We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Monet T
Cape Town Central, South Africa

Cheap and Cheerfull

Review of Qianmen Hostel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 May 2013
Staff were friendly and manage to re-order their bookings to accommodate an extra person in our party. Ultimately, you get what you pay for. It's just a bed. Drinks are cheap. Location is excellent. Definitely recommend this hostel.
Date of stay: April 2013
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
£133
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £133
1.9 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
£114
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £114
7.2 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
外景。
£101
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £101
3.1 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Pool
Restaurant
£128
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
5.6 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £91
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
P
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £100
  • Priceline
1.8 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £76
  • Priceline
1.8 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
SUPERIORTIWN
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £167
  • Priceline
2.1 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
酒店大堂 Hotel Lobby
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £86
  • Priceline
1.8 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Pool
Restaurant
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £71
  • Agoda.com
2.5 miles from Qianmen Hostel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Beijing
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
24
52
24
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
52
24
7
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Don't stay here! When we complained to the staff that we had bugs running around on our bed, their response was "oh, they are just small bugs. No one has complained before. No one cares." Do yourselves a favor and don't stay here.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanner E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We booked online after reading positive reviews. Email communication was slow with the hostel but they did reply. We got to the hostel and the reception area looked OK, they did food and had a little bar area. I think we were ripped off booking train tickets through the hostel as we were charged £4 each extra for them to book our tickets and then we found 2 ticket offices in 100 metres radius of this hostel which they didn't even tell us! Once we got to the room things went even more downhill, it was like a squat. The door didn't even fit the frame as it was warped, the single glazed windows just let all the cold in, so the heating was working overtime. It was freezing in the room, all the time! The shared bathroom was miles away, 2 floors down, across 2 courtyards and round this little alley. The toilets and showers may have been outside as there was no main door on the rooms. We didn't shower here at all during our stay and checked out as soon as we found somewhere else to stay. The staff were Ok, they tried to accommodate us, we had booked a hostel and were given a triple room when we checked in, when we said we wanted to check out early they said we could move into a twin room with private bathroom but that room was even worse. Sorry, ths place needs serious renovation! we even found vomit that hadn't been cleaned down one side of one of the beds. gross!!

Room tip: don't stay here, email me to see where we stayed which was superior for only slightly more
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJB161982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

A surprising find close to the centre of Beijing, sights and subway. Stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend and both thought it great.

Excellent location, friendly staff, clean rooms, nice place to stay.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicholasHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The end of February we stayed for several nights in this hostel, perfectly located just south of Tiananmensquare, closeby to some unrenovated beautiful hutongs.
The staff and owners were excellent and very helpfull and their child was adorable.
We hope they can manage to renovate the old courtyard-houses. They are beautiful.
Good breakfast as well!!!

Room tip: Try to get a courtyard-room!
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karst D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2012

-located near many hot tourist spot, this hostel offer few types of rooms, include dorms and single rooms and double with or without bathroom attach, start from 60RMB per pax (for dorm four in 1)

-walking distance to Tiananmen, National Museum, Forbidden city, Jingshan Park, and walking street DA-SHA LAR, it had excellent location, with QIANMEN subway station and also local bus stop infront of it.

-counter staffs are helpful.

-free wifi

-the only things is drinking hot water supply (really important in winter) maybe can be improved--they put in themor, and the water finish very fast, than you must wait second day morning seven something to refill.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlysolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews