We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great business hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel
Ranked #7 of 3,106 Hotels in Chongqing
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed for 3 weeks for business, and had access to the Regency Club near the top floor which provided great views, excellent snacks and drinks, served by attentive staff. The room was a good size, very clean and had a great bathroom and big TV. Limited TV channel options (few sports channels). Good aircon for the middle of the hot CQ summer, and plenty of water bottles provided daily. The cleaning staff were lovely. The breakfast buffet is quite good (among the best I've sampled in similar chains). Good location at the top of Paradise Walk (the "2nd CBD" of CQ), with excellent shopping and restaurants a short stroll away. Overall I thought the hotel was excellent, and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Request the side looking out over Paradise Walk (as the other side overlooks a construction site at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    45
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
10
12
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 weeks in June into July and was really glad of the air conditioning, the large room (I had a King Size) and the good shower. I felt the heated toilet seat and all that went with it was a little OTT. The room had a very large hard comfortable bed, a work table and 3 chairs as well as the usual bed-side table etc.Bed linen is changed every 3 days unless you request it more often (by placing a card on the bed). If you have a Hyatt Gold Passport, the Regency club on the 27th floor is open to you for (free) coffee, breakfast and in the evening a light meal (mainly nibbles and noodles and sweet things) and drinks. Many a night I went up here rather than braving the rain and/or heat outside. Breakfast on the 5th floor has a good selection but because of a revolting stomach, I did not make full use of it. Wi-Fi connectivity was good, but the outside internet connection was variable (sometimes great, other times with no connection) but the hotel cannot be blamed for that. The hotel is situated close to paradice Walk, a large shopping mall with eating places and midway between two subway stations (10 - 15 minutes each - line 3 and line 6). Line 3 is a monorail which goes North to the airport. Tax to the airport takes 30ish minutes depending on traffic. Unlike in most western countries, smoking in the corridors and parts of the restaurant would seem to be allowed. My room had an ashtray and matches but did not smell of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

After a break of 23 years, I ended up coming back to Chongqing and was more than amazed at how much the city had changed. All I remembered from 1991 was a city covered in coal dust which I wanted to escape from, as quickly as possible.
This time I felt that certain parts of the city resembled more a street impression of Hong Kong rather than a remote and neglected inland metropolis.
I'm a great fan of Hyatt especially for its simplicity, cleanliness and functionality so Hyatt Regency Chongqing was an obvious choice: the hotel is very new and met all my expectations, starting from the friendly staff at the reception, all the way to the nice room, proper bathroom and great breakfast. More recently I stayed at Ritz Carlton Shenzhen and was disappointed with their breakfast. Not so the breakfast at Hyatt Chongqing: a nice selection of high quality Eastern and Western delights coupled with great coffee and fresh juices. On top of that, the room rate of 700 RMB was great value for money. Well done, jia you!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarioChristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business this past week and the hotel was excellent. Centrally located? The city is too big for centrally located. Non-smoking floors were truly non-smoking. Bar could be nice but think it's too new as there were no customers. I'll stay there from now on...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I agree with one of the reviewers that this is a Grant Hyatt dressed in a Hyatt Regency name. The rooms and facilities and fit out standard are definitely closer to a GH than an HR. Even better is the corporate rate which is lower than your typical 3-star Sheraton in a suburb location in the US.

The location is also wonderful as it a short walk to the Guanying Qiao CBD which is the busiest shopping district. Chongqing is very spread out so if you are there for business chances are you need to go around in a car wherever you stay so you might as well be in GYQ as it has the best vibes and not as cluttered as the older CBD in the Jiefangbei area.

The only area that should be improved is the gym, which is very simple with good cardio equipment but in short supply of free weight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing GYQ to the south. The back side are all unattractive old residential blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeijingHongkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Q, Marcom Executive at Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We appreciate and are concerned about your feedback regarding your experience at Hyatt Regency Chongqing. Your comments about our gym will be passed onto relevant departments and we're devoted to making some progress in this respect. Once again, we would like to say a big thank you for your sharing comments with us and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

This is my first week of my 50 day business trip reservation so I will update later with my final staying experience. 

This Hyatt has some issues with plumbing so some rooms has the filthy sewage waste odor coming out of bathroom drain and fills the whole room. If you enter the room without knowing you would think someone didn't flush toilet for days.  

The staff has been attentive and tried to help, Kathy the front desk manager tried to switch my room to a higher floor room then find out it has same odor issue.  Normally other hotel line would instantly upgrade your room to the next level up as a courtesy to compensate the pain and inconvenience caused by their problem or offer bonus points. They did not do anything to compensate their fault.

This Hyatt does not upgrade diamond members to suite automatically.  I'm staying 2 months. The manager Helen told me I will be switched out of suite as soon as I used up all 4 of my yearly upgrade rewards.  I told her the Hilton double tree would upgrade their diamond member to suite for the entire stay(I stayed there for all my previous business trips).  Helen basically told me to switch to Hilton hotel after 4 weeks, because they rather lose 1 month of business from a diamond member to a competitor then to do a simple suite upgrade matching.  

Therefore I believe they dont make an effort to keep long term staying guest live comfortably.  If you stay for a day or two I think Hyatt is a good choice but if long term I would recommend the Hilton doubletree which is two blocks away for free suite upgrades.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Weihao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa Q, Marcom Executive at Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Firstly, thank you very much for your constructive comments and sorry for any inconvenience caused to you. Besides, it is wonderful to have you stay with us for a long time and we hope you are satisfied with our special rearrangement and the hospitality we provide. Once again, wish you enjoy your stay here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
341 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed in Hyatt Regency Chongqing again in mid November followed by my recent excellent stay in July.

The services I experience this time is more-or-less the same as my previous stay, which is excellent. Being a Diamond member, I use the award certificate to upgrade my reservation to a King Suite, which I believe it is a great choice. The Suite is large - have a nice sleeping room and a nice living/dining room, as well as a decent bathroom with both shower and bath tub. The internet connection is perfect and the bed is very comfortable.

The Staff in the Regency Club is very attentive and helpful as always. Special thanks to Teddy who deserve my special mention 'cause he is really great and makes my stay feel very much at home. Thanks also to Veru and Ryan for their services at the club and the check-in at the lobby level.

I did try Room Service this time. It is a-bit out of my expectation that it took more than 30 minutes for the dishes to arrive and somewhere, they even forgot to bring me the soup I ordered! Nevertheless, it is not a big deal and once they know the soup was missing, they brought it to me within 5 minutes that I appreciate.

Though the hotel, as mentioned by a few commenter, that it is of Hyatt regency price with Grand Hyatt Service, it worths mentioning that the hotel is close to a currently construction site in which you may hear some construction noise during the daytime. Nevertheless, Hyatt Regency Chongqing is definitely my first choice whenever I have chance to visit Chongqing again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward-A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Y, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your valuable comments and your special compliments on Teddy, Veru and Ryan will be passed onto the relevant departments. We are looking forward to your next stay with Hyatt Regency Chongqing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chongqing hotels
5.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
JW Marriott Hotel Chongqing
#1 of 3,106 in Chongqing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chongqing North
3.0 mi away
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
Somerset Jiefangbei Chongqing
#2 of 3,106 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Westin Chongqing Liberation Square
1.9 mi away
Hilton Chongqing
Hilton Chongqing
#6 of 3,106 in Chongqing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Chongqing
InterContinental Chongqing
#8 of 3,106 in Chongqing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel

Property: Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel
Address: No.11 Beichengtian Street, Jiangbei District, Chongqing 400020, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Chongqing Region > Chongqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 3,106 Hotels in Chongqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chongqing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing