We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Ranked #69 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good, but they only gave us one key and we were 3, and when we asked for sheets, towels and toiletteries for the third person, they took ages. The bed for the third person is literally the sofa. The breakfast buffet has a lot of variety which is good. I dont recommend to book the Great wall tour from here, it was expensive (300y each) and you couldnt understand a thing from the tourist guide, they dont show you the complete Ming Tombs and instead they take you to the jade store and tea store, which are irrelevant.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lebismut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    479
    155
    34
    19
See reviews for
181
376
121
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend after hearing good recommendation from a friend.
Great location! We got the subway from the airport, on our way to the hotel we walked past many high street shops. Like many reviews have stated, it's close to night food market, Forbidden city and Tiananmen square.
The rooms are so spacious, nicely decorated.
The staff were all so lovely, one of them even suggested to go on an excursion to the Great Wall the next day because it was a nice day and he was right! We had so much fun on that excursion because not only did we go to the Great Wall we also went to the jade museum, the Ming tombs, the Great Wall then Chinese tea tasting!
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to stay again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallgirl_bigworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed in beijing three nights the second week of June and this hotel and its staff made my visit to Beijing nice and pleasant. The staff was super friendly and offered us cheap and good tours, got us a taxi to the airport and upgraded us for free only because we used their services. The staff was always helpful, thew hotel clean and the room was stunning, spacious, modern and comfortable.
If i ever return to Beijing, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andresSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you want a clean hotel in a good neighbourhood that is close to several sights, shopping and restaurants, the Kapok is a great choice. You can't miss the hotel as you approach from the street - it's architecturally unique and stands out from the neighbouring buildings. The hotels interior spaces, although getting a bit rough around the edges, are attractive enough.

There are several room styles to choose from including street view and courtyard. We reserved a street view room (Fashion) and felt it was more than adequate and priced right. Some reviewers are complaining that the street noise is distracting. It didn't bother us (we're used to downtown living) and the sounds from the street actually added to the experience. Also, it was reasonably quiet after 10pm, and as we were usually up by 5 or 6am, noise wasn't an issue.

The washrooms are open to the rest of the room, unless you pull a large curtain around the glass. Not a big deal and actually makes the room appear much bigger.

The restaurant served a variety of food, was clean and organized. We only ate dinner there one night and both our meals were satisfactory. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet (around $18CAD/pp) which offered many items including western style breakfast (eggs, toast, bacon, etc).

Other amenities include conference rooms, a gym, small reading space, and a couple of courtyard sitting areas, tour booking (although you can get better deals elsewhere), taxi/private car reservation.

Kapok staff were always helpful and did their best to communicate. As I can speak some Chinese, this wasn't an issue. At the end of our stay, we reserved a private car to take us back to the airport which cost 200 RMB, that we felt was a reasonable price for less hassle and more comfort.

A great location was what we were after, and Hotel Kapok fulfilled that request. Our stay was excellent and we'll definitely go back on our next visit to Beijing.

Additional thoughts (+)
Location - walking distance to the Forbidden City, National Museum of China, Tiananmen Square, Chien-Men Shopping area (a bit of a walk, but a lot to see in between), Wangfujing shopping area and street snack area, banks, hutongs, restaurants, etc.

A great restaurant close to the hotel is Dawanju (if I remember correctly) which has a lot of good dishes at reasonable prices.

Wifi worked well (only a couple of times of weak service).
Laundry service
Friendly, helpful staff

Additional thoughts (-)
Only one room card
Gym in basement level a bit dark, although nicely equipped.
Hotel interiors could use refresh.

Tips:
There are several tricycle "taxi's" that ride around near the hotel. Avoid them; and if they try to get you on board, just say "bu yao, xie xie!". They are usually scammers who will try to charge you insane amounts for a hutong tour. Learn at least some basic Mandarin before you leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadian_photog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daegu, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

You cannot beat the location of this hotel, walking distance to the Forbidden City, the night food market and my favorite spa, Drangonfly. The modern rooms were very nice, although we found the lack of a real door on the bathroom, just a curtain, rather disconcerting. What really sold us on this hotel, however was the really helpful front desk staff who , besides actually making and understanding jokes in English,patiently helped us with our messed up reservation. The restaurant is average although there was a great luncheon special, cheaper than the breakfast buffet. The wifi in the rooms worked well.

Room Tip: Stay in the back and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmezedd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I went to Beijing on my own (i.e., without my second and best half), so did not want to go to expensive hotels. Kapok was a great choice, so much so that, next time in Beijing with or without my wife, I will probably choose it.

The pros:
- Very good price (I stayed for 5 or 6 nights, they added in free airport pick-up which usually costs some RMB200 (and you could wait an hour in line for a taxi - be careful)).
- Superb location: walking distance from Forbidden City, Wang Fu Jing shopping street, hutongs, etc.
- Friendly staff, acceptable English (better than my Chinese!)
- Small details that count: e.g., shower slippers, nice firm mattress bed (some might not like this though)
- Very quiet room (I selected a Courtyard one, just one level up from most basic)

The cons:
Not many
- Breakfast is "OK". Costs around US$15, so not very pricey, but you wouldn't eat there for more than once or twice

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BecharaYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Friends and I stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Kapok in Beijing and we were very impressed. Service was excellent, breakfast buffet was incredible, and rooms were very comfortable. The design is very unique and quite pleasant. The front desk attendants were helpful and spoke English. What we really liked was the location...in a typical Chinese neighborhood and very close to shopping, restaurants, and the Forbidden City. The price was very reasonable and suggest getting the breakfast included in the room price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#109 of 6,516 in Beijing
456 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,436 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
#80 of 6,516 in Beijing
503 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,516 in Beijing
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kapok Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kapok Beijing

Property: Hotel Kapok Beijing
Address: No.16 Donghuamen Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#56 Family Hotel in Beijing
#56 Business Hotel in Beijing
#61 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kapok Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kapok in Beijing is a uniquely designed boutique hotel located in the heart of this ancient Chinese city. A modern looking boutique hotel crafted with a touch of Chinese influence, next to the Forbidden City in Beijing. The lantern, a traditional icon in China, is used as a concept of exterior design, which breaks the boundaries between inner space and outdoor environment. An unconventional layout presents a spacious area; the ample use of glass enhances the natural light and the bamboo courtyard in the lobby slows the pac e of urban life. Hotel Kapok consists of 89 guestrooms and 16 suites, appointed with small gardens on the balcony. The interior design focuses on simplicity and pureness: white is all-pervading in the room, wooden floors and glass built bathrooms liberates the traveler's body and soul. The "Staircase Library" certainly increases the joy of reading. Hotel Kapok delivers personalized services while providing conveniences such as restaurants, bars, meeting rooms, business and fitness center.Hotel Kapok is located in the heart of Beijing , on the east side of the Forbidden City, minutes away from the famous shopping district Wangfujing. Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, Beijing Train Station is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kapok Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapok Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing