We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Ranked #7 of 3,281 Hotels in Chongqing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This hotel is gorgeous. It is real 4 or 5 star stuff.
The room was clean and a good size and had free wifi and TV.

It's not the cheapest place to stay in Chongqing, but for value for money it is worth it. One night's stay is about £36 (Y360), which may be a lot for people on a local wage, but for those travelling on holiday is comes into the budget range.

Truly a budget price with a luxury feel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theteafairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

This hotel is hidden in the hilly streets in the city, only stayed 1 night however the rooms are very spacious and cheap and very good quality,the hotel is also apartments.
Breakfast is average , OK if you like a Chinese breakfast, for Westerners not much selection.
Close by are bars and restaurants, there is a tourist area nearby on the river with a reasonable selection.
the reception is on 9th floor so when you arrive at the hotel don't be fooled by the entrance which looks a bit average.
Depending on which floor your on the views are limited.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Located 5 mins walk to the liberation army memorial monument, with all the shopping malls that range from luxury goods to sports apparel brands . Inside the room, you will forget that you are already in china. Chongqing is still in the phase of growing a d developing into a modern city. There is a mix of both worlds .

This us a serviced residence, everything you need back home is available in your room. Complete kitchen with fridge and even washing to do your own laundry . A good place for long stay esp for long business trips. It had an indoor pool, gym, billiard room. Breakfast was below average, variety is minmal. So overall if breakfast is not a major concern then this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The hotel is located in the center of Chongqing, at one end of the Jiefangbei pedestrian area. Wangfujing department store and supermarket (and Starbucks) is just across the street and there is also a large Carrefour supermarket 1 block away.
Our taxi driver was not familiar with the hotel, to be sure to have the address in Chinese and/or the phone number of the hotel. The hotel has two entrances, one on the main road (Minzu Road) and another on a side lane. The hotel lobby is not on the ground floor and there were no staff on the ground floor. So, be prepared if you need assistance with your luggage.
The studio room was quite large and had a small fully equipped kitchen and a clothes washer/dryer. The room had a clock radio with iPod dock, large flat screen TV with many international channels, DVD player, wifi and wired internet access. The only complaint was the size of the bathroom, which was quite small.
The breakfast buffet was very nice and offered western and Chinese options. The chef also prepares made to order Sichuan/Chongqing noodles (different type every day). These can be ordered from the wait staff. The only complaint with the breakfast was that that staff were not very quick to offer refills on coffee/tea.
There is a large indoor pool, with changing rooms and an outdoor sundeck. The pool doesn't seen to get much use and there was only 1 other family using it, while we we there. Unfortunately, the pool reception desk was not attended and we had to call for towels. When the staff came, they brought 1 large towel and 1 small face/hand towel, because they said they were out of large towels.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for any staying in Chongqing for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kevin0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We were impressed with this hotel. We had a one bedroom reserved and were upgraded to a deluxe one bedroom. It is a modern, well appointed, spacious, clean serviced hotel, a perfect place to stay in the middle of our trip because it had a washer/dryer to do our laundry. However, we had to have an English speaking staff person come up twice to explain the machine to us, even though they provide written English instructions. And the machine washes, then dries the clothes, which means it takes a long time to dry. While I doubt the rooms were designed for this purpose, we found the metal railings in front of the floor to ceiling windows to be the perfect place to hang our clothes to dry! The location is very good, a short walk to the Liberation monument and all the shopping and restaurants along the way. There is a nightclub on the top floor, and we were on the floor below. The music started around 11 pm and probably ended around 1 am. While we could hear the music, it never bothered us because the air conditioner was on (Chongqing was very hot and never cooled off) and acted as "white noise." The breakfast buffet was good and worth the price for the extra person (one person is included in the price of the room). We found the best pricing for this hotel was on its own website.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bougainvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

nice room and the location is so good that you can get nearly everything from nearby. l like the way they checked us in and out which was so sleek and efficient that didnt take you more than a few mins. plus the room design and the facilites provided by the hotel all added extra joy to your stay. for the room i stayed i even can find a mini hi fi there. i would say it is a hotel especially good for family traveling together. well as for the breakfast which is cny 50 per person, the selection of food is not many. perhaps one can go outside as there are far more better choices.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simplygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I was 5 days on a conference in Chongqing. Fortunately, I have not stayed in the Conference Hotel, the CQ Carlton with disgusting food, but in Somerset Jiefangbei.

The location of the Somerset Jiefangbei is a great pro: Within a 5 minute walk, the road of the Hotel leads directly to the center of CQ, the liberation monument Jiefangbei. Hence, there are many shops, restaurants, and a China Rail ticket agency close-by. Also returning to the hotel by taxi is quite convenient: Just tell the taxi driver "Jiefangbei" and walk the remaining 5 minutes, which is much more convenient than a 5 minute discussion in Chinese, where the hotel actually is. The next subway station is a 10 minute walk, which is pretty close in China.

The staff is very friendly and their English is excellent, especially when keeping in mind that you're in western China and not in Shanghai. The breakfast was quite allright. Nothing fantastic, but more than enough selection for my western taste. I had my muesli all days and was very satisfied.

The single studio room was really huge: Large bathroom, bedroom, livingroom with sofa, kitchen, 2 flat TVs with English speaking channels, 2 phones, free wifi, and a water boiler. Very clean rooms, but bad isolation. The winter was very cold that time, so I had to heat with the aircon permanently.

Summing up, the hotel was a real good choice and good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#15 of 3,281 in Chongqing
1,045 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
#8 of 3,281 in Chongqing
729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Somerset Yangtze River Chongqing
Somerset Yangtze River Chongqing
#5 of 3,281 in Chongqing
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#2 of 3,281 in Chongqing
489 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chongqing North
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Chongqing
InterContinental Chongqing
#17 of 3,281 in Chongqing
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing

Address: Floor 9 Block B Hejing Building, No.108 Minzu Road, Yuzhong District, Chongqing 400010, China
Region: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 3,281 Hotels in Chongqing
Price Range: £48 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset JieFangBei is located amidst most of the Fortune 500 companies in the bustling downtown financial and business district of Chongqing. The serviced residence puts you in close proximity to banks, offices, shopping malls, restaurants and it is a short walk to the beautiful Pedestrian Street and Lin Jiang Men Light Rail Transit (LRT) station.Somerset JieFangBei offers modern and stylish homes with breathtaking views of the Jialing River and the lively city. Its studio, one- and two-bedroom apartments feature a spacious living / dining room, fully-equipped kitchen, home entertainment system and high speed broadband internet access. Conducting business in Somerset JieFangBei is easy and convenient. With the China Industrial Bank right at your door step and well-equipped meeting rooms, you will have complete business connectivity in the comfort of your own home. It is ideal for utives and their families looking for a balanced and enriching lifestyle. Unwind with a refreshing dip in our indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna rooms or go for a good workout in our fully-equipped gymnasium. You can also choose to have casual dining by the barbeque area overlooking the serenity of the Jialing River. Experience Somerset’s signature Heartware service – always caring and striving to deliver. We understand your needs for a balanced and enriching lifestyle and tailor the residence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing