We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #15 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay. From the start I got an upgrade to a room on the second floor at the end of the corridor. The bed was beautiful and the mattress was comfortable actually, not too firm like in most other courtyard hotels in China. The bed came with a comfortable duvet, and everything was very clean. Shower was good size and water pressure was good. And there two talking birds at the entrance!

Breakfast was excellent, included both Western and Chinese choices, even though the tables and chairs were not very comfortable. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful and cheerful.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from Dongsi subway station. It is located in an alley, so this could be a plus or a minus depending on your tastes, but the location is very quiet, safe and convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miami_Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a wonderful hotel! My husband, nephew, and I stayed here in October and what fun! It is quirky, the room and bathroom was wonderful and all the front desk workers were helpful. We all loved it and the community it is in. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I just got back from Beijing after staying at this wonderful hotel and all I can say is wow!!!! The staff went above and beyond in every way to make our stay pleasant and memorable. We stayed in a honeymoon sweet and the accommodations were fantastic! The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was totally westernized...it had a built in blow dryer and a universal outlet which you could plug a dual voltage 110 plug in to. The front desk people, including Jackie and Allen were so helpful in telling us places to go, giving us directions, and getting cabs for us. They even took us on their rickshaw to get a cab! The Happy Lounge was also a wonderful place to come home to after a long day of sightseeing. If you want an authentic Chinese experience staying at the Double Happiness is a must...you won't regret it!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frimdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I recently spent seven nights at this charming hotle. Try to get room 068 or 086. Staff is great, breakfast buffet is well done (it's small but remember - this hotel only has 31 rooms), and it's a great location to begin a walk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsWithStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I spent my final night in China at the Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel in October 2013 and was not disappointed. I loved everything about it. From the staff to the rooms to the food to the location, everything about it was what I was hoping it would be. As many other reviewers have noted, the hotel is in a hutong, and it feels a bit like you're stepping back in time. My room was small but very cozy and beautiful. The bed was SO comfortable!
Staff members at the hotel speak excellent English and are very helpful. Breakfast is great as is dinner in the Happy Bar. I definitely recommend eating dinner there. And the wifi connection was great.
I personally liked the location. It's not walking distance to the major sights. However, those places aren't far away. Plus, the chance to stay in a traditional hutong in a beautifully-appointed room is far more appealing to me than staying in a large western hotel.
I actually walked to the hotel from the Dongsi subway station. It's an easy 10 minute walk. Otherwise, you can get a taxi to take you right to the door of the hotel. You may just have to be insistent about being taken all of the way to the door, as they don't always like to drive down the alleyways.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was terrific. Very nice and accomodating staff and a very nice bar with a local musician playing on a couple of nights. Go in and order the Filet for dinner one night in the bar... it was fabulous and very affordable. Great breakfast every morning of our three night stay here. The staff all speak english so it was very easy to get them to give us directions around town and help us with anything we needed. When we go back to Beijing we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed for 3 days at this hotel. Great staff, always helpfull and speak very good English. Vivian always gives good tips if you looking for something special in Beijing. Great location and wonderfull Chinese style hotel. Rooms fully equipped. Cozy bar with drinks and food. Great breakfast buffet with lots off choises. Good working (free)WiFi. Value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#33 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,994 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#47 of 6,606 in Beijing
587 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#21 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,388 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#110 of 6,606 in Beijing
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#44 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £80 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing