We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Ranked #70 of 6,470 Hotels in Beijing
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great experience !!”
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Very nice location. Very nice rooms. Great environment. Check pictures enclosed.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miniLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    472
    154
    34
    19
See reviews for
176
376
121
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Had a 2 night stay at Kapok in April. Was pleasantly upgraded to the suite and it was simply amazing! Huge room and great bathroom with a massive bathtub and powerful rain shower head. The bed was comfy and there was even a desktop computer with free internet to use. Lights were a little dim, but other than that it was simply perfect. With its location right next to the Forbidden City, it's difficult to find another hotel quite as perfect as this!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeastern US
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Stayed here 4 nights beginning May 17. I've been to Beijing several times and this hotel is a gem for the money, less than $100 USD. Modern in design yet functionally comfortable it makes one feel safely tucked away. The bed and bath were both clean and comfortable, the air conditioning worked great, and the little garden outside the window was a nice touch.
The staff were all polite, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel is 2 short blocks off of Wangfujing and you pass the night market - a very interesting local eating area - on the walk from the shoping district. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

This hotel cannot be criticized for location, however, when we arrived at 1am they had given our room away even though we had called from the plane in Hong Kong to reassure them we were coming! After some arguing, shouting and requests to see/speak to their manager, they managed to find us an upgraded room (though they had already stated that the hotel was full and could they transfer us to a 5 star hotel somewhere else - at one in the a.m I don't think so, especially as 5 star in China means nothing!) Once we were in our suite things started looking up immediately, a great room and bathroom, just like on their website. The staff were courteous and helpful most of the time but needed a little persuasion and a reminder that it was their job to help!!
Overall it's a very decent boutique hotel at a great price, very modern and very well located - 5 minutes literally to the Forbidden City - can't beat that! I would recommend it to anyone that likes nice hotels but you have to understand that the Chinese hotel standards are very different to the West - this seems to be a 4 star boutique hotel by Western standards. Feel free to ask me any questions.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totallyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Stayed at Hotel Kapok for 4 nights. Actually started out okay, but, went downhill pretty fast.

1. Was told that the buffet was included, only to be charged for it after the fact (very poor).

2. Although the hotel indicates air conditioning, this is only partially true. The hotel decides when you can have the air conditioning on. I had no less than FOUR different requests to have the AIR turned ON. At one point, I made them call the hotel manager at home, to explain my displeasure of waking up at 4:00 am in an 80 degree room (was told "it is night time, no need air conditioning".

3. Had a large bathtub in the room, kind of nice, but, water pressure was so bad that by the time it was 1/2 filled, the water was cold.

4. LOUD LOUD LOUD. Was repeatedly woken up by doors slamming (they slam on their own when people don't try to make them quiet). Also, was woken up by traffic.

5. NOT familiar even with their own neighborhood. I asked for Grandma's Kitchen. After 15 minutes of searching, they found one that was 20 minutes away. But, when I walked literally around the corner, it was there.

6. Smelled like cigarette smoke, very bad at times.

7. Light switch to the (glass) bathroom was on the outside, so, you had to turn the light on, then go in and pull the curtain (thus waking up anyone else in the room).

8. BEDS Are ROCK HARD, almost like sleeping on a board (but, the comforter was nice).

9. Housekeeping was marginal at best (dust animals on the floor during my entire stay, but, kind of got used to them)

10. Asked for the Hotel Manager to call me before I checked out, never called (Adam is his name).

Overall, the hotel was a big disappointment. I do not recommend ! ! ! !

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rsmrsmrsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

This hotel is great. It is in a good location, very close to the Forbidden city and Wanjujing. It is also near the night food market where you can try local chinese delicacies. The staff are always very friendly and helpful and extremely efficient. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone going to beijing and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Very clean and modern hotel located a 5 minute walk from the Forbidden City...just a perfect, central location. The neighborhood is a nice, tree-lined area but very authentic Chinese...lots of locals around and it did not seem touristy like around the other Beijing tourist hotels. The night market down the street is definitely something to experience! The concierge service is friendly and very good for booking event tickets and train tickets for a very low fee. The WiFi is free but you have to pay to use a computer in their business center. We paid $99 on hotels.com...an incredible value for the money!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PorscheNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,470 in Beijing
2,851 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#103 of 6,470 in Beijing
448 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,470 in Beijing
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,470 in Beijing
1,350 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,470 in Beijing
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kapok Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kapok Beijing

Property: Hotel Kapok Beijing
Address: No.16 Donghuamen Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Beijing
#56 Family Hotel in Beijing
#58 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#62 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kapok Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kapok in Beijing is a uniquely designed boutique hotel located in the heart of this ancient Chinese city. A modern looking boutique hotel crafted with a touch of Chinese influence, next to the Forbidden City in Beijing. The lantern, a traditional icon in China, is used as a concept of exterior design, which breaks the boundaries between inner space and outdoor environment. An unconventional layout presents a spacious area; the ample use of glass enhances the natural light and the bamboo courtyard in the lobby slows the pac e of urban life. Hotel Kapok consists of 89 guestrooms and 16 suites, appointed with small gardens on the balcony. The interior design focuses on simplicity and pureness: white is all-pervading in the room, wooden floors and glass built bathrooms liberates the traveler's body and soul. The "Staircase Library" certainly increases the joy of reading. Hotel Kapok delivers personalized services while providing conveniences such as restaurants, bars, meeting rooms, business and fitness center.Hotel Kapok is located in the heart of Beijing , on the east side of the Forbidden City, minutes away from the famous shopping district Wangfujing. Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, Beijing Train Station is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kapok Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapok Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing