We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time stay and I was very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
Ranked #13 of 6,470 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
130 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“First time stay and I was very happy”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was my second trip to Beijing and I wanted to try a different hotel and location. Last time I stayed at the Courtyard which is a nice hotel but the JW offered much more and in a better neighborhood.

The service was top notch. Friendly easy check-in and helpful staff. What I really liked about the staff was every member of the team pitched in to do what was needed. There was no "That's not my job" attitude. During my stay I saw a man pulling and a woman toting several heavy luggage bags heading to check-out. The lobby attendant stepped over to help, already a good sign, but what was remarkable was the cleaning lady in the lobby dropped her broom and when out of her way to help as well. I have never seen that before and that spirit prevailed throughout the operation of the property.

I had access to the Executive Lounge which worked out great. The coffee machine alone saved me plenty as the coffee was as good as what was served at the two nearby Starbucks so there was no need to leave to hotel to get a good cup of coffee.

In the morning you have many options for transportation. The first day I arranged a hotel car which was nice but expensive. Most days I took the subway, the station is a short walk from the hotel and an unbelievable bargain. I do suggest getting on the subway before 7:00 AM. Otherwise I took a taxi. Make sure yo have directions in Chinese and I found a map helped a great deal.

The only fault I had was that the bathroom had limited towel racks, not a big deal.

Room Tip: I'd pick a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeyouinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    389
    61
    19
    9
See reviews for
147
153
86
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Had a 24hr stopover in Beijing on way back to UK and decided to use the 72hr visa-free facility to spend the time in the city rather than in the airport area. Chose the J W Marriott and was not disappointed. Just over a 40min taxi ride in fairly heavy traffic but still only 100 CNY (~ £11) with tip). Rapid check-in by friendly reception staff and delighted with exceptionally spacious and comfortable room. Pleased to be given access to very large executive lounge where afternoon tea, and later beverages & canapés, were served. A very varied and extensive breakfast was available in the lounge the next morning then efficiently checked out by concierge staff before the return (and equally cheap) taxi ride to airport. Due to its location (it's about 5 miles from Tiananmen square for example), I would suggest this hotel is more suited to a short business trip rather than as a tourist base.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
213 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

As a Platinum Marriott member, I do try to stay in Marriott hotels when I travel and have stayed at the JW Marriott Hotel Beijing on multiple occasions. It has, on each trip, proved to be an excellent choice - for both business and tourist activities.

The hotel is lovely and welcoming. My flight arrives from the US at midnight and the reception staff is always ready for me - with my room assignment and key ready the minute I walk in the door. Their service is indicative of the service provided by the concierge, bellmen, and concierge lounge staff employees.

The hotel is large and comfortable. The lobby has ample seating space in the lounge area and I was able to use my iPad and laptop easily in both the lobby and restaurant which is located right off the lobby.

My guest room was on the concierge level of the hotel. All of my rooms at this hotel have been almost identical - large, king-size beds, oversized desk area with ample power and plugs (including US plugs) for electronic devices, good internet service, very nice bathrooms with high end products and a rain shower, plenty of storage in the closets and a safe that is large enough for a laptop.

I very much enjoy the concierge lounge at this hotel. The staff who work there are lovely - they are very helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations, and sightseeing suggestions. Their customer service is excellent - and they always remember you, often by name. The room itself is large - it has table seating, as well as a bar area. Food is offered for breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner. While I don't think the dinner selection is as extensive or as varied as it was a few years ago, it is fine. Breakfast and afternoon tea are excellent - especially the fruit selections. And, if there is something you would like that they don't offer, they are happy to have it delivered from the lobby restaurant.

As a Platinum Marriott member, you are offered breakfast at both the concierge lounge and the lobby restaurant. Breakfast in the lobby restaurant was very good - with breads and pastries, fruits, cereals, quiche, a waffle and pancake bar, and an area that provides both Asian and Western hot food selections, including eggs benedict which were very good. Employees in the restaurant do not speak English - so it is important to be patient when ordering and I found, when I wasn't able to communicate well, they would find a colleague who could speak English to help.

The hotel is within easy walking distance to the subway - which is my preferred method of travel in Beijing. The Silk Market, Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, and the National Museum of China are all on the subway line and located just a few stops away from the hotel station. Other tourist attractions are easily accessed, as well, from this subway line.

Should you prefer to take a taxi, the hotel will provide you with a card that is labeled "My Residence in Beijing" and has the name of the hotel written in Chinese characters. Additionally, the card also lists major tourist attractions - again, all written in Chinese characters. Finally, they have a computer program that allows them to print out instructions to literally any location in Beijing - these directions are also in Chinese characters. The doorman will give the instructions to the taxi driver and will explain to him, as well, where you are going. Providing these directions, written in Chinese, is invaluable - the taxi drivers will not speak English so really appreciate the instructions when you have them.

I always have the sense that his hotel has given a great deal of thought to what foreign travelers need when visiting China and want to provide you with whatever they can to make your trip enjoyable, easy and convenient. I highly recommend the JW Marriott Beijing - the people and the hotel are both wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeeingTheWordFromORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The five star hotel is conveniently located in the central business district (within a very short walk of DaWang Lu subway station) and is next door to The Ritz Carlton. The food was superb and the staff courteous. The health/fitness centre was an an ideal place to relax at the end of the day.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AJJ23TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is an excellent establishment. Not only is the service impeccable, but the facilities are top tier as well. In particular, the pool and health/fitness center is absolutely outstanding. The JW Marriott Beijing also houses Nobu, one of the most renowned Japanese restaurants in the world. Dinner there was very pleasant (try the black miso cod), but my god! The breakfast! The buffet (there is an a la carte option) at the Asia Bistro boasts an intimidating array of western and Chinese staples, many prepared to your exact specification. The service here, as with the rest of the hotel, is remarkable. The breakfast is somewhat pricey, though worth if you're in to eating. The rooms are flawless, well furnished and feature large, beautiful bathrooms. The beds are equipped with very comfortable pillows, sheets, and blankets - each night I slept like a log.
My only complaint with the hotel ended up being that the location was not very close to many of my destinations, though to say it is fringe would be extremely inaccurate (it's just Beijing is not very small).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsundere-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

JW Beijing is your 'run of the mill' JW Marriott - warm welcome - acknowledged as a Platinum member - no explanation but was upgraded to the club floor. Room is very spacious & well finished. Lobby cafe for dinner served great food - staff very courteous. Gym large & well equipped - some weird rule they dont allow foreign TV channels on the equipment.
The reason for 3 stars is the Club Floor - sub par service - staff just not engaging or pro-active - food adequate, beverages ok - big let down is screaming, out of control children having the run of the club. Children should not be allowed after 5pm as this is supposed to be an oasis at the end of your day - not a day care centre.
I provided this feedback to the hotel in a post stay survey - it was acknowledged that they will try to better manage children - I will give it one more try - only if the oasis is calm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiNZExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
206 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The food is amazing, has a lot of peruvian and mexican names in the menu. It is a little expensive but deserve it. The food is really good. i think is the best japanese restaurant y Beijing. Try the sashimi tacos are really good.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pajarito_Viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,470 in Beijing
1,350 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,470 in Beijing
734 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,470 in Beijing
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
The Ritz-Carlton, Beijing
#7 of 6,470 in Beijing
978 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#23 of 6,470 in Beijing
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Beijing

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
Address: No.83A Jianguo Road, China Central Place, Chaoyang District | Huamao Center, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#12 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#23 Business Hotel in Beijing
#24 Family Hotel in Beijing
#49 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#128 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 588
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wether visiting China for business or leisure, guests will find the most luxurious accommodations at the JW Marriott Hotel Beijing. Located in the central business district, the 5-star hotel in Beijing is part of the China Central Palace, an awe-inspiring complex featuring offices, shopping and residential towers. At this spectacular hotel, enjoy first-class services, spacious accommodations and incredible amenities. 588 rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, 42'' flat-screen TV, high-speed Internet, laptop-size safe, mini-bar and rainforest shower. Three exquisite restaurants and two lounges are perfect for dining and catching up with family and colleagues. After a busy day relax in the indoor swimming pool and steam room, pamper yourself at Spa and visit 24-hour gym for an invigorating workout. When planning a conference or social event, guests couldn't choose a finer hotel. The JW Marriott hotel Beijing features 1,800 square meters meeting space; professional event planning and catering service will ensure every event successful and unforgettable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Beijing
Beijing Jw Marriott
Marriott Beijing
Beijing Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing