We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem of a hotel in Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #14 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Truly a gem of a hotel not far from Forbidden City in Beijing. Great rooms and a very frendly staff who can organize anything makes for a relaxing and wonderful stay.

Room Tip: go for the honeymoon suite, best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbuckell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2011

You will never find such a real Chinese hotel in Pekin. But with highest level of everything in it! It is located close to the center but in a very interesting area of hutongs. There are shops and small restaurants in the closest street where you can always get a taxi easily. It's not your choice only if you prefer modern interiors and modern center around. Which is not a case when you come to Pekin...

Room Tip: Wedding room (if even you are married long ago)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amazzonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Really enjoyed our four night stay here. It has a great location, is situated down a rabbit warren but once in through its gates opens up into and oasis of calm. The rooms are great, feeling authentic and not twee at all. The best bit was the staff, especially the sweetly cheeky Susan! They went out of their way to help us and made our stay there all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We traveled with our adult children,24 year old so & 27 year old daughter and stayed in the "Happy Family "room.The room was furnished similar to the palaces.Loved the courtyard & the breakfast.It felt like much more space because of the courtyard-which was incredibly peaceful and relaxing!The staff was extremely helpful

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drc926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Location is usually my second concern (behind price) when looking for a hotel. Although I wasn't really that bothered in Beijing, this turned out to be almost perfect. Firstly, the subway station is about 10 minutes walk round the corner. The North Gate to the Forbidden City is only 20-25 minutes walk away, and if it's a clear day you really should visit Jingshan Park (I seem to remember entry is 5 or 10 RMB) and climb to the top to get a view of Beijing. Both the Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple are on the same subway line as Dongsi.

If you're worried about this hotel being in a Hutong, you really shouldn't be as they are completely safe and this is a relatively well-maintained area. There are always people around, particularly as some houses don't have their own kitchens or bathrooms. There are plenty of cheap places to eat in this or dongsiwutiao (5th street, the next one along).

My room was very well kept. I was upgraded from a single and the bed was great. I don't mind firmer mattresses. The bathroom looked as if it had been recently renovated. At peak times the water pressure can get low but I never ran out of hot water. Breakfast was fine and filled me up for the long days out. Whilst there was a computer in the room (wow!), I didn't have need for it as the complex had free wifi throughout.

The one thing which made this, for me, was the service. The girls were all delightful, including Susan who was helping me improve my Chinese, and another whose name I have sadly forgotten who was helping me (in vain) to find a train out of the city. I didn't have much to do with the Bell Boy but he always said hello!

All in all, I cannot think of a better experience. You're in a courtyard hotel with a good history, in the middle of a traditional Beijing hutong and within walking distance of public transport and at least one of the major sights.

If/when I'm coming back, I'm staying here again. No question.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reevery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Finding the Double Happiness could be tricky make sure you print the name and address in Chinese. Once you are there you are whisked away to another time. The rooms are GORGEOUS and spacious with authentic furniture and decorations. The staff is so friendly and willing to help. The beds are pretty firm but so luxurious. When you awake in the morning you are served the most wonderful food. It ranges from sweets to veggie dumplings. Try it all!!!! We had the most wonderful stay and will stay again for certain if we ever make it back to Beijing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gigglesandglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. On the day we landed in Beijing, we arrived at the hotel well before the usual check-in time at noon. While waiting for our room, Bruce, the bellboy, kept us company in the lounge with complimentary drinks and friendly conversation. Incidentally, if you want a to avoid paying tourist prices for a SIM card, Bruce is your man as he got me one for 40RMB and it received heavy use during our 3-week holiday in China.

Now that we are home, we have the opportunity to reflect on the 4- and 5-star hotels we have stayed in during our holiday and Double Happiness certainly provides what its name describes. Because of the niche it occupies, it will not be right to compare it with branded chain hotels. It is more of a warm and friendly home than a hotel. What makes this place special is the knowledgeable and efficient staff at the front-desk all of whom speak excellent English. Moreover, nothing seems to be too much for them.

Having a PC and free internet provided in the rooms makes things very convenient especially if Beijing is your first or last port of call in a tour of China. There is always the email to send to family and friends.

Breakfast fare is sumptuous with eastern and western, hot and cold food, and fruit available. We found that food hygiene is of a good standard and we did not experience any tummy problem while we were there. The dinner menu is limited but that is not a problem as there are a couple of very good Yunnan and Hunan restaurants just a few minutes walk along the hutong (turn right when going out at the hotel entrance).

If we have the opportunity to return to Beijing in the future, we have no doubt that Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel will figure very highly in our priorities. It will be like a homecoming. Thank you Mr. Oliver Tian, Susan, Lily, Bruce Li, and the rest for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TTYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,617 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#33 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,987 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#20 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,259 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#45 of 6,599 in Beijing
587 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#110 of 6,599 in Beijing
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#31 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £69 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing