We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience in the heart of Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

All the below reviews are 100% right - this is a fabulous hotel...more of an experience than just a place to rest your head. From the The front desk team of Jacklyn & June, to the the gracious groundskeepers the service is top-notch. We enjoyed two delightful nights here (after staying at an over-rated 5 star hotel) and Double Happiness beats that stay hands-down for service, character and charm. We stayed in one of the wedding suites (complete with our own terrace) and had a great view of the comings and goings of the hutong, while also offering a spacious and very comfortable room that is beautifully. The breakfast buffet provides ample fuel for a busy day of sightseeing and the charming bar a restful respite in the evening. The metro is just a few blocks away for easy access to all the locations in town. If you're looking for something to help you experience life in Beijing, we highly, HIGHLY recommend Double Happiness!

Room Tip: we loved the Wedding Suite - very spacious and bright - with a huge private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orion1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a superb choice if you want to see the real side of china. The Double Happiness gives you authentic Chinese accommodation but with all the western comforts. Plus the staff are truly wonderful. Receptionists really care, all speak good English and are available 24/7. It really does deserve it's great reputation.
Don't be afraid of the street its down, it very safe and in fact there are some wonderful restaurants there. There's one in particular (no idea what its called!) that we walked past and watched the guys shell massive sacks of oysters every single morning, so we ate there one night, and it was amazing, my favorite meal of the trip. Getting around from the Double Happiness was also extremely easy, its in a great spot, very close to a subway station, which we used every day (myself and two teenage kids). Even travelling back late at night was no problem and we felt very safe. We really loved the area and were so pleased this was our base for the week. This place is highly recommend and worth the money...you'll love it!

Room Tip: We had a family room with a carved Chinese wedding bed...fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smileygirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel is a great way to experience the old Beijing. It has lots of character in its location in an active Beijing neighborhood. Once the home of a high-ranking official, the old building has been converted into sleeping rooms, a bar, and a breakfast room. The sleeping rooms are more modern than other courtyard hotels where I have stayed in the past—wifi throughout, flat screen TV, mini-bar, modern bathrooms, but the hard beds of traditional China. If you want five-star luxury, this is not the place for you. If you want more of a Beijing experience, then by all means stay here.

The women at the front desk and in the bar all speak excellent English so communication is not a problem.

Suggestion--try to get someone to write the detailed address in Chinese. The information available on the Hotels.com website is insufficient for a taxi driver to find the place, and the map on that website shows a totally different part of the city. (Basically, you go up Dongsi Dajie to the fourth alley—Dongsi Sitiao—and turn right into the local neighborhood. Number 37 is about 2/3 of the way down the alley.)

Or maybe English language websites can include the location written in Chinese characters. I’ve had this for other small hotels and it makes a big difference in finding the place.

But once you arrive you will enjoy the experience!

Room Tip: If you are mobility-challenged (or just have bad knees), ask for a room on the first floor. The sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feistygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booked the hotel a few months ahead of travel time based on the reviews online. A thoughtful cash gift for cab driver was sent to us right way. And this was definitely a good sign of super service. Started with helpful and friendly staff at arrival and entering the hotel, tidy and charming courtyards, traditional room settings (wedding suite) with comfortable bedding, sufficient hot water at any time, thorough house cleaning daily, various breakfast featuring Chinese and western (American) eating, cozy musical bar with a friendly kitten visiting, 早上好(Good Morning) and 晚安 (Good Night) greetings from the mynah birds... This is a super transitional Beijing residential (Hutong) stay. And, you do not have to worry about the commute because the hotel can arrange cab service along with all touring for you. And the cab driver for airport service Mr. Liang is excellent!

Room Tip: Because of the time of our trip, we did not need to use air conditioner. And we overheard people who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

More than accommodation – this hotel is an experience. And what wonderful experience we had staying in the Beijing Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel. Staying in the Hutong, with traditional ‘old’ china right outside the hotel. But inside you find a charming an oasis of peace.

On entering the hotel we found the reception staff to be very friendly and helpful and all spoke English well, which made the check in process very easy. As we were taken to our room, we passed through green courtyards which featured plenty of sitting areas and were wonderfully dressed with lanterns etc.

Our room was also delightfully furnished and dressed with Chinese silks and brick a brac. And although the buildings themselves are, old all fixtures and finishes inside modern. Our bathroom featured a fantastic large shower room with plenty of hot water. We also found the beds and pillows to be very comfortable.

The charming ‘internet’ bar offered a wide range of alcoholic drinks (not so much wine though) and a mostly Chinese food menu. We enjoyed the meals we ordered here one night. Our boys also enjoyed the Wii, found on the mezzanine level of the bar – the only problem was that there were signs saying “no jumping” and “be quiet”. That’s a big ask for kids playing Wii (especially when I think they only had the sports games??) I think they should find a spot in the back corner on the ground floor, where a little activity wouldn’t be such a problem because the idea itself is fantastic. While we were there we also enjoyed a lady playing some kind of traditional string instrument.

We traveled with two boys aged 7 and 10 and I would definitely recommend the Beijing Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel as a family experience.

Top Tip: Have your taxi drop you on Zhengyi Road and walk into the hotel. It’s just a 2 minute walk, it’s a great experience and these alleys were just not made for cars. Save yourself the stress of a car trip. Also, if you’re going to stay at this hotel, allow yourself a little extra time in your schedule each day to just sit and ‘decompress’ in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A short family break in Beijing and this was one of the highlights. Made a brilliant change from the usual chain style hotels. A little difficult to find (but the staff talked us in on the phone...) but well worth it. The rooms we're delightful, clean, well equipped and comfortable. A traditional hutong experience. Breakfast was great and food from the bar also was tasty and varied. Highlight for the kids was the Xbox on the mezzanine in the bar which was much appreciated after a long day sightseeing. Staff spoke good English and were all extremely helpful. Family rooms were a good size too. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Do not worry at the surroundings as your taxi enters a narrow and vibrant alley - this hotel is magical. The rooms are clean , tidy and full of chinese character. The courtyards are quiet and peaceful and at night the lanterns turn them into a mystical paradise. - superb places to hang out and chill after a busy day sightseeing. Location is good - major sights like Tiananman and the Forbidden City are a 30 minute walk away. Staff are dedicated to making your stay a real cultural experience. The Happy bar has traditional music evenings. Metro is a 15 minute walk. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,566 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#30 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,962 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#19 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,565 in Beijing
811 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#46 of 6,565 in Beijing
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.37 Dongsi Sitiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Business Hotel in Beijing
#17 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £69 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living in the real heart of the city, you have the chance to witness the daily life of Chinese people. Living in the courtyard house with over 500 year's history, you are closer to those ancient Chinese stories. Our hotel is suitable for culture explorers & mind-peace seeker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing