We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emperor's Guard Station Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #60 of 1,419 Beijing B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We enjoyed staying here so much we extended our stay for an extra two nights. The best thing about this hotel is the location in an unpretentious and genuine hutong, completely unlike the commercial ones that have been tarted up with poncy coffee bars. The hutong has lots of great and cheap restaurants with staff who made the effort to understand our sign language, and lovely street food (the pancakes with fried egg, sauce and lettuce are fab). there is a friendly fruit seller and a couple of useful mini marts.
The hotel's 6 rooms are arranged around a peaceful courtyard that seems a world away from the busy Beijing streets, despite the fact that you are actually very centrally located, 5 mins walk from dong dan station, and v near the forbidden city etc.
Yang, the guy who works there, is very friendly and helpful. He even accompanied us to the travel agent to help us buy our high speed train tickets to shanghai. And he ran after us to return the tip we had left him!
The beds were large and comfortable, the shower always hot, and the aircon quiet.
The place could do with a lick of paint and it suffers from Beijing dust. The breakfast, which was included, was passable (sliced bread, tea eggs and instant coffee). The laundry was extortionate. But all in all this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatkathydid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

If you are used to any sort of comfort at all, this place is not for you. My wife and I were dismayed by this place and were glad when our two day stay was over. I was totally misled about this "hotel" by other rather romantic reviews fulminating on the virtues of a traditional hutong property and gaving rave notices about it. It is a traditional hutong and the proprietor is very friendly but for me that doesn't excuse the virtual squalor of this place. The initial impression in the courtyard was that the external doors to the rooms were ill fitting, and in need of painting. The rooms inside were grubby. The lino covered floors were filthy and breaking up. The shower rooms had ancient dirty floor tiles and the shower worked at a trickle. The walls were in need of painting and the skirtings were falling off the wall. A black flea landed on my leg as I sat on the stool beside my bed and jumped a mile as I went to flick it off. Fortunately this was on our final morning and we could make a hasty exit. My worst nightmare is that I have to spend more time in this place. It is possible that others may love this place and the agency through whom I booked it seem only to print the favourable reviews. I just wish that someone else had warned me that it was not all that it was hyped up to be. The two things in its favour are the friendliness of the owner and its location but for me that did not make up for the glaring faults. Out of 10 hotels we stayed in in China this was by far the worst and believe it or not, it was also the most expensive.

Room Tip: There are only 5 or 6 rooms, if there was a good room it certainly wasn't the one we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scotpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Young Z, Manager at Emperor's Guard Station Courtyard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Sir, about your review,

first we felt sorry for your uncomfortable experience in that room;

and 2nd, we had took action to improve the hardware in that room; in fact we let the cleaning worker to clear all rooms carefully(you can see from the other reviews) while it's a pity that it still can't meet your requirement.

the 3rd all our rooms have the good cost performance, as you said this is the great location, you can't find CNY388/night for the 20 square meters good real tranditional Chinese style room here. You can't compare a cheap hotel in other small city to the hotels in this area, it's wrong.So what you said "expensive" is not true, if you can find another one, we would like to refund you the double room fee you paid!

the 4th, you only stay in one room, while your review covers all our room, it's unfair and not the truth;

Finally, we want to point out that all other reviews from other customers from tripadvisor were real experiences; while sometime we even can see such extreme abnormal review for a 5 stars hotel, for a top 10 rank Beijing Chinese style hotel you can find on tripadvisor. But it's OK, we believe most of the customers will have a good accommodation experience in our hostel as others have had and wrote in their reviews.

Thank, good luck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

After 4 nights at this hotel we have been very happy to stay at this very cozy and comfortable inn/hotel. Our room was the double luxury room A which had a great soft double bed and we had an extra bed put into the room. The room was large and big and though it wasn't as fancy a five star hotel it was very cozy and with plenty of room for all three of us. The small courtyard was very cozy and you really felt like a part of a chinese hutong. At the same time we had some good talks with the other guests. It was all in all a very comfortable environment.
'Young' the hotel-keeper was perhaps the greatest thing about the hotel. He made sure we had a nice comfortable breakfast everyday (you could choose between some drinks and eats and he would get them at the local shops). At our arrival he gave us a nice introduction to Beijing city (restaurants, sights and more) and he afterwards was very helpful in booking a tour to both the great wall and to a beijing opera. Especially the great wall tour to Jinshanlin was very good and though Beijing opera was a very strange experience Young really seemed to care that we had the best possible experience. At the final day he even drove to the airport with a forgotten suit, he was truly a great host, guide and friend.

All in all we were extremely happy with our stay, and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a cheap chinese hostel in the center of the city, which gives you good service and a peak inside a real chinese hutong.

Thank you very much for having us Young :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StoneDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Emperor's Guard is a lovely little find in a middle of a traditional Beijing hutong (maze of small alleyways). It's not the easiest to locate at 1am in the morning, but its charm makes it well worth the effort. Be sure to print the directions from the booking site for the taxi driver!

The hotel has 5 rooms of varying sizes, and although we picked the cheapest ensuite, it was so tiny for 2 girls we decided to switch to the next biggest across the courtyard, and the owners were kind enough to give us a discount. We preferred the middle-sized ensuite room as the space is well worth the (slightly) higher price. The courtyard itself is small, with one table and a few chairs, but the owners are very friendly and helpful with their recommendations, ranging from Chinese doctors to arranging acrobatic shows.

The location is very central, 5min away from the metro, an additional 10min to the Forbidden City via metro, and a 15min walk to the Wangfujing shopping and snack streets. There are eateries in the hutong and in nearby malls, but the restaurant we highly recommend especially for its Beijing roast duck is Da Dong, around 20min walk away.

The one thing we found lacking about Emperor's was the breakfast, which was just as easily bought from the streets, but the streets had better options.

All in all, it is a clean, comfortable hotel with an intimate friendly atmosphere. If you do not expect a 5-star hotel experience nor compare high-rental Beijing prices with the rest of China, you will leave with a positive experience and fond memories.

Room Tip: Smallest ensuite twin room is tiny where the bathroom sometimes smells and the shower water leaks un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsWanderLust227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights end of May 2012. There are two big pros that made me give this hotel a 4 star rating: the wonderful hosts and the fact that it is in a traditional hutong.
After I've been to various places in China, I would not say that this place is particularly great value for money, but you have to keep in mind that Beijing in itself is extremely expensive compared to other places like Xi'an or Guilin.
The beds are soft which would be a plus for most people, but me and my husband liked the traditional hard beds of Asia. The breakfast is included but minimal ... they get it from a shop nearby and it does not really make you full.
However, it was great to stay in a traditional hutong and the hosts give you a lot of personal attention. We had lovely chats with them about Chinese culture in general and they are very helpful as to where to go and what to see.
It is also situated in a great location...we could walk (about 15-20 minutes) to the Forbidden City and Beihai Park.
I would definitely stay here again because of the wonderful hosts and the traditionality of the hutong, but I will bring my own breakfast next time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emerina_bakkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We loved this courtyard hotel! It offered a genuine Chinese experience in a small (5 room) establishment. Quite different to a regular hotel, more like a B&B. Freeman and Young were very friendly and helpful every day and offered excellent advice on what to do and how to see the sights. They also helped with our train tickets to ensure we had them in time for our departure. Great central location but still very quiet for sleeping. Beds were very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ray_R0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This hotel is in a small hutong not far from the main subway, walking distance to forbidden city and oriental plaza. Our plane arrived at 1 am and the owner Freeman arranged a taxi to pick us up..we arrived at hutong at 2 am..no problems in getting there or finding it. This hotel is slightly run down, in need of some tender loving care..needs a paint, weeding and good clean..however it is delightful...the deluxe room had a comfortable bed and western toilet..the shower is okay..not much pressure. Tips...use the metro it is so easy to get to everywhere and only 35 cents per trip. We would definately stay there again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Boardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,563 in Beijing
1,557 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,563 in Beijing
2,672 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#29 of 6,563 in Beijing
2,959 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,563 in Beijing
2,511 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,563 in Beijing
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperor's Guard Station Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperor's Guard Station Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.51 Beijige Santiao, Dongdan North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,419 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: £6 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Emperor's Guard Station Courtyard Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emperor's Guards Station Courtyard Inn, which has a warm, welcoming, clean, and comfortable environment within the profound cultural connection to Hutong life. Each room shows a different taste of Chinese culture with diversified features of oil paintings and Chinese traditional handicrafts such as clay figures of warriors and horses, ancient bronze wares, ancient handwritings and paintings, paper-cut words and Chinese long-stemmed pipe, etc., all designed to show a glimpse of 5000 year’s worth of Chinese cultural history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Emperor's Guard Station Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing