We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service, great decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #12 of 6,448 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great decor”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had an absolutely amazing stay here. When we arrived early our room wasn't ready so they took us to the bar and gave us a free drink while we waited. The decor of the hotel was very authentic and had a great ambience to it at night when it glowed up with the soft lighting. Susan, one of the hotel staff was soooo smiley and couldn't do enough to help, so a special thanks to her for making our stay a great one!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neileee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    379
    50
    12
    6
See reviews for
395
631
225
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel is Chinese in every aspect-from it's location in a Hutong, to the winding courtyards, staircases and hallways. All the front desk staff spoke excellent english, were very helpful and quick to respond to any discrepancies. We stayed with extended family and booked two family suites and one courtyard room between all of us. We had several children with us from ages 2-14, Grandparents and parents. Each room had a european bathroom that was newly updated and immaculate. The rooms were a bit older and very chinese. Beds ranged from very firm to very soft. Some were day beds and others ornately carved emporer beds. Breakfast every morning was something to behold. A wonderful Buffet with traditional Chinese and world foods. There were even packaged foods to take along for the day if you needed it. Our favorite foods were the steamed dumplings and dragonfruit. We were at a great location to leave from to see anything in Beijing. Our rooms were well heated--as we were at the end of winter there--and had door drapes we could leave down when we opened our doors for fresh air and still have privacy. While the hotel buildings seem a little old, the atmosphere, bathrooms, beds and breakfast warrant a stay. We are adventurous travellers who love to immerse ourselves in the culture. While this is not a 4 star hotel, it is lovely and simple. I highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Beijing. You will be pleased with old China here, at the Double Happiness.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elbeesweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I cannot speak highly enough of my stay at the Double Happiness. If only there were "hotels" like this in every city around the world! The word hotel is probably a bit misleading. I would regard it more as a guesthouse.

The girls on reception were extremely warm and friendly, particularly Da Da (not sure of spelling). Whilst the room I stayed in was not large, it was more than sufficient for my needs. The Chinese decor was very interesting, most certainly not the standard, boring fare you get in many hotels these days. There were so many nice little touches that you would not normally expect from such an establishment.

The courtyard was a lovely oasis to relax in after fighting the heat and crowds of Beijing, particularly the sound of the water feature. I'm not sure why they turned it off so early. It was really nice to have a computer in the room (free internet), with the ability to print-out at reception.

I can highly recommend a restaurant called "Taste" in the the same street. Turn right on exiting the hotel. The restaurant is on the left hand side just before you reach the main road (red and black colour scheme). The ladies running the restaurant are passionate about using fresh ingredients from their home province of Yunnan.

All in all, a great experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaikalExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I agree with the other reviewers that the location and ambiance of this hotel are wonderful. My sister and I spent three nights and enjoyed everything from the location to the buffet breakfast to chatting with the girls at the front desk. The hotel staff was incredibly welcoming and helpful. We wanted to avoid being part of a tour at all costs, but they did persuade us to go with a group to the great wall which turned out to be a fun day with a lot of neat people from all over the world. They also made us a reservation for a massage at a really nice high end spa in the city, recommended restaurants and made a reservation at an airport hotel for us on our final night in Beijing.

The street is a very narrow hutong and some cabs do not want to drive down so be prepared to walk a block. The location is very central and public transportation was relatively easy. We also felt extremely safe in this area, even coming home at night.

Definitely stay here! We had joked about the name "double happiness" but definitely felt that we found it!

Room Tip: Happy Family room was really quaint and comfortable for 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank efvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

If you want to stay in a great place in a hutong neighborhood with pretty good access (a few blocks' walk) to the subway, this is an excellent choice. The courtyard grounds were beautiful and well-maintained. The room was not large, but it was nicely decorated in what felt like traditional style, and it was clean. The staff were friendly and helpful (and as a bonus for some, including me, most spoke good English!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan25110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, IL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My wife and I had such a delightful stay the the double happiness courtyard hotel. The outside is nothing special, just a door along the long hutong walls just like every other hutong residence. Once you walk through the door, everything is different. The place is absolutely beautiful. The decor and architecture really feel like old world china with all the comforts of home. We stayed in the luxury wedding suite which was beautifully decorated and had traditional Chinese furniture (including the antique bed that is more than 100 years old). We had a few problems when we first arrived in Beijing (which had nothing to do with the hotel) and the free internet (and in room computer) was extremely helpful. The staff was second to none in helping us sort everything out and their English is outstanding. I can not say enough good things about how helpful the staff is. If you are traveling to Beijing and looking for a place to stay that actually feels like China instead of your typical hotels, look no further. Double Happiness Courtyard offers an authentic atmosphere, a phenomenal staff, a great location, and and a wonderful, comfortable stay.

Room Tip: The Luxury Wedding Suite is very comfortable and gorgeously decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed four nights in this delightful hotel. Large room, decorated in Chinese style with good taste, free internet, very friendly and cheerfull staff, great breakfast, free bikes. Could not wish for more, will come back..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#15 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,248 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,240 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,448 in Beijing
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,448 in Beijing
702 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,448 in Beijing
2,801 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Property: Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#72 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing