We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$255
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$175
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$497
US$382
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$241
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$350
US$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$141
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$265
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$270
US$160
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$564
US$361
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,865)
Filter reviews
1,865 results
Traveller rating
1,380
413
52
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,380
413
52
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding suitedongsi subway stationtraditional chinese furniturefamily roomnarrow alleytraditional hotelchinese experienceforbidden citytaxi driverreal chinahutong areamodern amenitiesbeijing experiencedumplingsbreakfast roomloved this hotelsmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
687 - 692 of 1,865 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at the DHCH for 2 nights. Full of charm. This being my first trip to China I was a bit concerned about the street safety which was mentioned in a few of the reviews. No worries. As a single female traveler the walk to the hotel (it is a very narrow road which connects to two very busy city streets) was a lot of fun. The hotel sits in middle of a a residential street in an old part of Beijing. The front desk clerks were very friendly all spoke English. Chinese touches in everywhere. A quiet retreat from the city. Breakfast was amazing. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annalou1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I spent 3 weeks in China and Double Happiness was one of the highlights. A truly lovely hotel with fantastic staff who really go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable.
Our room was cosy and had everything we could possibly want - including a computer which was a great bonus. Western style toilet and shower make everything very comfortable.
The bed! Chinese beds are fantastic anyway but Double Happiness bed was the best.
The street is really interesting and so close to everything. There is fantastic street food all around as well as very good restaurants if you want high end (Da Dongs is highly recommended).
We had to leave early one morning and the staff were so obliging with getting together some breakfast food to take with us.
Staying in this hotel really made the whole Beijing experience so much better.

Room Tip: We had room 128 which was really cute and comfortable
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catslave5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Reservations and email correspondence were fast and efficient. The hotel provided instructions in Chinese to give the taxi driver and the metered taxi cost 92RMB from Beijing airport. The hotel is about 400 meters east down the 3rd hutong off of busy Dongsi Street. It is clearly marked so you can't miss it. Check in was seamless and all the front desk staff speak relatively good English. We were taken to our room which is a larger "wedding" room that could sleep 3 people. The hotel has so much character and even though there may be some paint peeling or wood chipping, it is very clean. There are in room amenities that you would find in western hotels such as toiletries, coffee maker, mini bar, safe, TV, computer and wifi. The bed was extremely comfortable the room is so quiet and the courtyard is a beautiful place to sit and relax. Breakfast is included with a large variety of Asian food as well as some western food. There is certainly enough to get you going for the day. There is free use of bicycles and umbrellas if needed.
This hotel hit the mark with so many things. It was in a great location a 15 minute walk to the line 5 Dongsi station (we relied solely on the subway to get around Beijing). The staffs were very helpful with directions, restaurant reservations, and writing directions in Chinese to make sure we'd get where we were going by subway. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and made you feel as if you were living in an ancient imperial courtyard.
Overall I was very pleased with our stay here and would recommend it if you are looking for a great Asian cultural experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lightningboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel was very cozy, with a lovely courtyard. Staff was extremely professional, helpful and efficient. The rooms are quite small but charming and functional. This is not a business hotel, but rather a tourist/backpacker place. The breakfast is quite limited, but again you don't stay here for the breakfast. The hotel is easy to access and situated on a narrow street with at least two very nice places to eat. Yes, I would stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrik_Kerstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our long trip through Asia via a cruise was concluded with a 6 day stop in Beijing. We stayed at the Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel. This was by far, one of the most pleasant stays at any hotel that my wife and I have ever had. Our room was comfortable, with all of the conveniences of western culture, (air conditioning, "western style" toilet, computer, television, safe, coffee and tea maker and complimentary toiletries). All of this in a most traditional atmosphere of traditional China. All of the furniture was traditional Chinese. The bed was very comfortable. In warmer weather we would have used the courtyard as others did. This was a nice feature of the hotel as well.

I must admit that driving through the hutong to get to the hotel was an eye opener, if not a surprise. The taxi barely fit through the parked cars, bicycles and people walking. But the hotel was like an oasis. All of the staff members were extremely nice. They were all fluent in English and were the most accommodating hosts and hostesses that you could ever imagine.

Finally, the food that was served at breakfast was remarkable. Both Chinese traditional dishes and western style food were available in an array that was almost overwhelming. One morning we went on a tour at 5:00AM. The staff packed up an assortment of breakfast foods to take with us since breakfast wasn't served until 7:00. And by the way, my wife and I are big coffee drinkers. The coffee was excellent! We had dinner in the bar/restaurant each night as well. There is a variety of offerings on the menu. Although we chose to eat traditional Chinese food, you could have even had a pizza or burger if you wanted! The service was great and one night we were treated to a live musical performance and a tea ceremony.

In all, we were extremely satisfied. The hotel is the top rated "Trip Advisor" hotel in Beijing (out of about 5000 hotels) because it deserves it. It is all that they say it is (and more). We are looking forward to another trip to China in the future where we will definitely consider staying again. Thank you all so much for making our staying so very pleasant!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter, all of the rooms are nice. You need to pick out the size bed and go.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews