We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Autumn Garden Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #890 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Melbourne
1 review
“An amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 11 March 2010

The rooms are cosy and decorated in the chinese style. About 15 minutes for walk away from the forbidden city and tinanamen square.The most outstanding aspect was the helpful attitude of the staff. They take hospitality seriously in China, and the Spring Garden exemplifies this.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buleeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Staying at hutong area is must to every openminded traveller! Hotel is nice and sure chinese experience. Nice staff and beautiful rooms!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk94366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Autumn Garden hotel at the end of our trans-siberian railway trip from Moscow and staying there was one of the highlights of an amazing holiday. Staying in the hutong was so much better than an international style hotel, we really felt that we experienced a 'real' bit of Beijing. We loved the choice of english or chinese breakfasts, the room was gorgeous and having free internet was incredibly useful. The location was wonderful too, only 10 minutes walk to Tiananmen square.

Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GreenPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2009

The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, enabling you to find your bearings by providing a trishaw facility to the main road from the hotel. The location of the hotel is a 5 minute walk from Qianmen subway and the furnishings of the hotel rich in tradition. You may not get the western breakfasts you do in more modern hotels but it gives you an opportunity to live like the locals.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applelu065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2008

This is a great little hotel, I booked this hotel based on previous reviews, so I thought I would come on here and recommend it myself.
I went to Beijing on my own for 4 nights to see what its like. It is quite a crazy place, Chinese people seem to take advantage of tourists at every possible opportunity.
The Autumn Garden Hotel however is amazing, such nice people, and I consider it a great price for what I got. Its location is great if you want to get a slight feel of what its like living in China.
You need to walk down a couple of narrow alley ways to get to the Hotel, but it is very close to Tienanmen Square, with a lot of sites close by, such as the Temple of Heaven and Forbidden City within walking distance. Also there is a touring company with nice and cheap tours (although in Chinese) which is less than 10 minutes walk away next to Tienanmen Square.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is simple but decent. The People are fantastic, talk English and are very very helpful. They picked me up from the airport without any charge, Im not sure if this is a regular service, but it was helpful. If it is your first time in China, I recommend getting picked up, as taxi drivers talk very little English if any at all, and the Hotel can be hard to find, Taxi drivers wont know it.

The hotel welcomes you very nicely, and give you a map to the area and to the hotel, and even a mobile phone to use while you stay with them.
The hotel had everything you should need, but I was truly impressed by the service there which easily allows me to recommend it. In contrast to most of the Chinese which I met who seemed to try and take me for every cent that I had, this little hotel was there for me for every need, without trying to charge me for the help that they offered, or even the things which I expected to pay for such as the half a day late checkout, or airport pick up.

If you want a simple, relaxing, and friendly stay, try the Autumn Garden. I will no doubt be staying there again on my next visit.

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Yousef515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C. Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Just got back from Beijing and a wonderful experience staying in the middle of a hutong (maze of alleyways) in Beijing, just next door to Tian'anmen Square. This inn is truly an oasis in a crazy busy city and right in the middle of what feels like 50 years ago - staff were so welcoming and accomodating - if you want a taxi, they have one - we went to the Great Wall with our very own driver - even had a (very simple) lunch prepared by one of the staff - who were all delightful - lovely courtyard - very quiet even though in the midst of chaos - a real feel for old China - haven't downloaded our photos yet, but willing to share if anyone is interested!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank travellingviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

This is a really lovely traditional style hotel, located literally just 5 minutes walk away from Tianmen square as well as lots of eating options & shops. The girls at the front desk were very friendly, helpful and spoke good english. The rooms are very pretty and comfortable, with modern western style bathrooms. Since it's located in the hutong (lots of narrow, confusing alley ways) It's a good idea to take with you the address of the hotel writen in Chinese characters as well as the phone number, so the taxi driver can call for directions. We were given a mobile to use during our stay - and took it with us when we went off to North Korea for a week and then called when we got back, and they sent out a car to pick us up from the station. On our return we also got upgraded to a bigger room. The bathrooms were pretty much the same in both rooms - the sinks make a brilliant nose when you tap them. I booked, as I usually do, on www.venere.com - this is an excellent website and no down payment required.

  • Liked — They really made us feel welcomed
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nurse Gertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,369 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,856 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,474 in Beijing
737 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,126 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autumn Garden Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autumn Garden Courtyard Hotel

Property: Autumn Garden Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.23 Sanjing Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing 100051, China
Region: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #890 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Hotel Class:3 star — Autumn Garden Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The autumn garden hotel, at the center of Beijing, boasts its convenient transportation for it is only 5 minutes’ walk to the Tian’anmen Square, the Dazhalan culture street and the street famous for its glaze workshops. Besides the royal fitment, classic furniture, ornaments of various Chinese traditional craftworks and a full set of articles and equipments in the guest rooms, it also provides a dining-room, a bar, a cyber cafe, and a business center. In order to provide its guests with a good chance to better appreciate the different hutong styles at different city zones, our hotel would like to offer the special services as follows: 1. the guests can live both in the south garden in the autumn end and the spring garden in the west end during their stay in our hotel. And we will pick them up free of charge between our two gardens. 2. To facilitate the guests to better experience the traditional cultures of the Beijingers, we offer the following services: 1. free to taste the Chinese dumplings. 2. free to try on the Opera costumes and take photos 3. Chinese Mahjong lesson. 4. Chinese calligraphy lesson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Autumn Garden Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Autumn Garden
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing