We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #12 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Just back from Beijing which was the last stop on our China visit, having stayed in Xian and Shanghai also. We arrived on an overnight sleeper from Xian, caught the no 21 bus then the metro to Dongsi metro station and then a 5 minute walk to the hotel. It cost less than £1 to get there.This really felt like old China and even though you think you may have just arrived in the slums, the people who live in the Hutong are delightful, warm and friendly. The Double Happiness is situated at the top end of Dongsi Sitao (road) and the name of this hotel describes it perfectly. The staff are warm and friendly, the courtyard layout is relaxing in this bustling and very crowded city. The decor is sweet and they were fitting new carpet (red obvs) whilst we were there. There are nice touches of accommodating their Western visitors, in particular the breakfast. There are no many restaurants and eateries in the Hutong, you will be spoilt for choice. We felt totally at ease and were grateful as this was the fiirst area my husband and I were not being photographed by the locals or other Eastern tourists. I have travelled all over the World but this ranks as one of my favourite hotels ever - it's one that will stay in our hearts forever - thoroughly recommend! (Southport, Merseyside, UK)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    376
    48
    12
    6
See reviews for
390
626
225
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Everything everyone has said is all correct.....very helpful staff...good English....great alternative to a big motel chain....we are so pleased we stayed here for our second stint in Beijing....we now feel like we have TRULY experienced the city....the staff are so proud of their little establishment....delightful....on our checkout we were presented with a tin of local tea....not sure how "local" it is...BUT it was a very nice touch....we asked for a taxi to be ordered for us at 10pm the night of our departure....and sure enuff he was there waiting 10 minutes early....our bags were spirited away into the cab while we were checking out....a very nice and pleasant trip to the airport.....just wonderful....would truly recommend staying here if u want to "experience" the old Beijing....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tads81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Double Happiness was our first hotel in Beijing. Travelling through the Hutong to get there got us feeling like we could really only be in China. We were told on arrival that they had upgraded our room which is always nice to hear. Our room was off the lovely traditional courtyard which was lit by lanterns and very romantic (rm 098). So it was love at first sight for us and Double Happiness.
The room was a good size and kept the romantic theme going with a red silk canopy over the bed and standing lanterns giving off a flattering glow. The bathroom was clean and the shower had 2 flow options and good water pressure. Lots of complimentary bathroom bits and pieces too - more than the average hotel. Very friendly staff full of good humor and knowledge and it is located near some great hole in the wall restaurants in the Hutong. Breakfast there is excellent - a near ridiculous choice of Chinese, standard western and totally random things to start your day with. Only tip for those taking a day trip to the wall - you might want to get up early and grab breakfast in the Hutong or smile sweetly at the receptionists to see if you can get early access to the breakfast buffet. The breakfast they supplied us with for our day trip was not great - a variety of pre packaged cakes (plus yoghurt and apple thank god). Other than this trivial gripe we highly recommend Double Happiness we wished we'd had more time here and will make a beeline for it if we return.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room. We stayed in 098 and can recommend this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Where do I start...the free breakfast that is better than others elsewhere I've paid 100RMB for, the friendly staff (Catherine and Jaclyn are lovely young ladies), free wifi, a computer in the room, morning english language newspaper, two large bottles of water free each day and plenty of peace and quiet. But it's the location that really seals it - only 200 metres from Dongsi Subway Station (please make a pledge - I WILL NOT TAKE A TAXI IN BEIJING) and in a delightful hutong that's bustling with the same activity that's been going on for years.... I thoroughly recommend it

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJJ70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Our stay was fabulous. Being in a hutong (alley) provides a quiet environment that offers a visitor a true experience of living within a neighborhood in Beijing. It is within an easy 10 minute walk to the Dongsi subway station on line 5, making it easy to get to the Forbidden City, Tianamen Square and the Temple of Heaven. The staff was wonderfully helpful and spoke fluent english. Breakfast offered choices within American, European or Chinese customs. Eateries within the hutong that the Double Happiness Courtyard was on where excellent. A truly remarkable stay in Beijing, and our highlight of all our stays within China.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoMoreTuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

This is not the Hilton, but if you want to experience Beijing it's wonderful!! Seems like it was a rich merchants home from the 1930's transformed into a quaint bed and breakfast with courtyards, lanterns, koi ponds and very nice rooms, right in the heart of Beijing (6 minute walk to the metro). It had a wonderful restaurant right down the street. The staff was exceptional. Warm and friendly. Very helpful, and they all spoke very good English (a must in Beijing). Don't let the location scare you, it was right in the middle of the Hutongs and gave us quite a surprise when the taxi driver turned down this seedy looking lane. That said it was safe and we felt like we really got a sense of the Beijing of the 21st centrury, seeing an integral part of Beijing that we otherwise might have missed. HIghly recommended. The only downside that might deter some is that the bed has three rails around it. This means that there is only one way in and out. When the inner person has to take care of business in the middle of the night, they must crawl over their partner on the outside. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We (two couples) stayed for 5 nights at the Double Happiness Hotel, based on a traditional old courtyard house. This was our second Beijing hotel, the first having been a typical ‘western style’ chain hotel. Both hotels were of an excellent standard, but the Double Happiness offered a completely different experience. We would certainly stay here again.

On arrival we were greeted by cheerful, friendly reception staff (who spoke excellent English). Throughout our stay all the staff were friendly and helpful, keen to do everything possible to make our stay memorable. The rooms were amazing… clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished and decorated in authentic Chinese style. There was also seating in the enclosed courtyard, excellent for relaxing after a tiring day (as an alternative to the very pleasant bar).

Breakfast (included in our room rate) was very good with the usual buffet mixture of Chinese and Western options. Although dinner was also available, we opted instead for various local restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel and had some excellent meals.

Since the hotel is in a narrow street, access by taxi can sometimes be a problem, but the short walk from the main road is fine. Also the Dongsi subway station is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel and very convenient for many of Beijing’s main attractions. At the end of our stay the hotel ordered taxis to the airport for us. The taxis arrived on time and cost about 100RMB, as predicted by the hotel.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariner46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Property: Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#70 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing