We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Intimate, Close to Subway & Excellent English Speaking Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #12 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet, Intimate, Close to Subway & Excellent English Speaking Staff”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Our stay was fabulous. Being in a hutong (alley) provides a quiet environment that offers a visitor a true experience of living within a neighborhood in Beijing. It is within an easy 10 minute walk to the Dongsi subway station on line 5, making it easy to get to the Forbidden City, Tianamen Square and the Temple of Heaven. The staff was wonderfully helpful and spoke fluent english. Breakfast offered choices within American, European or Chinese customs. Eateries within the hutong that the Double Happiness Courtyard was on where excellent. A truly remarkable stay in Beijing, and our highlight of all our stays within China.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoMoreTuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    388
    52
    12
    6
See reviews for
407
651
231
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This is not the Hilton, but if you want to experience Beijing it's wonderful!! Seems like it was a rich merchants home from the 1930's transformed into a quaint bed and breakfast with courtyards, lanterns, koi ponds and very nice rooms, right in the heart of Beijing (6 minute walk to the metro). It had a wonderful restaurant right down the street. The staff was exceptional. Warm and friendly. Very helpful, and they all spoke very good English (a must in Beijing). Don't let the location scare you, it was right in the middle of the Hutongs and gave us quite a surprise when the taxi driver turned down this seedy looking lane. That said it was safe and we felt like we really got a sense of the Beijing of the 21st centrury, seeing an integral part of Beijing that we otherwise might have missed. HIghly recommended. The only downside that might deter some is that the bed has three rails around it. This means that there is only one way in and out. When the inner person has to take care of business in the middle of the night, they must crawl over their partner on the outside. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We (two couples) stayed for 5 nights at the Double Happiness Hotel, based on a traditional old courtyard house. This was our second Beijing hotel, the first having been a typical ‘western style’ chain hotel. Both hotels were of an excellent standard, but the Double Happiness offered a completely different experience. We would certainly stay here again.

On arrival we were greeted by cheerful, friendly reception staff (who spoke excellent English). Throughout our stay all the staff were friendly and helpful, keen to do everything possible to make our stay memorable. The rooms were amazing… clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished and decorated in authentic Chinese style. There was also seating in the enclosed courtyard, excellent for relaxing after a tiring day (as an alternative to the very pleasant bar).

Breakfast (included in our room rate) was very good with the usual buffet mixture of Chinese and Western options. Although dinner was also available, we opted instead for various local restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel and had some excellent meals.

Since the hotel is in a narrow street, access by taxi can sometimes be a problem, but the short walk from the main road is fine. Also the Dongsi subway station is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel and very convenient for many of Beijing’s main attractions. At the end of our stay the hotel ordered taxis to the airport for us. The taxis arrived on time and cost about 100RMB, as predicted by the hotel.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariner46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenyang, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We are finishing up our three night stay at the Double Happiness and couldn't agree more with all the positive reviews about his hotel. It has definitely been the highlight of our trip to Beijing. The room, food, service and overall experience has been absolutely delightful. As a group of four (two adults, two children ages 5 and 3), we booked a family room and were very pleased with it. In fact, the only complaint I would have is that they unfortunately don't offer lunch here. Breakfast and supper are so tasty I would love to be able to order something midday. I realize that the reason they don't offer lunch is because most guests aren't aeound during the day, but it would be nice to even be able to get some reheated fried rice.

Our next stay in Beijing will definitely include The Double Happiness Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jand872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I think that the appeal of this hotel is that it provides all the little luxuries travellers enjoy at more western five star hotels with the intimacy and authenticity of a small inn. Guests have all the modern must haves such as free wifi as well as a computer in their rooms, cable tv, lovely toiletries, modern bathroom. They also have the kind of personal service which I think is partly due to the staff's excellent English skills. Hotel staff in China often come across as cold and unwelcoming and I believe it is largely due to limited English skills.
Other reviewers have described the hotels wonderful breakfasts and furnishings etc so I won't go into those. Rather I would like to highlight the way in which the hotel's location brings you into contact with the people who live in this rapidly disappearing part of Beijing. Walking down the hutong street of dongsisitao one sees the lives of the people. From the little hole in the wall shops where one can buy water, ice creams, snacks etc for a few Yuan, the restaurants that still cater to locals as well as more western ones such as Taste, the local street "security" appointees - usually elderly women who sit there chatting with passers by and people availing themselves of the public toilets that serve the local community. Every walk down the street on the way to Dongsi subway station provided an experience of the real Beijing. While this may not be what you are looking for, it was for me one of the many reasons why you should choose the Double Happiness Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balihappy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwarzwald
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This must be about the best hotel in Beijing. We stayed for 4 nights and were very well looked after by the very friendly and attentive staff. They organized dinner and a Chinese opera evening for us. We found that they were the only staff able to speak English. Even in the big chain hotels there was no way to communicate properly in English at reception. Breakfast was wonderfully traditional. Location is very authentic. Lovely individual rooms with nice large beds. We had a great time and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Really impressed with this hotel. An authentic, well set out room with fruit basket and plenty of drinking water. Mini bar excellent price. As others have mentioned, a tad difficult to find. Go down the road and it's a few hundred metres past the police station on the left, We had a 2am flight and visited the Great Wall at Jinshaling on our last day. The lovely ladies in the hotel let us use a room for a shower on our return. Recommend the 3 stops on the metro to the north to visit the Confucius temple and the many cafes and bars in the hutong in it's vicinity. We had a fantastic time in Beijing and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,364 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,856 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,474 in Beijing
737 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,686 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,474 in Beijing
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Property: Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#24 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing