We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel (far from city center)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Metropark Hotel
Ranked #170 of 3,281 Hotels in Chongqing
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed at Grand Metropark for two weeks and it was a pleasant stay.
All staff are helpful and polite. The rooms are huge, clean and comfortable, with modern furniture. Breakfast has a good variety, although meals price was a bit expensive. The gym and pool area are good and very spacious, the hotel is well managed.
Great hotel for business stay, monorail is about 1 block from the hotel and city center is 1 hour far (by monorail). There is a mall near the hotel (only for Home stuff) and a condo, around the hotel there are not many things to do but the neighborhood is really safe. Better staying in this new city zone than facing Chongqing traffic every day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlaviaRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

The floor is softer than the bed, Internet is intermittent (Skype call to my wife terrible quality). No one speaks English. To adjust the temperature, they had to send a workman to my room with a set of tools. Same for the shower this morning,

And when I checked in the young man at the desk sneezed into his hand, which he then used to turn the pages of my passport.

Breakfast OK, coffee very good. Didn't try the donkey meat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trustscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

If you want a good standard hotel with quality stay and don't like to venture too far away from the airport - Grand Metropark is the hotel to be in. Can't say it is the cheapest but it is a good value for money hotel for its standards.

An almost 5 star hotel, the positive points about the hotel are:
- Clean
- Cozy rooms - well stocked and functional baths
- Good restaurant
- English speaking staff
- Cordial and friendly
- Close to airport
- Very quiet area
- Perfect for business (Specially Motorcycle business as it is bang opposite one of the biggest Motorcycle manufacturers in China)
- Away from city's hustle
- Easy transportation

Some negative points:
- Away from city and shopping areas or scenic beauties
- Hard to reach first time (Road unwinds over a mountain top to reach the main gates)
- Business facilities can be better
- Room service needs to improve
- Quality of breakfast can be better
- Wifi on higher floors would be nice (Lower floors and lobby has good wifi, rest is wired)
- Away from downtown means lonely on longer trips

Room Tip: Higher floor always better in case wifi is not a concern for you. Ask for a west view room as Chongq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamal_Narang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

check-in there at 11.30 pm , an empty hotel in a very quiet location out of the city .
i was the only one at the front desk and even in the lobby and took the front desk agent over 20 minute to check me in with a reservation... how efficient is that?
10 minute from the airport .
room was well appointed and cleaned .
i wanted to have a room service dinner at 11.30 pm but the room service stop at 11 pm ... not really friendly for a 5 star hotel located near the airport .
the internet connection was really bad and slow .
breakfast was an average of a good 3 star hotel , nothing great about it and I had to run after the waiter to get a coffee.
the only good time i can remember from my stay was the very friendly and smily face of the hostess in the breakfast restaurant .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epicurean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel almost continuously for more than 3 years since 2009 in the same room 1216. The team of the hotel in the yearly years was really good. From 2009-2011 I was overwhelmed by the cordial and friendly attitude of the team of Western restaurant - J'cafe. The J' Cafe Manager was excellent in English. During my long stays in China, I have rarely seen any with an English skill like her and so cordial and co-operative attitude.The supervisor had a commendable knowledge in English and was extremely friendly and fun loving. It was a home away from home where all knew about my choices and preferences. It always felt as if I am at home. My family considered the Manager and staffs of J'cafe as her cordial friends. I have visited many star and normal hotels around the World but The Western Restaurant team here between 2009-2011 made us feel this to be the best hotel we have ever experienced.. more a home than a hotel. But these days are gone. This is 2013.

Now I still stay as preferred by the management of the factory I need to visit. But it is not the same pleasant experience like before. It is becoming harder and harder to communicate in English and my Chinese is too poor to express all in detail. Some seniors do speak some English but for most others the communication gap is increasing. The hotel is far from the city, hence it feels lonely during long stays and especially on holidays when I have nothing else to do in leisure time. The surrounding is very lonely. Need to go to down town which takes more than 30mins. It is difficult to get Taxi during odd hours.

I know it is an impossible dream but I hope to see the some of the best of the 2009-2011 team, especially of Western Restaurant, to be back in this hotel to bring back the golden days when the service felt so homely and cordial, not like a service at all.

I can not get WiFi in my room in 12th floor. The lobby WiFi sometimes make some problems. It is a bit difficult to regulate the Air conditioning when the temperature is moderate. Before we had a air circulation system in the room but no more.

Having said all these, I express my gratitude to the present team for the services rendered to me since mid-2011 until now. I hope the senior management will improve all soon and the better days like before will be back in near future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emailswarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Overall i am impressed about my 1 night stay in this hotel.
The lobby is elegant, with an impressive height, the Christmas tree was very elegant (a touch! i felt at home!), the room is elegant with a touch.
I cannot say that this can be considered the best hotel ever, but the new modern style is giving a fresh taste and a good feeling.
Breakfast can improve

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco_Motta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

A luxurious hotel with a beautiful lobby and roomy comfortable rooms. My only complaint is that the front desk refused to exchange my $20 bills because they are not pristine without any blemish or fold lines. The breakfast is good with a noodle bar and egg/omelette cooked to order.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWJ_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
8.5 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#15 of 3,281 in Chongqing
1,045 reviews
8.1 mi away
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#7 of 3,281 in Chongqing
335 reviews
8.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#2 of 3,281 in Chongqing
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Oriental Begonia Boutique hotel Chongqing
8.2 mi away
InterContinental Chongqing
InterContinental Chongqing
#17 of 3,281 in Chongqing
635 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Westin Chongqing Liberation Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropark Hotel

Address: No.1598 Jinkai Avenue, North New District, Chongqing 401160, China
Region: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 3,281 Hotels in Chongqing
Price Range: £51 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Metropark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Metropark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing