We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and room that the whole family loved!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at Beijing Double Happiness Courtyard hotel beginning of January, using the 72-hour visa possibility at the way back from Thailand.
The family room was fantastic. It had an antique double bed with curtains, another slightly smaller double and a single. The furniture was so charming, and there were colorful silk fabrics on the beds. The bathroom was clean and nice. Both us adults and the kids loved the quirkyness of the hotel, you go in, then out, up some stairs, then to your room, there are courtyards and semi-open hallways. The breakfast room was rather small but there was always room, and they fitted in a huge variety of food for breakfast that we loved. In the evenings we were too exhausted to eat elsewhere, so we had drinks in the small bar and some food, listening to live music by a girl playing a traditional instrument. It was simply great.
To see the daily life in the hutong when you go out for the day also adds to the experience.
They are strict in China with the Visa routines. Our youngest got the wrong stamp in her passport and we almost had to go back to the airport on the morning we arrived to the hotel. However, with frantic search of phone numbers by myself and finally some help from Vivian in the reception with discussion in Chinese, a nice car eventually pulled up in the hutong with the same airport official that had stamped the passport wrongly - and corrected the error. What a fantastic service! Both us and the hotel staff were surprised!!
Although we managed to see the Forbidden City, the Summer Palace and the Great Wall (Mutinyau) there is so much more to see in Beijing, we hope to be back soon and then we will definitely go back to this hotel!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessieno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel suited us perfectly. We prefer to stay away from the big corporate hotels. The location was very good, a short walk to the metro station, and a longer walk to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen square. The staff were excellent, the room was quiet, spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. We really enjoyed the feeling that we were staying in a real neighborhood rather than a large corporate hotel facing on to a busy street. As we were traveling very lightly it was easy to walk from the main street to the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite - it had a very nice sitting area in the room. It was on the second floor and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annelfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you are used to and like staying in hotels like Radissons, Hilton's etc.... This hotel may not be for you. It's location is not the prettiest and it's quite traditional and authentic. The building is in excess of 200 years old, however it makes for a good experience when staying in Beijing. The hotel is within walking distance to the city centre (approx. 20 mins) and is approx. 30 mins from the forbidden city, palace etc.... Breakfast was not great however you were able to eat toast at least. The hotel was quite cold especially walking to and from the reception and the breakfast area. If arriving at night it can seem quite scary given it's located on a very narrow side street, however our taxi driver was happy to drop us off right outside the door. The hotel were happy to arrange day trips and help with any other questions about the area. We ate in the hotel one night and service was very slow, it took 1 hour to be served a starter, however it was worth the wait as it was very tasty and reasonably priced. I guess if you want to stay somewhere a bit different then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mistylibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver_Tian, Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thanks a lot for your time to make a review for us and the winter is really the tough season for both the hotel and our guests. The large courtyard open to the air can give our unique experience as well as some inconvenience especially in cold weather. But with the coming of spring, everything will be restored to her perfect mode and hope to have another chance to serve you and your lovely family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A wonderful Hotel in a really excellent location. We had a fabulous three nights here in the honeymoon suite and everyone was so nice and helpful. If you want to experience a little bit of China stay here and not at some westernised faceless hotel where you could be anywhere in the world. We sat outside in the courtyards having an evening drink looking at the beautiful rooms and coloured lanterns surrounding us and it really was magical. The rooms all have good facilities and plenty of tea ! The breakfast was very good and plentiful, with plenty of choice. All the staff speak excellent English so no language problems at all. Everybody is also incredibly helpful to. All the reviews on here are correct, it is an excellent choice for your stay in Beijing.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite bigger and not much more in money, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soprano30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in this lovely hotel. We enjoyed the very helpfull staff. The room was very clean and had a lovely autentic athmosphere. Great breakfast.
Hotel situated in a hutong gives you a nice experience of the Beijing real life.
Short walk to metro station and it is possible to walk to Tian an men square.
Very nice local restaurants nearby.
We will come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is my third visit to Beijing and this time I decided to stay at Double happiness, it is a traditional Beijing hotel but I felt it was more like a good hostel or maybe a 3 star hotel. The hotel is located in a congested Hutong and not in the best location but not the worst either. It is all a little tacky and cheap and paying the rate I paid I felt this was too expensive compared to other similar hotels I stayed in Beijing. The lady however at the desk whose name I can not remember (made up of 3 english names) was super friendly and made me feel very welcome after flying in from the North East of China. The hotel was clearly busy at the desk and she had some difficulties coping with it all when I arrived , but she did do a great job although it all took a little while.

This is not a luxury hotel at all more like a good hostel as i wrote earlier. The room I stayed in was super small and a notice in the bathroom read do not use too much hot water as it will basically run out quickly which did put me off and I was happy my wife was not with me as we would have had to check out. When I spotted some hairs in the shower however it did put me off but as I was here for business and had little time available I just put up with it.

There was a computer in the room which I did not except and I did like the tea service in the room
The bed however was small for me but I was on my own which meant it was ok. The room however felt very claustrophobic and uncomfortable as a result. I would certainly recommend to reserve a larger size room especially if there is 2 of you.

The restaurant and bar area really lets this place down. I ate some noodles late afternoon early evening which i could not finish. there was nobody else there as the area is fa less attractive compared to the courtyard ares when you feel do del you are in the middle of Beijing. Breakfast was pretty awful. It was cluttered, messy, and to an extend that tables were left dirty for ages with food and crumbles on the floor. Buffet selection was fine.

The check out was completely different to the check in almost to the point of being rude but I am never really sure if this is related to the language barrier. I would not stay here again on my next visit to beijing.

Room Tip: the cheapest room I had was too small and claustrophobic , order a larger room…...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willem333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver_Tian, Manager at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear guest, I am so sorry to know we failed to provide satisfying service for your stay and please email me your room No. and checkout date at hotel37@gmail.com. I will personally check our service shortcomings and I want to make sincere apology for your bad feeling and inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Had a great time in Double Happinesse. The Team is so nice, helpfull, hospitable and well prepared. The chinese style of the Hotel makes your stay from the first moment perfect. I can highly recomend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryka91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#17 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,568 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,963 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#18 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,565 in Beijing
811 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#44 of 6,565 in Beijing
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#16 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £69 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing