We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the visit” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hechuan Laitan Ancient Town

Hechuan Laitan Ancient Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour of Diaoyu Fortress and Laitan Ancient Town from Chongqing
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Way below expectation - lukong ancient town is far better vs this!

Diaoyu fortress nearby is actually better/worth especially with the suspending buddha which apparently is more than +1,000y.

Based on the review, we used michael jiang as a guide but he is a total disappointment will not recommend him but the driver is excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank ru2bz4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A taste of old China”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Laitan is 100+km north of Chongqing and if you don't speak any Chinese, you really need to hire a guide & driver. But it's definitely worth the trip. Was surprised when I read one of the previous posts about Michael Jiang, as we hired him for 2 day trips and found him absolutely excellent and really conscientious. (631936047@qq.com +0086 15178755421) And Fred the driver was wonderful - even invited us back to his place to meet his wife! We visited Hechuan hill fortress first (not that much to see, but a scenic area with nice temple) before driving on to Laitan. We had lunch outside of the city wall and drew quite a crowd, as they're not used to western tourists. The old town was great, but will soon be redeveloped, so don't leave it too long before visiting. Unfortunately it was raining on our visit so we didn't bother walking right down to the river, but at least we could see the beautiful scenery around. On our other day trip we visited Pianyan(Partial rock town in Beibei) which was also good and worth a visit - it doesn't seem to be listed on TA.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ripon_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Recommend to visit it now”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Nice day trip to ancient (not fake) old town of Laitan. We were able to visit a nearby farmers market on the road, and a ceremony in the temple of Laitan.

As we were a group, we rented a mini-van organized by the hotel. We had an upfront reservation with Michael Jiang, based on a comment on TA (note we did not find reviews on him on TA), however our reservation was not honored. So we had to look at last minute alternatives.

Our initial purpose was to go by public transport. This is doable with bus, or alternatively with the high speed train between Chongqing and Chengdu, get off at Heshuan and continue by bus.

The old part of Laitan is basically only one street, but gives an impression of the old China. We would recommend to visit it now, and not within ten years.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Brusselslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chongqing, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A little hike out of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

It is a very cool place, old buildings and similar in many ways to CiQiKou.....if you have limited time, stay in town and visit the pottery village (CiQiKou). If you have time to kill, hire a ride out of town and visit this place, it is worth the drive, but it won't blow your socks off, so just keep expectations in line.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chongqing, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A truly neat place, lots to see and do - a piece of old China”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Laitan is about 2 hours NW of Chongqing, but it is a beautiful drive through the country side. Laitan itself is small but charming. There is a newer walking street outside of the temple area that is touristy but empty. Once through the main gate though, you are really in the old China that is disappearing more every day. Charming streets lined with restaurants, shops selling everything from crappy plastic toys to real antiques and artist painting on the streets. We went on a Sunday morning and were the only foreigners in the town. We walked around, dodging the chickens loose in the streets to see the sights. While everyone goes to see the temple and the big Budda (which is beautiful), a walk down the trails to the river is delightful. The main part of the village close to the main gate and temple is nice, but down the path towards the river is an older part of the village (together with some new-ish buildings) that is really unique. We actually had a noodle lunch on the river on a small river boat anchored next to the shore at the bottom of the hill - cleanliness wasn't their strong suit, but the noodles were actually very good. The big Budda is not something to miss, and the views from the hill top are beautiful. We spent about 5 hours roaming the village and the river and absolutely loved it. Go on a nice day - I'd suggest Spring or Fall when the weather is cooler because you will do a lot of climbing if you want to really see the area.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank lafbizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hechuan Laitan Ancient Town also viewed

Chongqing, Chongqing Region
 
Chongqing, Chongqing Region
 

Been to Hechuan Laitan Ancient Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing