We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,972)
Filter reviews
1,972 results
Traveller rating
1,461
436
54
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,461
436
54
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding suite dongsi subway station family room traditional chinese furniture narrow alley chinese experience traditional hotel forbidden city taxi driver real china beijing hutong beijing experience dumplings loved this hotel small hotel spoke good english lama temple
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,972 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Sure you could pay the same (even a little less) for a 4-star Western hotel closer to the Forbidden City, but an experience awaits at this hotel made out of a traditional siheyuan (courtyard home). My local Chinese friends said the siheyuan hotels are presently in high demand, since many local and foreign people want the experience--they were curious to come inside with me for a look.

I stayed two nights by myself in a Chinese-style Deluxe Double Room. My Chinese friends gushed, unprompted, that the bedroom is Chinese-style, and said the beautiful bed covering would be traditional for newlyweds. The entire room was very clean. The shower decor was modern.

The location is slightly challenging, but the walk to the subway is really not long. I'm guessing most siheyuans stay safe from the redevelopment bulldozers only when they are a little out-of-the-way.

Print and bring along the hotel's taxi map. You may have to ask a couple of taxis before one takes the fare without asking for larger sums since the path goes down the long hutong alley--the slow drive costs them valuable time and revenue. Once I switched to using the DiDi app (Chinese Uber), I never got a complaint, and I did hand them an extra 20 Yuan for taking the trouble.

The front desk staff was helpful and charming. The A/C was plenty (the outside high/low was 90/70 F). The breakfast buffet options were plentiful. The in-house restaurant's supper was really good.

I can also confirm there were no sewer smells. The staff even plugged in an air freshener on the second day, though I hadn't thought one was needed.

The hotel is very Tripadvisor-user-oriented; they are aiming to please the type of international adventurers that would read this site, and they feature Tripadvisor awards on the wall.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The hotel is full of charm and character, the rooms are beautiful and clean, the beds are comfortable and the attention to detail is amazing. There are several little seating areas in the courtyards and roof terraces to relax away from the hustle and bustle of Beijing. The staff are so friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. Breakfast is plentiful and offers a good selection of Chinese and Western food. The hotel is located in a Hutong down a narrow alleyway so not very easy to find the first time, but then it is just a quick 10 minutes walk to the nearest subway station and you feel like a local walking along the street. There are many shops and restaurants nearby and we even walked to the Forbidden City from the hotel. It is in a great area and we will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Beijing.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BineF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Well you can always stay in a Western Hotel anywhere in the World but when you Travel its nice to see and be a part of how the Locals live we absolutely Loved our stay at Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel it was winter when we were there and our rooms were so cosy and warm and Spotlessly clean the Staff were Amazing so caring and friendly breakfast was really good as well If I ever go back to Beijing I am still going to stay here again happy travels everyone xxx We were there in 2011 but In the box where it says When did you travel I could not find the year for us so I am putting it in here xxx

Stayed: January 2018
Thank nortycorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Really Loved the stay here. Get to feel like a local Peking. Hotel is well kept even in this old area of Peking and nice décor everywhere. Honey Moon Suite was so cool. Everything worked great. No awful sewer smells. Bed was great. Free water every day. Staff super helpful and so nice! Bfast has a lot of variety and pretty good. Birds talks Mandarin to you. It is a ways from local transport, but car service can get there. I would def come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gotcha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Reading some reviews we knew we had to try this place. If you like adventurous hotels with charm, this is the place. If you want soulless chain, this is not for you. It's in the Hutong so it's real china. Walking distance to the Forbidden Palace, Tiananmen square and of course the Hutong markets. The restaurant is very small but worth eating at. There are a few choices close by too. We were so tired after some very long days we just ate at the hotel every night. Breakfasts are tasty too. Wifi is fast and included. All in all a great place to tour from in Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews