We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Among the best places to stay in Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #12 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Among the best places to stay in Beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Wonderful place to stay in Beijing. The breakfast buffet is a work of art. Staff dresses in traditional Chinese clothing, and they are wonderful and helpful. I was taken to my room by the hostess and upon entering it and taking a brief tour of the room, she asked me if I was "happy"? I said "I was!" She said that she was then too. Hence the name Double Happiness. No doubt if I go back to Beijing I will always stay here. . . if there is room for me.

Room Tip: I only stayed in one room and it was wonderful. I felt like I had the whole place to myself
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oudstryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    380
    50
    12
    6
See reviews for
396
632
225
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

When we first arrived in Beijing we stayed in an upscale hotel in the Sanlitun area, following friends' advice, but found both the area and the hotel charmless. A good half hour was also spent trying to get the check-in staff to find our bookings, as hardly anyone spoke English.
When we came back to Beijing the second time we stayed at the Double Happiness instead. It could not have been better from the get go and I so regretted not having come here sooner. The staff are mostly girls (with wonderfully witty Dede in charge), they all speak really good English, are very friendly and helpful. In short, they get what you need straight away. And they are also quite a laugh. Special mention is also due to Alan, who was great help with our numerous bags and helped instruct grumpy taxi drivers.
The hotel itself is as described by others. Really lovely pretty rooms, clean, with functioning wi-fi in the room (not as obvious as it seems in Beijing) and in a really charming central area, barely 5 minutes walking from Dongsi metro on Line 5.
I could not recommend it more. Quick word of advice. Taxis are often reluctant to take you to hutongs (small alleys) as they are afraid to get stuck. However the hotel's alley is wide enough and not too busy, so insist to be taken to the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenaiolanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I was only there overnight but would certainly visit again. Conveniently placed, small and friendly. Cosy with a luxurious feel - red satin, pretty cups and teapot, computer and WiFi. It is in a little laneway which I enjoyed exploring and where I could peek into the local lifestyles.

Room Tip: The queen was the same price as a single when I booked. Lovely bed with red curtains tucked into an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacklesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I spent 4 days at this hotel early last July and just loved every minute of it.The place is a little oasis in the very middle of a busy and long side street.The decor and the athmosphere is reminiscent of ancient China with silk curtains,covers and hand carved furniture inside and outside the rooms.It is indeed a charming place to stay but what makes it excellent is definitely the staff at the reception:polite,efficient,helpful and with a sense of humor,always trying to help you whith directions,advise and suggestions,on one occasion a young lady phisically took me to a recommended restaurant on the same road and found a place to dance salsa for me...I am looking forward to my next visit and reccommend highly this place

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salsaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Double Happiness is a wonderful hote in the middle of a lively Hutong Alley. We stayed with our young children and an older nephew and niece. We each loved it for different reasons. There is a beautifully decorated bar and lounge area that makes relaxing in an evening easy to do - and there is entertainment there as well every night. Each bedroom is also beautifully decorated and with all the amenities anyone could ask for. BUT by far the best part of the hotel is the staff - they are lovely, friendly, very outgoing and most speak english. Our children all took to DeDe and Alan right away and had so much fun with them. Going out into the Hutong Alley just outside, we were always amazed by just how much life can be seen at any point in the day, from children running around to men sitting about talking as vendors cycle their carts through. Double Happiness is the perfect place to return after a day of sightseeing around Beijing.

Room Tip: For familes, either the wedding suite or the family room make comfortable accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuddTravellingZooFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed 2 nights in a single room in this typical Chinese Courtyard Hotel. The hotel is located in a hutong with lots of old traditional chinese houses and small alleys. I came with the train from the airport and it is close to the subway station and easy to find. The staff is very friendly and helpful and speaks good english. The room was small, but they pay a lot of attention to details and the rooms was lovely decorated. You can easily reach all the sightseeing attractions with the subway from here and the hotel also organizes trips to the Great Wall, Chinese Opera, Kung Fu Shows, etc.
I can highly recommend this place and on my next trip to Beijing I will return!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowWhite81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed here with my family, and we were really impressed. The hotel itself is charming, with wonderful bedrooms and courtyards. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the location is very central. It made a really nice change from the usual modern hotels - this place has real character!

Room Tip: We had one of the 'family' rooms, which had plenty of space for us and our 11 year old daugh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#15 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,450 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,450 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#24 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Property: Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#70 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing