We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value but somewhat inconvenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an
Ranked #13 of 3,109 Hotels in Chongqing
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good Value but somewhat inconvenient”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We picked Le Meridien for our Chongqing business trip after reading favorable reviews on TA. On the positives, our room was tastefully decorated with contemporary furnishings plus a few nice oriental touches. I particularly like the way they “framed” the TV within a Chinese brush painting. The room was very spacious and it looked even more so with the use of a glass wall to separate the bathroom from the rest of the room (you can literally watch TV while you are taking a bath in the tub). Big thumbs up for the Hotel staff – they were very well trained, cheery and helpful. We had 2 dinners at Le Mei, the Chinese restaurant in the Hotel. The servers were very attentive, the greeter was very enthusiastic and we were pleasantly surprised when they remembered the beverage we ordered the night before. Now the cons… thought we were assigned an older room in the Hotel. While the room was acceptably clean, we did notice patches of finger marks on the glass wall of the bathroom and a lot of water stains on the marble around the bathroom sink. The study desk in the room had a leather-like surface and we saw a lot of old beverage stains on it. The shower head leaked, a few bathroom fixtures were loose and something (a foot long of plastic) fell off the toilet glass door. The slippers they supplied in the room were “used” even though they had been cleaned to look like new – this is not acceptable for hygiene reasons. Location-wise, the Hotel is a bit away from the CBD. The immediate neighborhood of the Hotel is unexciting, except for the amusing scene of herds of local women doing their evening dance exercise on the strip next to Wanda Plaza. There are a lot of small local restaurants & a big supermarket inside Wanda Plaza but I don't think foreign tourists will be interested in the shops there. Just a reminder, for those who plan to use the pool, remember to bring your swimming cap, they won’t let you in without it (yes, men too). Food at Le Mei & the western restaurant on the lobby level was mediocre at best. Irrespective of the issues I mentioned, we still think Le Meridien is not a bad choice and certainly a good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TPHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaguli, Manager at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how your experiences with us have been. We were disappointed to learn that the room cleanliness did not live up to your expectations which we do apologize. Please rest assures that the management team will pay more attention to ensure this situation does not reoccur at any time. We are looking forward to your next visit to Le Méridien Chongqing so you can experience the positive changes.

Thank you again for your feed back and helping make our hotel better for you and all our guests, we look forward to welcoming you back at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    119
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
30
26
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

First time in Chongqing n staying with Meridien, the hotel driver picked us up@airport. He was very friendly n professional. On our way to hotel, he was not only the driver, but also as the city tour guide, he told us a lot about the city - such as where to go, what is going on in the city, plus all the interesting sightseeing in the city. Was fantastic.

Check in at SPG counter was fast n efficient. The staff there was very friendly n lovely. On the way to our room, the bellboy introduced us about all the facilities in the hotel. It's just so perfect that we don't need to ask anything else about where n how n what about this hotel.

The room is very clean n very well set up. Bose sound system in the living room,, spacious bathroom with tv facing the bathtub. Great view.

Gym - perfect. Clean, very well maintained. Excellent service staff. Make us really feel that we have known them for a long time...

Executive Lounge - the happy hour; well selected food. The waitress called Lexi Du, really provided us excellent service, very sweet n lovely. Polite n professional.

We are enjoying our stay very much in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirandabx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaguli, Manager at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Thank you for sharing with us how your experience at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an.

After reading your responses we were very happy to learn that your stay with us was all positive. And we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

There are some uneven reviews for this new hotel. I stayed here 4 times during this summer, so I may have more insights.
In terms of hardware, it's excellent. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, quiet, the lobby is gorgeous, and so on. The red wine sold by the glass at the bar is well selected.
In terms of service, it's touch and go. I didn't talk to the GM, but my guess is that they employ a significant number of staff with limited experience. If you deal with a newer staff, the experience can be slightly alienating as the newer staff have little empathy for your needs. They don't see things from the customer's perpective. But when the staff has been there for longer, it's delightful.
The main thing that's bugged me at Meridien Chongqing is the obssessiveness of the reception desk for collecting a deposit during the check in process. it seems petty in such a grand hotel. I once extended my stay for one day and the girl (a new one!) bluntly said that she'd have to collect more deposit. WHen I get angry, it's quite subtle, but my point does come across. I said to her that it was no problem to collect more deposit. As she was toying with my credit card, I took out my Starwood gold card and calmly said: Do you really expect that holders of this kind of card will do a runner? Her manager was there by then and they were both quite embarrassed.
As a suggestion, I'd also recommend the hotel to enter in their system that guests have been there before.
Other than that, one of the best hotel breakfasts around, and I praise the serving staff for not being too eager to collect empty plates. I do hate hotels when the plates are collected as soon as you lift your last piece of toast from the plate, as if there was some great shortage of plates in the kitchen. The serving staff's pace there is just right.
Also, behind the hotel are some extremely local Chongqing restaurants where you can have local spicy food late at night, sitting on stools and soaking up the local atmosphere (chinese menus only). Extremely cheap.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liukuei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaguli, Manager at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how your experiences with us have been. We were disappointed to learn that unexperienced staff did not live up to your expectations which we do apologize. Please rest assures that the management team will pay more attention to training will be strengthen to ensure this situation does not reoccur at any time. We are looking forward to your next visit to Le Méridien Chongqing so you can experience the positive changes.

Thank you again for your feed back and helping make our hotel better for you and all our guests, we look forward to welcoming you back at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This hotel had very clean rooms, comfortable beds, and large picture windows with a great view of the city of Chongqing, China. The restaurant was excellent. Overall hotel service was also excellent. It was in a nice location within close walking distance of good shopping areas. The only drawback was the construction of a new high rise building which was going on nearby. Construction noise started rather early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaideeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaguli, Manager at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for sharing with us how your experience at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an.

After reading your responses we were very happy to learn that your stay with us was all positive. And we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I love your comfortable bedding. I am curious what kind of mattress and comforter it is because I want to get the same kind of bed like yours. The room was very comfortable and clean but the temperature was a bit too warm. The lobby is very impressive and your staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The staff in the restaurant do need more training because I did not get my tea after asking for it in English and in Chinese. However, the manager tried extremely hard to make amends and paid superior attention to our table after we reported our concern. In the following days, service improved 101%. Thank you for a very nice stay at your hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaguli, Manager at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how your experiences with us have been. After reading your responses we were very happy to learn that your stay with us was positive. we also need do apologize that unexperienced staff did not live up to your expectations which . Please rest assures that the management team will pay more attention to training will be strengthen to ensure this situation does not reoccur at any time. We are looking forward to your next visit to Le Méridien Chongqing so you can experience the positive changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I have been to Chongqing several times over the past several years and have stayed at various hotels in the city. Le Meridien is clearly the best hotel in Chongqing. Its about a year and a half old and is still in very good shape. Rates were also very reasonable and at no premium to some of the other hotels that I've stayed at in Chongqing. The best part is the Wanda mall complex that the hotel is part of - very convenient and lots of food options.

Only small gripe was that the room didn't have wireless internet, but the wireline broadband connection was easy to use, fast and free in my room package.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaguli, Manager at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thanks for sharing with us how your experience at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an. After reading your responses we were very happy to learn that your stay with us was all positive. Also I would like to explain to you, you can enjoy the free wifi in the public area of the hotel. And we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The hotel itself looks really nice. We had only dinner there but I would like to make a remark on the training of the staff. Why is it, that seems to lack in so many respects (Western point of view) even though the management are all westerners? We had to ask on more then one occasions to have our plates removed since we were finished or even do it ourself. Our mistake because then we had to hold on to our plates and wine glasses because they wanted to remove those even though they were still filled with wine and food??!!

I know everything about being and understanding each other in a different culture but it can be done. I have seen it before .. so come on try a little harder it is such a same since you have such a nice hotel.

And maybe it is your point of view that as you are in China and your main focus is on the Chinese; it would make sense. But focus your service then totally on the Chinese and not half-half

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaguli, Manager at Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us know how your experiences with us have been. We were disappointed to learn that unexperienced staff did not live up to your expectations which we do apologize. Please rest assures that the management team will pay more attention to training will be strengthen to ensure this situation does not reoccur at any time. We are looking forward to your next visit to Le Méridien Chongqing so you can experience the positive changes.

Thank you again for your feed back and helping make our hotel better for you and all our guests, we look forward to welcoming you back at Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
2.6 mi away
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#4 of 3,109 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#1 of 3,109 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#8 of 3,109 in Chongqing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing
#3 of 3,109 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
4.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chongqing North
2.3 mi away
The Westin Chongqing Liberation Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an

Property: Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an
Address: No.10 Jiangnan Avenue, Nan'an District, Chongqing 400060, China
Region: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chongqing
#4 Business Hotel in Chongqing
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chongqing
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an 4.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Chongqing, Nan'an offers some of the finest facilities in Chongqing, with 319 refined rooms and suites.Built within Chongqing's newest residential, shopping and entertainment destination, on the upper Yangtze River, the hotel is a short 15-minute walk from the river and a 10-minute drive from the Liberation Square Central Business District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Chongqing Nan'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Chongqing Nan`An Hotel Chongqing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing