We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel experience of my life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #12 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Plattsmouth, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

#1 best thing about this hotel is the staff. I have never had a hotel experience quite like staying at the Double Happiness. I traveled with my wife and 3 children and since the moment we left the hotel we have truly missed every member of the staff there. I have had great service at hotels but nothing like this. They helped us out with everything and took time to help us immerse ourselves in the culture of China. My son celebrated his birthday at the hotel, Alan and several others on staff helped us find a cake down the street.

#2 best thing about this hotel is the location. If you want to stay in a high-rise downtown, thats great but we will never forget the incredible experience we had living in the Hutongs. You will not regret it. I felt that we truly experienced Beijing.

#3 best thing about his hotel is the courtyard and rooms. The rooms are fantastic and the courtyard is very peaceful. We enjoyed the evenings just relaxing in the courtyard or watching the sunset over the hutongs from the balcony. Absolutely beautiful!

#4 best thing about this hotel is the happy bar. Sitting in the bar drinking a cold Tsingtao beer, listening to the harp and talking to Yang Yan the bartender was one of the best things about this hotel.

Critical items: Since there were 5 of us, we needed an extra bed since even the family room only comes with two beds. The extra bed was a little expensive...about $50 (USD) each night. This is me being very picky, they had the bed ready when we arrived so yes the price is a little steep but again the staff was awesome, the bed was awesome so I just did not care.

We booked a tour group to the Great Wall. The bus was very uncomfortable and the tour guide (not hotel staff) was terrible. She told us one thing about the wall total. We passed this critique on to the hotel staff and they took it for action. Again the staff was awesome. They helped us book a private driver later in the week and that was fantastic.

Overall: This is not a hotel with 5 star amenities but I would give it a 6 star rating if I could. The service, the locale and the experience made this the best hotel stay of all time.

Thank you Vivian, Alan, Nancy, Evelyn, Steven and Yang. You made our stay wonderful. We will visit again for sure.

Room Tip: The Happy Family Room was big enough for our family of 5 but we needed an extra bed which the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherm_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    376
    48
    12
    6
See reviews for
390
626
225
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is really unique, very 'Chinese' with beautiful furnishings and a lovely courtyard and balcony area. The bar is nice and the local girl playing the Chinese harp was entertaining. The staff all speak very good English and they can't do enough to help you. The only downside is the area that the hotel is in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandA_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We loved this hotel with its quaint decor and peaceful green courtyards away from the hustle and bustle of Beijing's streets. This hotel was good value and gave us the true Beijing hu'tong experience. We loved it.

The bathrooms were small but really nice and well appointed. The staff mostly spoke good English and were really helpful. Alan the porter was particularly helpful, taking us in a rickshaw and getting us SIM cards and helping us post items back to Australia. He really went above and beyond.

Also the breakfasts were amazing. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The wedding suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrisFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the double happiness hotel for 5 nights this past September. I have to say the bed was the most comfortable in my four weeks of traveling through Asia. Firm, but not too much so. Nice linens. Cable tv and Wi-fi in the room, also.

The location was a little bit of a drawback in my mind, the hutong street is very narrow (taxi driver did not want to go down it) and quite dark at night. But it is not that far from the subway, maybe 15 min. walk at the most. Atm's are plentiful once you get to the Main Street.

My favorite part about staying here was the staff. Always Cheerful and helpful. Vivian at the front desk also acts as a tour guide on her days off. I highly recommend her.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idnas71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel in Beijing for one week in October, 2013. I chose the hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews and photographs. This hotel deserves all of the high ratings it has received. The staff is young and enthusiastic. They speak English and are very willing to provide information about events, locations, and services.
This is not a modern hotel, so don't expect the glossy commercialism of a Marriott or Hilton. It is located, as the photographs on Tripadvisor show, in a small alley street. The building is old, many of the furnishings are antique, and the courtyards (there are two) made us feel that we were miles away from the crowds and noise of Beijing.
The food in the small bar is delicious and reasonably priced. Each night from 8 to 10, a young woman played a Chinese harp. There was no charge for this entertainment, and it gave us a chance to experience Chinese music in a lovely and intimate setting.
Breakfast was also fascinating. My favorite choice was a round steamed bun that was decorated like a little pig. Instead of pork, however, it contained a slightly sweet egg filling. It was a real treat.
If you want to stay in a hotel that enables you to get close to daily life in Beijing, Double Happiness should be your first choice. It is comfortable, reasonable, and unique.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We cannot fault this hotel in any respect. Its location in a quiet, uncommercialised hutong is lovely. Staff were attentive to us from the moment of our arrival through to our too soon departure. What really impressed us was that they took time to remember you as an individual, not simply as one of many guests. The courtyard setting was a peaceful antidote to the bustle of Beijing and the room was delightful, furnished in traditional style, but very comfortably, with great attention to detail, right down to having loose leaf tea and a teapot! Breakfast choice was amazing, given the hotel's size, and the bar area was relaxing after hectic sightseeing involving much walking.
We were doubly happy here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathat51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked the hotel over the Internet and had some trepidations as the cab from the Airport negotiated the narrow alley entrance to the hotel in the early hours of the morning.
The hotel is located in the historic Hutong area of Beijing, which is the original Beijing and while the alley is a bit off putting at first, turns out to be charming and full of small shops and businesses as well as being the home to many families. I can't say enough of the willingness of the reception staff to make sure we had an enjoyable stay, particularly Stephen, Jaclyn, Vivian and Nancy (see pictures) In fact, all of the staff were helpful and succeeded in making us feel well cared for. We actually spent a week on our first visit, left on a train trip to Siberia and returned for a further three days before returning home.
On our return from the train trip, we were welcomed back like old friends and our early check in requirements were met very graciously, even though the hotel was fully booked.
The included breakfasts are a treat and consist of a full buffet of European, American and Asian food. Another point in favor of the Hotel is its location, a short walk to the Dongsi Subway station. The subway system is a great way to get around Beijing and the hotel staff advised us on visiting many of the local attractions via the subway. We, my wife and I, can highly recommend the Double Happiness Hotel to anyone visiting Beijing.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have access via a fairly steep stairway (no elevator) but the ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Property: Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#69 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing