpfull man, that is why I find it really strange that his staff is completely the opposite. They hardly ever greet when you walk in (even if you greet them first there is often no reply). When you ask anything (from a map to the nearest ATM or for booking a tour) you can see they actually rather don't help. Eventually they do, but they don't give you a good feeling. So I hope the owner will kick there ..... And show them how you should treat paying customers.

All in all this was a nice place but it can be a great place in the future. Hopefully the owner realises this.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dick133
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Great location- as others reviews say, close to Tiananmen sq., close to a main road with lots of places to shop and eat, and 5 min walk to the metro station (easiest way to travel around Beijing).

I stayed in a dorm room with 4 beds, mixed. Although i took it due to my limited budjet, it was really nice. Big beds, a personal light attached to the bed and lots of space under the bed to leave ur stuff.
The shared toilets are nice, suitable for backpackers (not so for a vecation-type of trip) with limited budget.

Free wifi, free & slow computers in the lobby. nice lounge with a tv (we watched there some dvd's). Nice and helpful staff (bad english but understandable).

If i'll get to travel Beijing again as a backpacker, i would definately stay there.
Enjoy ur trip!

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lena p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews