We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (741)
Filter reviews
741 results
Traveller rating
366
305
46
19
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
305
46
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast downstairsspice restaurantwonderful hotelbusiness tripnice gymcomfortable bedf broom serviceenjoyed my stayyangtze river cruisesofitelcamillelobbychinaenglishcitytaxi
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 741 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This is "The Hotel" in the the Jiulongpo District. Yet as a 5 star hotel, a lot of little things are not up to par.

Pros

Rooms are very spacious and well decorated.
Price is very reasonable.

Cons
Room was not cleaned well prior to my check in. There was dried urine in front of the toilet.
Breakfast buffet is average and many items are not replenishedn especially during the last hour.
Conceriges are not well informed. When I asked about where to go for diner and a drink, they totally lacked for suggestions.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank 10RatsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Athestel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear Sir,
Thanks for your choosing Sofitel Forebase Chongqing. Please accept our sincere apologies for problems you experienced during your stay. Rest assured our departments have followed up with their teams to ensure these issues to not reoccur.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Chongqing in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is a lovely hotel, well run with very helpful staff and while the rooms are a little tired in terms of decoration, the price is good and beds superbly Sofitel. It is away from the main hotel area so may not suit everyone in terms of location but was perfect for my stay. Good breakfast buffet and an excellent Japanese restaurant were also enjoyed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank HILARY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Athestel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Dear Sofitel Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Forebase Chongqing, We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and like our Japanese restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Quality Department

Sofitel Forebase Chongqing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Avery interesting city, and the start point for one the most amazing river cruises in the world, with the most wonderful natural scenery you cold ever wish to see.
The hotel is a bit out of the way, but taxi fares are cheap, and it doest cost much to get around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kempo880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Athestel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Sofitel Valued Guest:

Thank you for your comments, we are so glad to hear that you like this city and our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Department

Sofitel Forebase Chongqing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed in Forebase a few weeks ago on a business trip. The hotel is one of the landmark in the Jiu Long Po district, most of the taxi drivers would know the way to the hotel.

Room: Big massive clean rooms, comfy bed. Branded personal care products. Only complain is that you will need to bring power adapters for its plugs are all in Chinese standard.

Breakfast: Good variety of western (full English breakfast - sausage, bacon, fried eggs, baked beans, toast) and Chinese (noodles, fried rice etc.) buffet

Transportation: There are buses at the back of the hotel and there is a long distance bus stop bang in front of the hotel. But for western travellers / business travellers, be warned that there is little (next to NO) taxi will come up to the lobby taxi stands - you stand a much better chance to get your transportation on the main street behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleWhiteRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Athestel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Sofitel Valued Guest:
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Forebase Chongqing and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Yours sincerely
Quality Department

Sofitel Forebase Chongqing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The room is spacious with plush thick mattress. Toilet is also spacious with a long bath & shower. Overall the furnishing in the room is plush and classy. We complained that the air-conditioning was not cold. The maintenance guy came over and after a few tweaks, he declared the air-conditioner to be faulty. We then told him we would like our room changed. He told us that it was not necessary to change room and proceeded to open the window for us. Perhaps he meant to be helpful but we found it very puzzling as to why he was so keen for us to have the window opened and not to have our room changed. We had our room changed.

We had a truly unpleasant experience at the Chinese restaurant in this hotel. While looking through the menu, we were asked what tea we would like to drink. We ordered "pu erh" tea. Eventually, we decided that we prefer to have the buffet dinner at the coffee house and called for the bill for the tea. The bill came up to a shockingly astronomical sum. And, when we enquired, we were told that the tea was a "10 year old pu-erh tea". We argued that when we ordered the "pu erh tea", we were never told of the age of "pu-erh tea" and the price. We had no choice but to pay, but we paid under protest and let our feelings be known. We felt that the restaurant attempted to deceive us.

While we were at the coffee house, the manager of the chinese restaurant came to us and apologised and told us that he had reversed the credit card charges of the bill.

This experience has taught us a valuable lesson - that in China, one must be very careful as there could be attempts to fleece us, even in a 5 star hotel.

Unless there is an improvement to the attitude of the employees we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GattoMelaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOFITELCHONGQING, Manager at Athestel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Sofitel Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience from when you stayed with us a year ago in June, 2012. Please accept our sincere apologies for our poor service regarding from our Engineering department as well as from our Chinese restaurant team. Rest assured since last year we have been concentrating on training and have made many improvements in the service and attitude of our team.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again to Sofitel in Chongqing.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
Sofitel Forebase Chongqing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews