We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I was in Beijing for 3 days and 2 nights. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left the staff was really nice and helpful. The room is lovely, never cold although it was winter and really clean. The courtyard is pretty but in the winter you can't really enjoy it (I will have to come back). The breakfast was good, varied. My only problem was that they forgot to give the "breakfast to go" that I asked due to yhe fact that my train was departing at 6 am. (And I checked out a 5am). I really recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed five nights in a big courtyard room. For our kids this was their first time in China, and the lay-out and decor of the hotel made their chinese fantasy come true.

Room was spacios and comfortable, breakfast good and well assorteted. Service at front desk always super. Very friendly, sharing advise etc. Front desk helped us with dinner bookings and a driver to the Great Wall.

TIP: use their airport pick-up service, and you are sure to be taken to the door of the hotel. Not all taxi drivers want to drive their car up the narrow street.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A small hotel with rooms off courtyards. Rooms small but adequate and decorated in Chinese style. Small bar with meals available. Breakfast Room and food - very good. A nice intro to my visit to China. Good location.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WendyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Loved this place - was travelling on my own, but would definitely take family & friends back to this warm, inviting, traditionally Chinese inspired hotel. It is nestled away in a darkened, narrow lane way, so try to arrive during day light hours; walking alone down an unknown, lone alley trying to find this place in the middle of the night was a little disconcerting. I did happen to meet a few young locals along the way and they read the address I had & pointed me in the right direction - a safe area, but if you do arrive in the night by taxi have the driver take you all the way to the front door. The bedrooms are delightful, comfortable and exactly what I needed at the end of my travels (Wi-Fi included). The price is mid range, the breakfast was Asian styled & plentiful, and the staff were welcoming & helpful. This place is definitely worth the little bit of extra effort it takes to find it.

Room Tip: There are stairs & no lifts, so if you can't or don't feel climbing stairs with your lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. the decor is beautiful and breakfast is great. the staff speaks english and always very helpful. The wifi was surprisingly fast. The staff... a special thanks to the front office staff for helping us with our train tickets!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerome m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Makes a welcome change from the mainstream westernised hotels that I have stayed in. The street that it is located in is not the prettiest but if you can put this aside this place oozes charm and character. I would love to give this a whirl when its a bit warmer as the rooms encircle a traditional courtyard where there are tables and chairs so you can laze around and chat to other travellers. If you are a cracked tile freak or looking for an ultra modern bathroom then this is perhaps not the place for you but if you are looking for a one-off experience reminiscent of old china then give this place a go. O.K the TV reception isn't good but who cares they had one of the best stocked mini bars that I have come across during my travels,

Room Tip: Just enjoy the experience. Have a drink in the bar and then go and wander. I know the small ramshack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparky1234529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Double Happiness was a hotel that amazed us during our 4 night stay here. For the price that we paid, the hotel exceeded our expectations. The hotel facilities included Wi-Fi which was free along with a wonderful and plentiful breakfast. Our room was a clean haven in this modern hotel. The hotel location was perfect with the Dong Si metro station and subway station close by along with various shops and restaurants to try out. We got to experiment and indulge ourselves when it came to food. We felt quite safe here. The staff made this hotel like home for us. The staff was very warm and friendly though they were not very well versed in English. We felt at ease here during our stay. The hotel was light on our pockets. Avoid the taxi as they can be a bit costly as compared to other forms of commute.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,566 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#30 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,962 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#19 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,565 in Beijing
811 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#46 of 6,565 in Beijing
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#17 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £69 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing